We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - Fabulous Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - Fabulous Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A lovely property - many rooms have ocean views. The food in the buffet and the restaurants was excellent...they are constantly replenishing the buffet. The service was the best we have ever experienced at an all inclusive - at the bars, the restaurants, poolside and at the beach. The resort was so clean it was spotless, in spite of being fully booked. I have never seen such clean bathrooms. Kudos to all the staff!

We stayed during the US college spring break, but the staff managed to keep the impact of the partying to a minimum for the guests. The Santa Fe next door was not so fortunate - the noise from there travelled all the way over to our hotel. If you are choosing between the Palace and the Santa Fe, be warned that they both are rated as 5-star, but there is a huge difference between them. If you want truly up-scale, be sure to choose the Palace. You will not be disappointed!

The beach is great for sunbathing - but don't expect to swim in the ocean. The shoreline drops steeply to the water and the waves are very high. There is a lifeguard there employed just to keep everyone out of the water. There are lots of loungers in the shade of a palm tree grove...perfect for reading that book you found at the Palace library....or the magazines that other guests have left behind. The local Mexicans sell all sorts of things on the beach, but they stay well back from the roped-off hotel area - so they are never a bother. Support the local economy and do your shopping there. A taxi ride into Cabo San Lucas costs $12 each way.

A lovely property for a very relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Many rooms have ocean views - request one. Both the activity pool and the quiet pool are located fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,707
    1,355
    471
    334
    239
See reviews for
634
1809
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I took my 3 kids (10,13,16) during spring break. We arrived late at night and were told "we would be happier" if we were moved from the Riu Santa Fe to the Riu Palace (an upgrade) due to noisy spring breakers - translation: they ran out of rooms. This was done at no additional charge and we were very happy. The beds (two doubles pushed together) were very small and uncomfortable, but that was my only complaint. We loved the friendliness, food, beach, pool and entertainment. Yes, you don't get high end liquor, but do you really need it in margaritas, mojitos, etc? We felt very safe. We were able to go to the nicer restaurants relatively easily. It wasn't easy to swim on the beach in front of the hotel due to the current, but we still had an easy time having fun in the ocean. There was some garbage on the beach (but due to tourists - cups, etc). There were no bad smells (the room did smell a little stale). Probably relatively expensive overall (I did this as an Apple Vacation), but it took all planning out of the picture for a single dad just wanting to relax with his kids on the beach and at the pool. We also did a few side trips: Whale Watch Cabo (excellent), Snorkeling Sunrider (OK - not the best snorkeling in Cabo during the spring though), and Sunset Princess Cruise (beautiful sunset but a HUGE BOOZE CRUISE).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I agree with all the other comments it is a nice place, not perfect, but nice! - the food, pool & cleanliness of the hotel is good. But we had $600 stolen from our room. Yes there is safes in the room but they need to be locked with a heavy key which most people do not want to carry around. So they are generally hidden in the room. Unfortunetly in our rush out we didn't hide it very well this day. Hotel staff finds the keys and helps themselves into the safe. Management is unresponsive in responding to these crimes. It really made us wonder if they were part of all of this in some way. They just didn't care and their efforts in trying to pretend they did was easy to see. So yes, nice hotel but when you can't trust the hotel staff, or the management to support the customers when this happens, it's not so nice anymore. It wasn't just us missing hundreds it was several people we spoke to after that about the incident. It's a serious problem at this hotel. Reading the reviews every once in awhile you'll notice people commenting on this problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent two wonderful weeks at this resort and had a amazing time!

The Resort: Amazing and friendly staff! The pools are great and the beach is awesome! The only down side is that you have the beach vendors right in front of the beautiful view but we moved our chairs further down the beach to enjoy the peace and quiet and especially the view of the arch! The lobby bar is very popular before and after dinner but i would definitely recommend the nightly shows! Incredible entertainment staff and dancers!

The Food: the buffets are just the same old same old. Everything you would expect from a buffet. Lunch time, i would recommend the italian buffet as it was much quieter! All the a la carte were very good! I personally enjoyed the Japanese and the Fusion restaurant. The only disappointment was the wine, both red and white are AWFUL! We ended up drinking the champagne at lunch and dinner and it was pretty good! Ask for the pink champagne, you'll love it! I finally made a complaint to the manager about the wine and she gave us a nice bottle of Shiraz!

The Rooms: clean and comfortable. I read a few reviews and a lot of guests were complaining about the beds that they were too hard, but i slept like a baby the entire two weeks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was tossing up between Santa Fe and Palace, but went with Palace due to rating and better facilities. on arrival I was told by a guest we can use the Santa Fe facilities Free, but they cant come to Palace. This was a bonus. Being a young couple I felt the food and service was 5 star at Palace and much better, but for the young at heart and pool parties go to Santa Fe. So we went to both hotels throughout the day.

So book the Palace so you can enjoy both Hotels ;)

Room Tip: we picked ocean view room. didnt realise until that night it was above the night club. ;( so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For context - we have been travelling for almost 10 years and have stayed at many all inclusives and many major chains such as Barcelo, Palladium, Iberostar, etc. and this is certainly one of the best we have stayed at. It has friendly staff (a special pat on the back to Berta - our pool bar server was excellent) throughout the resort and I did not find any staff not to be pleasant. The service is excellent - and it started long before we arrived - I phoned to see what room we had booked and asked if there was any way we could be on the north wing and when we arrived we were not only in the North wing but overlooking the ocean. From that moment on everything was great. The resort is very well maintained and in excellent shape. The view from the pools or the beach is second to none (in my opinion).

Yes - every resort has its better characteristics than others and we found the a la carte restaraunts and the booking of the restaraunts to be less than we were used to but they were all fine - not top shelf but certainly acceptable and the food was tasty. The buffet was great as well, lots of variety and I have always believed if you can not find something to eat then you are way too picky an eater.

The week we were there was spring break so it was quite the party shack for high school and I assume some university students. The Santa Fe was a rocking place - but it was spring break - what can you expect. Everyone was behaved but did party hard.

In all our travels we have never said we would definately come back but we will for this resort.

Well done.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the North Wing (farthest away from the Santa Fe) as this is quieter and much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having always vacationed on the Caribbean side of Mexico, I wanted to try the Pacific side this vacation and I wasn't disappointed. Loved the Riu. Also the climate here is great. NO humidity and temperatures were in the high 20's celsius. Perfect!! We were there March 7-21, 2013.
Travelled with my husband, and son (20 years old). Rooms were cleaned daily, beds turned down at night. Fridge always stocked with refreshments.
WiFi in the room and lobby worked very well. Just get the code from the front desk.
Pools, one quiet pool and swim up bar. One very noisy activity pool and swim up bar. All 4 of these, had a great view of Lands End and it was awesome to sit at the end of the pool and look out over the water. We saw humpback whales one day, dolphins one day and a cruise ship, Grand Princess, came into the harbour twice. The animation people keep everyone occupied with volleyball, bocce ball, horseshoes, ping pong, bingo. And music all day long.
Beach, non swimmable. Wade in up to your knees and that's about it. The beach was great to lay on and soak up the sun. No trouble getting loungers at the beach or pools at any time of the day. We walked down to Medano Beach, about 20 minutes and were able to go into the water there. Water is a bit chilly at first, but still great. The sand is very coarse close to the resort, sand is much easier to walk on closer to the water, but quite sloped, so made it hard for walking but we weren't in any hurry so took our time. It was great.
Husband and son went on a ziplining adventure one day, booked through SunWing. They really enjoyed that. We also booked through SunWing the tour with lunch to Lover's Beach, and Divorce Beach. You can go in the water at Lover's Beach, but definitely not at Divorce Beach, although there were people there dodging the waves, it's definitely not recommended. Were picked up in the lobby, driven to the marina, got on a water taxi, went past Pelican Beach, saw sea lions basking in the sun, and were dropped off on the beach for 3 hours, then picked up and taken back to the hotel. It was great. We took the bus into town one day, $1 USD each, each way. Pick and drop off right outside the front gates. Took in all the shops and sights.
There's vendors on the beach in front of the resorts, they have to stay on the other side of the ropes. You can bargain with them to get what you want.
My son and I went para-sailing one day. ($45 each). What an adventure that was!! Booked it right on the beach, got on the water taxi, which took us to the para-sailing boat, and away we went. We went singles. My husband also went along for the ride ($10) so he could take pictures. It's quite a challenge getting in and out of these water taxis but the workers have the waves timed just right and are there to help you in and out of the boats.
The grounds at this resort are spotless! Many flowers and cactus. Lobby here is very nice.
Food is good. Tried all the a la cartes, reservations needed at the steak restaurant, the mexican restaurant, Krystle (which I didn't care for, too fancy for me!), and no reservations needed at the japanese restaurant. It was a nice change from the buffets. You have to get in line at 7 AM to book your reservation for dinner.
There's nightly shows, Michael Jackson, Grease, Mama Mia. All were pretty good.
My only complaint were the smokers! This resort has a nice patio to sit in the sun and enjoy breakfast or dinner, but with all the smokers out there, it was gross. Also around the pools, many smokers, and people smoking in the pools so ashes blowing everywhere. I think they should designate a pool for smoking people only. Also have a nice patio where people who don't smoke could go outside and sit and enjoy their meal, and have a patio where the smokers could sit away from us non-smokers.
We had room 0137 which had a pool view of the activity pool. Lots of walking in this resort, lots of stairs to go from the pool area, to the buffets, to the main lobby. With all the eating and drinking, the walking and stairs were a good thing!! :) It was quiet at night as the bars and disco were far away from this room.
Staying at the Riu Palace, also gives you access to the Santa Fe. We did wander over there a couple of times, and had their buffet twice. They have many shops in their lobby. Lots of spring breakers at the Santa Fe.
People were very friendly. Staff were great. Met many Canadians there. It's a quick 4 hour and 20 minute flight direct from Victoria to Cabo San Lucas at this time of year.
Hopefully we will return to the Riu Palace next year in March!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.