We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Moore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great family vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We visited this resort in the summer of (end of May, beginning of June) 2012 and had a great time. I will say that the weather surprised us though. There was one night that it was so chilly I had to buy a sweatshirt from the gift shop! You definitely had to wait for the sun to come up before you would want to get in the pool as it was a little cold. The beach was beautiful but it wasn't recommended that you swim because of the high tide. The pools made up for that though. I will say that we brought our own floaties from home and I'm glad we did. The rooms were nice and the staff was great. The views of the grounds and beach from the hotel were amazing. One night we went and visited the sister resort and really enjoyed that. Misaki, the Asian restaurant was by far the best. I wish we would've visited that one twice. The only food we didn't really care from was the snack bar food on the second floor of the main building. Seemed like a lot of other people like it though. My sister and I got a massage and it was very relaxing. We are definitely interested in visiting other RIU resorts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,012
    1,540
    540
    355
    264
See reviews for
757
2,110
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I am currently staying at the hotel. The room has a mildew smell, so I called the front desk. They refused to help us in the situation. Our so has asthma, so we requested to change rooms. They stated that they can send a doctor, but the expenses would not be covered. They said we could not switch rooms either, therefore, we are stuck in a situation because the supervisors are even unwilling to help. I wish there was someone to contact to help us with the situation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I must say this hotel is by far the best hotel I've stayed with my family. I always see people cleaning, the staff is amazing the kids club is the best. The entertainment staff were great, always happy and cheerful. I myself am a shy person but they made me feel comfortable enough to even participate in pool activities. I strongly advise anyone traveling with family or friend to visit the Riu Palace. You will not be disappointed. Best hotel yet thus far. I truly have no negative comment for this resort. From room service, food and night and day entertainment everything was great!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you're planning for a vacation in Mexico, I highly recommend Riu Palace in Cabo San Lucas.
There are 7 restaurants to choose from, 2 steak houses, 2 buffets, Italian, Mexican and Japanese food. We tried all restaurants and they are good quality and best taste overall. You need to make reservation in the morning for the steak and lobster restaurant as it is very popular.
All kinds of drinks are free from you're dining table to the two swimming pools. There are waiters ready to serve you with a smile. No tipping required.
It's a good value for your money. You will be pampered with clean beddings everyday, all meals are cooked for you, good liquor, beer or ladies drinks. You can have sandwiches and soft drinks all ready if you go on picnic or go boating on outer islands. Or to get on early flight home.

Room Tip: Ocean view are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Went there March 13 to 20, 2014. All the services and staff were top notch. Food was great and they served top shelf liquors. At check in we were so well treated we did not mind the five hour wait for our room. ( very early flight in.)
Would go back in a heartbeat.
Real
Manitoba Canada.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at Riu Palace for a week in August & as we haven't heard too much about this place we were quiet surprised with what we saw & got!!
So to give you the run down here is our thoughts:


The hotel itself was massive - definitely not what we expected & presentation of it is immaculate. Staff were friendly & always greeted you when you walk past.

The room was nice, we were happy to see it to be tiled as my fiance is allergic to carpet. We had a great view of the pool & beach which we were lucky to have as some rooms don't have that luxury.
The shower is also a bath which we didn't like but that would be the only bad thing to say about the room.
Ordering room service was OK but we didn't get what we ordered which was disappointing especially when you are hungry.


House keeping was good, came around twice a day, topped up mini bar daily, fresh towels and bed made daily.
Only issue we had was with the maid taking our beach towels however reception agreed to replace this at no charge.

The restaurants available:


EL Milano Restaurant:
breakfast buffet is amazing
Lunch buffet is average
Dinner buffer average
During the quieter times the wait staff are great. When it's busy not so great. The restaurant is huge & such a great variety of food to choose from. We just didn't think the quality of food was the best.

San Jose Mexican Restaurant:
We thought this restaurant was poor & could have provides better quality food. It was also buffet & as we had to book this early that morning we were told we could only go at 8.45 so thinking the restaurant was full when we got there it was empty.


Misaki Japanese restaurant:
Also average - as a regular Japanese food lover we were expecting great Japanese food only to get a lot of fried dishes. Some dishes were nice.

Krystal French/Italian restaurant:
WOW!! This place is amazing and we went back twice to eat here. If you do decide to eat you must dress nice. So guys must wear collard shirts and jeans and ladies dress nice. Service is fast & food came out quick. presentation of the dishes were amazing and so was the food!! 5 stars!!


Pool areas are absolutely beautiful!!!
2 Large pools over looking the beach front as well as 2 smaller pools with a swim up bar.
The wait staff around the pool areas were great also!

The hotel was a little further out from the marina where the shopping Centre is and where all the bars & restaurants are. To get a cab cost $14 US which we thought for a 5mins cab drive was a bit much. To walk along the beach probably would take 45mins or so which in this heat we were not prepared to do.
However the location of the hotel was great as this area of the beach was the only area in Cabo san lucas where you could actually swim.

Overall it was a great week and we would definitely consider coming back to stay!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Been there a few times. Place is clean and not far from the marina and rite on the beach. Rooms are nice all you can eat and drink booze are bottom shelf but oh well. Can't beat this place for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.