We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This place was wonderful. Spacious rooms, great food and location. Downtown is about a 5 minute bus ride for 11 pesos. Beach was great for swimming but we did have to go to Santa Maria for snorkeling. Again, most of the snorkeling beaches are very close by and easily accessible with public transport.
The hotel was very clean and the staff worked very hard to make sure that we were happy.

The only thing that was lacking was the quality of the mixed drinks...did not taste very good at all. We would find ourselves going over to the Santa Fe at night for better pina coladas, margaritas, etc.
Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on ocean view rooms since most of the rooms at the hotel face the ocean a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,441
    499
    348
    253
See reviews for
688
1,952
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at the Riu Palace and I can't say enough good things about it.

Where to start?! Bar none the best service we've ever experienced in Mexico starting with Arturo at check in, to Enrique in the Ventana Bar, to Olga (Lynette) at Breakfast, to Gabriel at dinner, to Ramon at the pool, and finally Valadez at the beach. We were so well looked after.

The cleanliness was outstanding. I continue to shake my head at how hard the staff worked to clean every detail! Even the stair spindles!

The food was nothing short of fantastic. We've never experienced a buffet like it. Fresh, variety, specials, and so well done. Not once did we walk away hungry....simply amazing.

The only challenge we had was the total lack of soundproofing in the guest rooms. Even some weather stripping around the doors would help.

We will definitely be back to this amazing resort.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at hotel Riu Palace from 12/20 - 12/25. It's a great all inclusive resort. It's a little far from the downtown Cabo area near the marina but in a good area. Water is a little rough on beach so they don't allow much swimming. If you are used to a lot of action (watersports, merchants, food) you will be happier at Mendano beach closer to the marina.

Staff was fantastic. Very nice and professional and genuinely walked around with a smile on their face all day. A special shoutout to our 5 star waiter Paul Stid. He made us laugh ever night and takes better selfies than a Kardashian!!

Food was good. It's an all inclusive so it is what it is - quantity over quality but by all-inclusive standard (we've been to a few) it's pretty good.

The Christmas Eve dinner was awesome. The staff made it a memorable night. They lined up and high fived everybody when they came in and they were dressed to the nines! Entire management team was on the receiving line to greet every guest.

Great job Team Riu

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beware that they come in during dinner and turn your beds down. We though we would have privacy at that time. Caused a bit of stress but after the 5 minute walk and then wait in line we got it all fixed. Took about 2 hours of time.
Place was well kept. Like clockwork the same ladies would be in the same areas doing the same things. The food was OK for the amount of people that were eating at once.
The pool was too cold! The ocean was nicer.
Overall it was a fun respectful trip.
Thank you

Room Tip: Just get a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed with my aunt at the RIU Palace for 4 days in December 2014. We did not get the room we paid for and the staff would not accommodate us.

Some good things:
-There are 2 concierges, Pam & Adrian who are 2 of the most exceptional hotel staff members I have ever come into contact. There was nothing they couldn't help us with and went out of their way.
-One of the managers Nicolas was genuinely interested in helping us with a couple of issues we had. He was calm, friendly and pleasant to deal with,
-The hotel is clean, very clean. All you see all day long are people cleaning everything from the handrails to the floor, to the ashtrays etc...
-The hotel is fairly close to the small town of Cabo and taxis are reasonably priced

The not so great:
-There is absolutely nothing to do in Cabo unless you want to lay by the pool or take advantage of hotel activities. There is whale watching in town but a lot of the city is still under reconstruction because of the hurricane in September.
-The food is gross. They try hard but it's an all inclusive buffet so don't expect anything spectacular. The service in the buffet however is excellent.
-The beds are terrible, you may as well be sleeping on a cot.
-There is a front desk manager named Cynthia who could be one of the most disgusting individuals I have ever had the misfortune of speaking to. When we arrived, they had given us a partial ocean view instead of an ocean view and we expressed that we were disappointed and she actually said she didn't care. The next day, I was sitting with Pam at the concierge desk and she started yelling at her in front of everyone. Truly a classless individual and how she is able to represent a hotel is beyond me.

Overall the RIU is basically what you would expect from an All Inclusive during the holidays. Because of the hurricane there was plenty of room at the pool and on the beach and we never felt crowded. I'm not 100% sure if I would come back but I wouldn't completely rule it out.

Room Tip: Ask for the FRONT Ocean view...not just an Ocean view or you will get a view of the fountain and whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Everything about Riu palace was absolutely amazing starting with location, giving 5+ stars to food quality and choice and definitely mentioning incredible service. The only place I would mention that has some room for improvement is the room quality. Although you don't fly to cabo to spend your vacation in the room, you still expect mattress, sheets and pillows quality in par with a 5 star resort they definitely charge you for. And it simply was not there. I have seen better rooms at a 3 star hotel in Vegas. Other then that, the vacation was a blast and I will be definitely coming back to Riu palace!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abbotsford, b.c.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great time in cabo with my wife. Very nice hotel with beautiful grounds. Check in was a breeze with a very efficient front desk.The food in the buffet was very good and plentiful. Antonio does a terrific job of making sure you have the seat of your choice, a hot coffee or glass of wine to go with your meal, excellent service. The nighttime entertainment was presented by a very enthusiastic cast. The upstairs bar overlooking the ocean is fantastic for watching the cruise ships sail into the bay and the chocolate martini's are delicious. There are two large pools, one for the loud crowd and one for us older types who just want to relax in piece and quiet.

The only drawback was when we went to change a U.S. $20 dollar bill the hotel would only change it into peso's. If you get a taxi to go downtown make sure you have small bills because some taxi's will claim that they do not carry change. The usual charge is $14 U.S. Downtown business will usually take both dollars and peso's. We found the downtown shopping confusing with stores spread out. Maybe just us.

Would definitely go back but next time stay longer.

Room Tip: Bring small bills if you bring U.S. dollars. Tip house keeping and you will get super service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.