We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Is Well At Riu Palace!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“All Is Well At Riu Palace!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2005

Vacationed at Riu Palace, Cabo San Lucas from Feb 7 - 14, 2005. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on the tip of the Baja. Cabo is a great little town with a lot of friendly folks in it. Not too big and bustling like other Mexican destinations Very nice marina, lots of good restaurants and bars/pubs.
Riu Palace is a truly fine resort hotel. Very easy to get used to the all - inclusive indulgences. The food was amazing, so many choices, lots of fish and seafoods (anyone who complains about the food choices is plain and simply spoiled), tons of desserts and treats. If you dont want to line up to get an a la carte reservation, then the buffet is quite a nice dining experience itself. Good food is available somewhere on the resort anytime. Room service continental breakfast was well worth the $2 tip on a couple of lazy mornings. Full on mini bar in suite included international brands of rye, rum, vodka, tequila and Corona beer. Replenished every 2 days, although you could call the front desk for "Mini Bar Emergency", and they'll be there in 10 min with another six pack, again worth the $2.
The grounds and pools are beauty, no shortage of deck chairs around pools or on the beach. Two huge pools, one side is the quiet pool, other side is the activities pool with tunes and craziness. Excellent tropical drinks, friendly staff at the pool bars during the day. Two heated swim up bars in a pool with tables and chairs underwater. Beach sand is fairly coarse and granular, but very clean. Bad undertow action on the beach in front of the resort, but you can dip in a bit. Go down the beach toward town about a mile and its usually swimmable. Take the water taxi strait across to lovers beach at the tip of the rocks , only $4 each return. georgeous spot on a sunny afternoon.
The hotel is large and takes a day or two to find your way around. nice decor and fine furniture throughout. Amazing tile and marble work everywhere. Junior suite was nice big layout with a good size balcony, comfortable deck chairs. Nice lower sitting area with TV. Very firm bed, Safe is free, hair dryer, iron all included.
The evening shows are less than magnificent. New dance troupe, new members, equates to a less than stellar comedic event, if anything. The house band that played throughout the evening was very good with a large repertoire. Disco gets Going after 11, till 2, Good sound system and an accomodating DJ with big selection of songs. Lot's of "all-inclusive" dancing going on. After Discoing, you can trot upstairs for a nightcap at the huge lobby bar, which is overlooking the whole resort. But only until 7 AM. You'll end up sleeping in a couple of days.....
Overall, i can say they are definitely over any startup problems or growing pains at this resort. all the staff are courteous, friendly, well trained and efficient. Serving up lots of strong drinks and good food all day and night.
Had a good time at the Riu Palace, wish i would've booked 2 weeks

T.L.

PS: Drastic temperature fluctuations in showers, leave room to escape
the flow

Was this review helpful? Yes 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,707
    1,355
    471
    334
    239
See reviews for
634
1809
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2005

Stayed at riu palace Feb. 3-8. I must say i agree with a lot of the previous reviews. The property is absolutely beautiful, but the service is far from a five star resort. I would caution anyone who dislikes sleeping in a firm bed to think twice about this hotel. The mattresses were downright hard as a rock. Not kidding - I did not sleep more than a couple hours a night due to how uncomfortable the beds were. Had problems with the toilet and the in room safe and got no help from the front desk after several complaints. Did not get maid service for 2 days in a row, even after leaving a tip for the maid the first day there!! Thought that the food at the buffet was ok - not great and certainly not 5 star. Never was able to get in to the reservation only restuarants. not willing to stand in line all morning - went in to town to eat most dinners. I think the underlying problems with this resort is that it just plain understaffed. As beautiful as this resort is, I would not go back nor recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2005

It has been a week since I left the beautiful Palace. Upon arrival in a torrential rain storm their crew was out in full force trying to keep the tile dry. The checking in process took a little time but it got worked out. The room was beautiful, clean and had a wonderful view. We stayed in room 2069, it is on the west side(quiet side) of the resort away from the bars, disco and the large dining room. I wish we were one floor up because the palm trees were blocking the beautiful view. The dinner reservation system(very inefficient) is from 9-11 every morning for that evenings dinner. In order to reserve a spot for the gourmet restaurant you have to get in line by 8am or else you have no chance. The food was fantastic but the service levels have to get better, in peak times it was hard to find a clean table for breakfast or lunch. I would suggest to try every restaurant at least once and I rank them in this order Mexican, Japanese, Gourmet and Steak House. I suggest to tip the maid and the mini bar person, the room was clean and the bar was full! We enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2005

Got back from the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas on Feb, 7th/05. What an
awesome place!!! We were there for two weeks and didn't want to leave.
This is definitelya 5 Star Hotel!! Beautiful Grounds, restaurants, pools, and the view is worth a ton!! We saw Whales and sea lions almost on a daily basis. The food is great, especially in the Gourmet Restaurant, and we loved the Mexican restaurant also. The room we had was great, cleaned daily, quiet and the view and the sound of the ocean was incredible.
The only disapointing thing to me was the unswimable beach. However,
you could walk down the beach towards Cabo and swim. We took a tour to La Paz, our tour guide "Demisius" was funny, attentive and a great guy!! We had a great day!! The Whale Watching Tour on the Zodiacs is worth the $40.00 USD. We saw at least 20 Hump Back Whales!!
Cabo's economy is good, and most people are friendly. There are tons of Canadians living in Cabo. It was a fantastic vacation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

Let me start by saying, I have stayed at several Riu properties, and by far Cabo was very disappointing. The Riu experience starts at the front desk. I arrived with my family, 4 adults and 2 grandchildren. Their is no bell service to help with your luggage. The front desk did not even know where our room was located, he sent us in the opposite direction. The elevators are misleading because the floors are not numbered properly, if you pushed first floor you would get 2nd etc. The Riu properties have always been known for excellent service and cleanliness. Tables were never cleared after dining unless you decided to do it yourself, and table cloths were never changed so you had to sit at a table that someone previously had eaten and the the table cloths were soiled. The waiters at the restaurants either ignored your request or appeared not to care if you were waited on or not. On the positive side the children's program was great, and the ambiance of the hotel is beautiful. Unfortunately the negative out weighed the positive. We had to change rooms, which by talking to other guests is not unusal. They gave my son with two small children a beautiful room with a great view, but it was above the disco, and the noise and loud music until after 0300 in the morning was intolerable. The service at the front desk was horrible. So many guests were complaining about so many problems that it was unbelievable, and the attitude at the front desk was inexcusable. If you want a wonderful Riu experience please stay at the Riu Palace in Playa Del Carmen, it is the best of everything. Would I go back to the Riu Cabo? NO !! Its hard to recommend a hotel that is so beautiful but lacks in service and cleanliness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

We stayed at the Riu Palace, Cabo San Lucas, the last week of January 2005. The highlight was the heated pool (they call it the "activity pool"). It was the warmest pool I've ever been in without feeling uncomfortably like a hot tub. You wouldn't think warm water would be a necessity in hot Mexico, but at a lot of these all-inclusive resorts the beautiful pool has water so cold that nobody wants to go in and swim. My 4 year old kid spent the whole day in the pool having a ball. And the view out to the sea is awesome. Entertainment quite good-not as hokey as at some other resorts . Food very good, service ok but understaffed at the restaurants and they had trouble keeping tables cleaned and turned over in time. All in all we would go back, especially for the price. (we paid $1600 Canadian). From going to several of these places
(club meds, Iberostar, etc) and reading these reviews I've come to the conclusion that there is no perfect resort! You could spend twice as much and still have problem issues. So for the value, Riu Palace is top notch!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2005

The setting for this property is beautiful. The grounds and rooms are very lovely also.....BUT. I am sorry to say I will have to agree with many of the previous reviewers, the service was frequently lacking.
Since we did not come with a large group we didn't have a formal orientation to the property layout or activities at check-in. On the last day by the pool a young lady gave us a listing of the shows and activities. Although check-in did not take longer than 20 minutes, there is no organization at the front desk to even know if you are in a line or not.
The biggest complaint would be reservations for the speciality restaurants.
Yes, one must wait close to 1.5 hours to get first seating at the Sir Lawerence which has the best food. The buffet is ok, but generally dried out do to setting on a steam table too long. Breakfast is by far the best meal there especially with the fruity health shakes.
Lunch should be done at the "San Jose" which is an Italian restaurant at lunch time. It serves more than just burgers, dogs, and fries and has a great patio overlooking the Sea of Cortez.
Yes, the beds are hard, but I'd rather have that then beds that sag. Housekeeping doesn't get to the room until 5 PM sometimes so morning housekeeping sometimes turns into evening turn down.
The entertainment will occupy your time in the evening--enough said.
The bar service was best in the Lobby bar which is especially beautiful at sunset.
Look for Alma, Tino, or Tono. The service was also good at the Sir Lawerence and the Japanese restaurant.
The large pools are heated almost to the point of not refreshing, but are beautiful and close too early at 7 PM. They have finished enlarging the gym and is not open for business again.
There is no directory or instructions on how to use the phone or to obtain any help. Unfortunately, most of the housekeeping staff do no speak English so they can not help you either. Oh, forget room service, too.
Yes, the air conditioning does go off during the night. The fan works, but not the cooling element. We requested a quiet room and it was. Many of the rooms have a foyer to two rooms with a door also. If this door is used plus your own door, the noise is held down considerably.
I doubt we would go back to this resort despite it's beauty.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.