We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Winter Specials
Ranked #28 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We spend a week at this hotel. I think it was amazing! The food was exceptional and the service very good. I would definitely go back!
The only thing that I would change next time is to avoid rooms that face the hallway. It was a bit noisy, especially for our six month old baby. Otherwise great.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,773
    1,396
    487
    340
    250
See reviews for
663
1,874
40
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (874)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed at the Rui Palace from January 18 - 27, 2013. The resort was terrific, food exceeded our expectations, the staff were absolutely wonderful. We appreciated how welcome they made us feel; special thanks to Karla, Mercedes, Christian, and Vendi...there were many more! Housekeeping looked after every detail and the other maintenance staff worked so hard to keep things perfect! There was occasionally a little noise from the party crowd, but for the most part very quiet. The marina area was very enjoyable with a number of excellent establishments to visit. Great food at Alexander's and Lorenzillo's - both put on a great show when presenting our meals! I would recommend this resort without hesitation. We look forward to staying with Riu in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms with the ocean view were more than acceptable rather than upgrading to a ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dru_travels_alot
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace in January for a long weekend getaway.

The check in process was ok. They greeted us with drinks and the lobby is beautiful however they wanted to give us a room directly over the disco which we declined. We paid for an ocean front jr suite and were told that (though the resort was far from full) we could only choose from a first floor room with 2 double beds (that they said they would push together to make a king) or a room over the disco with a king bed. Our friends encountered the same issue and we spoke with multiple other people at the resort who encountered the same thing. Didn't start off our trip on the best trip.

The room itself was nice however was in need of some updates - the couch was old and ugly and the bedding was not very nice in general. The view from our patio was breathtaking.

The bathroom was nice and updated and the bathroom amenities provided were good (shampoo/conditioner/lotion/ sewing kit etc)

Food and Drink:
I would recommend you make your restaurant reservations upon checking in. Our favorite was the mexican restaurant (so good we ended up eating there twice). The tres leches cake was awesome. Otherwise there is a fusion restaurant and steakhouse. Both were pretty good. We did not eat at the Japanese restaurant as we did not hear good things about it.

Lunch was a little trickier to figure out. The main buffet by the pool was not great. If possible, go the mexican restaurant (which is open for lunch) - it's much better.

The drinks are what you would expect from an all -inclusive. Nothing special to write home about.

Pool:
The pool and landscaping are absolutely beautiful. There is a "quiet" pool and another pool with music and activities. Waiters come by the pool on a regular basis and take drink orders. During our stay we had no problems getting chairs by the pool. Also, on the beach in front of hotel the is a constant parade of local vendors that walk by - bring some cash and be prepared to barter! We bought a pretty ceramic bowl and plate.

Staff:
Service levels varied however the majority of people were very nice and friendly.

Spa was very nice. Not super large. I had a very good massage.

Overall, I would probably try a different hotel upon my return. The Riu was nice but needs some updates. Didn't blow me away but was a good deal for the price we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I spent a 2 week vacation from January 10, 2013 to January 24, 2013 at the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas. We have been to Mexico many times, once to Puerto Vallarta and about 4 times to the Mayan Riviera. We have always stayed in 4.5 – 5 star resorts. This was our first visit to Cabo San Lucas. We had only stayed at a Riu resort once before. After much research, we decided to stay at the Riu Palace and upgraded our room to a junior suite oceanview. We made a request at booking to be on one of the upper floors with a king size bed. Both requests were granted.

Here are our thoughts on the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas:

We had been advised prior to leaving home that the mornings and evenings can be cool. We did heed that message and did take some warmer clothes with us. We were also warned the beach sand can be a little coarse (which it was) and it was recommended we not swim in the ocean due to the undertow.

Service
IMPECIBLE doesn’t even begin to describe the service at this resort. It started the moment we exited the airport terminal and we told which bus to take. Before we boarded the bus, a representative from the resort and a Sunwing rep greeted us, gave us our bracelets, room key, towel cards, and an information envelope. This was at 10:30 AM. When we arrived at the resort, our luggage was taken from the bus and we were free to go to our room as we had already been checked in at the airport. Over the 2 weeks we were there, we were asked many times how our vacation was and if there was anything more that could be done for us, not only by management, but also servers, chefs, front desk, entertainment, and bar staff.

Rooms
We were on the third floor facing the Sea of Cortes and had a beautiful view of the bay and land’s end. The room was spacious, very clean, comfortable, and well stocked. The cleaning staff did a fabulous job of tidying up every day. The refrigerator worked well as did the air conditioning and the shower had plenty of pressure. Every night our bed was turned down and fresh towels had been delivered.

Food
Fabulous. Probably the best food we’ve ever had at a resort. Breakfast is always our favorite, pancakes and French toast, a station to get customized eggs, a variety of cold cuts and cheeses, toast, fruit, freshly made juice. Lunch could be almost whatever you wanted; salad, fruit, hamburgers,chicken burgers, fries, nachos. Dinner always had beef, chicken, pork, and fish available as well as a variety of potatoes, rice, vegetables, breads, salads, fruit, and desserts.
We’ve never been fans of ala carte restaurants so made no reservations. This is a personal preference and not a reflection of the resort.
The serving staff did everything they could to make us feel special, pull out our chairs, napkins on our laps, carried our food to the table, and provided us with many laughs.

Bar
My wife prefers her drinks on the milder side and many times asked for less alcohol. Her requests were always honored. We stayed by the pool (quieter one of the two) most days and were served our drinks. The serving staff did a great job to ensure all guests were accommodated. Not once did they make us feel we were imposing on them.

In the 2 weeks we were there, we had no complaints about anything about this resort. Everything was first rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at the Riu Palace from Jan 21 - 28 2013, and we can’t wait to go back. The resort was really fantastic. I did read a lot of the reviews and was a little skeptical but no worries at all the place was great and met and exceeded all expectations....
The rooms were clean and neat, the pillows are not quite comfortable but we asked for extra ones and we had them within minutes. We did opt for the ocean view and it was a great view did not regret the upgrade.
The property was very well maintained, clean and up to expectations.
Food what can we say not one bad meal, everyone was really great. They have all sorts of options available and that makes a difference. We did tip almost everyone who served us and a dollar goes a long long way in getting you great service.
All the bars were equally great and yes you can actually taste all the alcohol in the cocktails, sometimes this can be an issue not at the Riu.
The booking for the a la carte is a bit crazy - a tip get the first and second night done as soon as you reach. After than even if you go around 11 or so you will eventually get a booking for one of the restaurants, we weren’t fussy we wanted to try them all so we had no issues with any bookings.

As per a day trip it is a must to do the Camel Adventure simply unbeleivable and very interesting strongly recomended...

Would defenitaly return for sure...Absolutaly loved it

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room in block 4100 great oceanview witout a surcharge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from the Riu Palace and had to share our fantastic experience. The staff, food, beverages, entertainment--all top notch. We were reluctant to try an all-inclusive but were impressed with the quality of food, impeccable service, cleanliness, etc. You can hop on the local bus at the entry gate for a $1 to go to town--how easy is that? If there was a downside, I'd have to say our bed was pretty hard, but otherwise the room, grounds and VIEW were amazing. We will be back!

Room Tip: Garden Suite with Ocean View was quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you are debating between the Riu Sante Fe and the Riu Palace I would opt for the Palace hands down. This way, you can reap the benefits of both hotels, while staying in the more luxurious option.

The buffet is truly something to see. I'm talking an entire section just devoted to cheese! There is something for everyone and hands down the best food I've ever had at a resort.

The A La Cartes are fantastic as well. Slip into the Asian restaurant for lunch! Seriously that place is open from 12-9pm and was empty during the day. It's a nice break from a buffet lunch and it's absolutely calm and serene in that restaurant, not to mention the sushi was some of the best I've had. The Mexican restaurant also featured a buffet, and a menu. Why not have both! It's free! Crystal, the coveted, nearly impossible to get a reservation, restaurant was also delicious with small portions that are perfect for the 4 course meal. It's funny how it was so hard to get a reservation, but the restaurant is only 1/3 full when you are in there. Didn't get to try the Steak House, but they have lobster so I would attempt to get in if you can.

**MUST MUST DO: You absolutely must, at least one night of your stay, go to the Sante Fe for the nightlife. While the Palace is calm and quiet at night, the Sante Fe is where the party is. A younger crowd tend to stay at this hotel. But the main reason you need to go there is to see a bartender named Enrique. When you enter the main section where their stage is you will see two bars. Try your best and wait if you have to to get a seat around the bar where Enrique works. Think Mr. Bean - Mexican Style. For the first 10 minutes you might think 'wow this guy is a real weirdo' but guaranteed if you stick around you will be in tears from laughter. This guy should have his own TV show. His drinks: Terrible His Entertainment: second to none. We went back 3 different times just to watch him.

Planning to swim in the ocean or snorkel, well, it's cold, and there is a pretty massive undertow. So I would count on that. But the hotel pools make up for this in a big way. They are massive and provide a wonderful place to enjoy the amazing scenery of Cabo.

Lovers Beach - worth the trip. It's gorgeous. Don't pay more than $10 a head for the trip over though.

Only bad thing about the hotel? The drinks were pretty awful. I'm a wine drinker and quickly learned that Mexicans don't know a thing about making wine. So choosing other drinks I found incredibly sweet and loaded with aspartame. Yuck. I finally, on the 2nd last day settled with coconut rum, soda, and a splash of pineapple juice. Not bad. (Named it Pineapple Sushine if you ask Jose at the pool bar). If you like beer though you are good to go.

Walk to Cabo about 25 mins on the beach, or a $1 bus ride, or $12 cab ride.

The Walmart/shops across the road were worth the walk (about 25 minutes, or $1 bus) and the alcohol at Walmart was super cheap! ($4 26oz coconut rum, $8 Jose Cuervo)

Overall the stay and resort was fantastic! I would highly recommend to anyone and hope to return to beautiful Cabo someday soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.