We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best all inclusive I have been too.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best all inclusive I have been too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Every moment of my stay at this hotel was fantastic. I have stayed at a Riu once before, it was nice, but this one was spectacular. The food selection was great. Lots of variety. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful. The entertainment was the most professional I have seen at a resort. The pools were beautiful as well as the views. We also visited the Sante Fe which was lots of fun. Definitely the place to be if you want to party. My favourite restaurant was the Krystal. My tenderloin was cooked to perfection. Better than the Keg!! The service was great. The second visit I enjoyed the sea bass and a great bottle of 2002 Rioja. Don't believe the negative reviews. These people must just need something to complain about. Planning a trip to revisit riu in Bahamas later this summer. But plan on making the Palace in Cabo an annual thing

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    1,541
    541
    355
    264
See reviews for
759
2,111
45
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,053)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to check in and they said that they did not have our rooms (suites w/ocean-view) and had changed our reservations to the Santa Fe. We said no we had made the reservations for the palace and we had our confirmation with us. They said there was nothing they could do for us they were booked up? They said that we would have the best rooms at the Santa Fe, but they were not! They were regular rooms and faced a court yard. No one would help us and no one cared. Horrible way to start a vacation!! DO NOT STAY THERE!

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just came back on June 21st. We spent 2 weeks at the Riu.
The hotel is beautiful and clean and so are the grounds. We did stay the the Riu Santa Fe previously and we prefer the Palace.
The staff were exceptional. They would run to get what you want. They were always friendly and always with a smile. They did all speak English.
The beach is beautiful and you were able to swim but had to be careful.
The entertainment was ok. The usual Grease, Micheal Jackson all lipsinging. They did have two different bands before and after the show but they were not good. They always sang the same songs over and over...... not very entertaining.....
We also found the gym very small, no free weights and the machines old and in bad shape. Very surprising for a 5 star hotel.
We did do some excursions and one of them was the ATVs. We did it with Catcus Company and it was excellent.... they take you about 30 minutes out of Cabo and the staff Alberto, George and their group took us on a great ride along the beach and up the mountains.... it was great fun...
The steak resturant was the best. The Japanese was good but the service was very very slow.
The Italian is only open at Lunch but the food and service was great. The Infusion did not like.
Overall we really enjoyed the hotel and we would return again which we never do the same hotel twice.
So book it and see for yourself.
Ile Bizard Qc.
I

Room Tip: If you can get ocean view thats the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My daughter and her boyfriend arrived 2 days ago . Last night went to dinner for 2 hours and came back to their room door wide open and all the lights they had left on were off. Master key was used and safe was also opened...Iphone and all cash were STOLEN. Hotel said it would take 24 hours to see records of who opened door (obviously inside job)..They demanded to be moved to another room (was not offered) and now the rest of their trip has been marred ..Just searched this on internet and there is quite a few postings on various sites describing the exact same thing happening to others there...DO NOT BRING ANYTHING OF VALUE AND DO NOT TRUST THE HOTEL IN ROOM SAFES...WOULD NEVER GO BACK.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in June 2013 for 2 nights. Front desk staff were not very efficient or friendly. The food is average. We ate at the Japanese restaurant 1st night and the food had very little flavour and it may have been the worst wine I've ever had. Lunch at an Italian place, everything tasted the same. 2nd night, dinner at the Mexican place was much better. We had a junior suite which seemed very small for a suite. The sheets on the bed seemed very old and were rough. The worst thing about this hotel was the sound in the hallways. Anytime anyone was in the hallway, no matter how close to our room, it sounded like they were right in our room. We were woken up 2 or 3 times per night. As people were leaving one morning, wheeling their suitcases, it was very loud. The grounds, pool, lobby etc. are very nice. Service around the pool was very good. I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The property is great. Very clean and beautiful. However, beds are soooo hard!!! The hotel is beyond loud at all hours. The cleaning carts make the loudest noise and are being pushed starting very early in the morning making ridiculous amount of noise. Everything echoes!! When we came on the site visit for our group, they told us they don't cater to the party crowd. Complete lie! It was like a fraternity/sorority party 24/7. People coming back to rooms at all hours, yelling and slamming doors. I was woke up every night we were there and we were there for 10 nights. Customer service was HORRIBLE!!! Rudest front desk staff ever! Groups/events staff had no clue and nothing was ever ready on time. Food was better than most all inclusives however good luck getting reservations. The lunch buffet has the same food every day and it is not very good. Sorry, I would not recommend this property! Internet is very unreliable. WE had no internet the last 4 days we were there and they did nothing about it. It was our entire side of the property. Ridiculous!!!

Room Tip: They will tell you all rooms are ocean view. What a lie!!! The garden view that we had looked out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed in Cabo week of June 16 at Riu Palace. Family of 4 with 2 teenagers (we got 2 rooms). We want to stay in nice clean, places, but we are not terribly difficult to please. I will be objective as possible here....
We've tried other resort brands in this "class" in Cancun, Playa, Cozumel, Dominican Rep and had good experiences at most.
Never been to Cabo, never stayed at a Riu. It was a great experience! Service was outstanding. I tipped the servers pretty regularly, and they appreciate it, but it didn't seem necessary. They were always happy to bring you whatever you needed. Food was very good (even on the buffets), better than we experienced at other resorts/destinations. (We only ate offsite a few times, because the resort restaraunts/buffets were good) Pools were large, usually plenty of loungers, and plenty of servers walking by every 10-15 minutes to make sure you had a full drink! The shows at night are "cheesy" but entertaining (go or don't). The grounds are immaculate. (Lots of stairways around the resort to get to various places, so keep this in mind if you don't get around well) Our rooms were clean when we got there, and cleaned well each day (leaving a couple bucks for the housekeeping each day might have helped). Liquor dispensers in the rooms and beer/water/cokes in the fridge! We were on 3rd floor, ocean view, and yes... we had an ocean view, as it appears most rooms do.
The views from the resort are incredible!

If you are researching the Riu Santa Fe next door, be careful...Most of the resort is BEHIND the Riu Palace, which is a pretty good hike to the beach. And those rooms in the back will NOT have an ocean view. Not saying Santa Fe is bad, just seems like only some of the resort is "on the beach".

Swimming is NOT advised at this beach where the hotel is located, and we discovered why! Too much undertow. Could be very dangerous. But there are nearby beaches where you can swim.

Summary: It's Mexico...keep your expectations realistic. It's beautiful! The Riu Palace does a very nice job! I would go back to this one again! (and go marlin fishing while you are in Cabo...we caught 4 in 4 hours)

Room Tip: First floor rooms may be too low to get a good view. 3rd floor was good for us. (out of 4 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.