We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Reward!
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Spent two wonderful weeks at this resort and had a amazing time!

The Resort: Amazing and friendly staff! The pools are great and the beach is awesome! The only down side is that you have the beach vendors right in front of the beautiful view but we moved our chairs further down the beach to enjoy the peace and quiet and especially the view of the arch! The lobby bar is very popular before and after dinner but i would definitely recommend the nightly shows! Incredible entertainment staff and dancers!

The Food: the buffets are just the same old same old. Everything you would expect from a buffet. Lunch time, i would recommend the italian buffet as it was much quieter! All the a la carte were very good! I personally enjoyed the Japanese and the Fusion restaurant. The only disappointment was the wine, both red and white are AWFUL! We ended up drinking the champagne at lunch and dinner and it was pretty good! Ask for the pink champagne, you'll love it! I finally made a complaint to the manager about the wine and she gave us a nice bottle of Shiraz!

The Rooms: clean and comfortable. I read a few reviews and a lot of guests were complaining about the beds that they were too hard, but i slept like a baby the entire two weeks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,762
    1,393
    485
    337
    248
See reviews for
657
1861
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was tossing up between Santa Fe and Palace, but went with Palace due to rating and better facilities. on arrival I was told by a guest we can use the Santa Fe facilities Free, but they cant come to Palace. This was a bonus. Being a young couple I felt the food and service was 5 star at Palace and much better, but for the young at heart and pool parties go to Santa Fe. So we went to both hotels throughout the day.

So book the Palace so you can enjoy both Hotels ;)

Room Tip: we picked ocean view room. didnt realise until that night it was above the night club. ;( so noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

For context - we have been travelling for almost 10 years and have stayed at many all inclusives and many major chains such as Barcelo, Palladium, Iberostar, etc. and this is certainly one of the best we have stayed at. It has friendly staff (a special pat on the back to Berta - our pool bar server was excellent) throughout the resort and I did not find any staff not to be pleasant. The service is excellent - and it started long before we arrived - I phoned to see what room we had booked and asked if there was any way we could be on the north wing and when we arrived we were not only in the North wing but overlooking the ocean. From that moment on everything was great. The resort is very well maintained and in excellent shape. The view from the pools or the beach is second to none (in my opinion).

Yes - every resort has its better characteristics than others and we found the a la carte restaraunts and the booking of the restaraunts to be less than we were used to but they were all fine - not top shelf but certainly acceptable and the food was tasty. The buffet was great as well, lots of variety and I have always believed if you can not find something to eat then you are way too picky an eater.

The week we were there was spring break so it was quite the party shack for high school and I assume some university students. The Santa Fe was a rocking place - but it was spring break - what can you expect. Everyone was behaved but did party hard.

In all our travels we have never said we would definately come back but we will for this resort.

Well done.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the North Wing (farthest away from the Santa Fe) as this is quieter and much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Having always vacationed on the Caribbean side of Mexico, I wanted to try the Pacific side this vacation and I wasn't disappointed. Loved the Riu. Also the climate here is great. NO humidity and temperatures were in the high 20's celsius. Perfect!! We were there March 7-21, 2013.
Travelled with my husband, and son (20 years old). Rooms were cleaned daily, beds turned down at night. Fridge always stocked with refreshments.
WiFi in the room and lobby worked very well. Just get the code from the front desk.
Pools, one quiet pool and swim up bar. One very noisy activity pool and swim up bar. All 4 of these, had a great view of Lands End and it was awesome to sit at the end of the pool and look out over the water. We saw humpback whales one day, dolphins one day and a cruise ship, Grand Princess, came into the harbour twice. The animation people keep everyone occupied with volleyball, bocce ball, horseshoes, ping pong, bingo. And music all day long.
Beach, non swimmable. Wade in up to your knees and that's about it. The beach was great to lay on and soak up the sun. No trouble getting loungers at the beach or pools at any time of the day. We walked down to Medano Beach, about 20 minutes and were able to go into the water there. Water is a bit chilly at first, but still great. The sand is very coarse close to the resort, sand is much easier to walk on closer to the water, but quite sloped, so made it hard for walking but we weren't in any hurry so took our time. It was great.
Husband and son went on a ziplining adventure one day, booked through SunWing. They really enjoyed that. We also booked through SunWing the tour with lunch to Lover's Beach, and Divorce Beach. You can go in the water at Lover's Beach, but definitely not at Divorce Beach, although there were people there dodging the waves, it's definitely not recommended. Were picked up in the lobby, driven to the marina, got on a water taxi, went past Pelican Beach, saw sea lions basking in the sun, and were dropped off on the beach for 3 hours, then picked up and taken back to the hotel. It was great. We took the bus into town one day, $1 USD each, each way. Pick and drop off right outside the front gates. Took in all the shops and sights.
There's vendors on the beach in front of the resorts, they have to stay on the other side of the ropes. You can bargain with them to get what you want.
My son and I went para-sailing one day. ($45 each). What an adventure that was!! Booked it right on the beach, got on the water taxi, which took us to the para-sailing boat, and away we went. We went singles. My husband also went along for the ride ($10) so he could take pictures. It's quite a challenge getting in and out of these water taxis but the workers have the waves timed just right and are there to help you in and out of the boats.
The grounds at this resort are spotless! Many flowers and cactus. Lobby here is very nice.
Food is good. Tried all the a la cartes, reservations needed at the steak restaurant, the mexican restaurant, Krystle (which I didn't care for, too fancy for me!), and no reservations needed at the japanese restaurant. It was a nice change from the buffets. You have to get in line at 7 AM to book your reservation for dinner.
There's nightly shows, Michael Jackson, Grease, Mama Mia. All were pretty good.
My only complaint were the smokers! This resort has a nice patio to sit in the sun and enjoy breakfast or dinner, but with all the smokers out there, it was gross. Also around the pools, many smokers, and people smoking in the pools so ashes blowing everywhere. I think they should designate a pool for smoking people only. Also have a nice patio where people who don't smoke could go outside and sit and enjoy their meal, and have a patio where the smokers could sit away from us non-smokers.
We had room 0137 which had a pool view of the activity pool. Lots of walking in this resort, lots of stairs to go from the pool area, to the buffets, to the main lobby. With all the eating and drinking, the walking and stairs were a good thing!! :) It was quiet at night as the bars and disco were far away from this room.
Staying at the Riu Palace, also gives you access to the Santa Fe. We did wander over there a couple of times, and had their buffet twice. They have many shops in their lobby. Lots of spring breakers at the Santa Fe.
People were very friendly. Staff were great. Met many Canadians there. It's a quick 4 hour and 20 minute flight direct from Victoria to Cabo San Lucas at this time of year.
Hopefully we will return to the Riu Palace next year in March!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This resort was in a great location, just a short cab ride from downtown and all the action. Very nice beach and nice pools. I have been to a few Rius now and I am not a fan and probably wouldn't go back to another one. The restaurants all had different procedures for booking and very hard to get in unless you wanted to get up at 6 am. The rooms were defiantly not 5 star quality, the beds very hard! Not the best food I have had, not bad but not great. Overall nice resort but not 5 star quality. Riu Santa Fe is just as nice and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
637 helpful votes 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have stayed at many all inclusive resorts. The Riu Palace in Cabo Sal Lucas has the best food taste, quality, selection. The food exceeded my expectations. And a large selection. Must be over 100 different items at the buffet. And I ate every item available. Everything I ate was fantastic.... except the hamburgers.

I was also impressed that they use premium brand liquor. Every bar made excellent drinks.

The location of the resort is the best of all the resorts in Cabo. Walking distance to the harbor... OK... 1 mile walk... But 1 beautiful walk mile.

They have 3 big swimming pools.. Plenty of deck space and plenty of lounge chairs to enjoy the beautiful landscaping of the resort.
Clean, clean, clean. OMG... this place is clean. Every place is spotless. Every hand rail is clean. Every bathroom was perfect. VERY impressive.
AND I was there for Spring break...full of college kids...and the place was super clean.

Jet skis in front of the hotel.

I have stayed at 5 resorts in Cabo. Now I will always come back to the Riu Palace.

Room Tip: Get a room with the pool and ocean view. Especially rooms parallel to the ocean. It is worth the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chgo Suburb
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice place as far as all-inclusives go. As much as there is a good effort to create diverse, tasty buffet offerings, make no mistake that you get absolutely sick of eating in the same place daily. And you'll feel guilty about eating anywhere else because you've already paid for your meal at the Riu. Admittedly, this is probably more of a condemnation of all-inclusives more so than the Riu Palace. Nice clean place though with generally friendly, helpful staff. Old room TVs with poor channel selection. Very if-fy room wireless - sometimes its there and sometimes its not
Suffice it to say, if you are certain that an all-inclusive is for you than you would be hard pressed to beat the Riu. Very pretty grounds and the ever present Cabo San Lucas beach borders on the breathtaking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.