We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check-out disaster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check-out disaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Trip was most enjoyable until check-out. Check-out at 4AM. Airport limo (with other passengers already aboard) waiting. Front desk clerk demanding room keys, safe deposit key, and towel cards. First two left in room. Expected that maid would retrieve them. Uh-uh. Clerk DEMANDED we go back to the room and get them. We did. The best: towel cards - the ones you exchange at pool side for your towels. We turned them in the evening before at the towel shack because we knew we were checking out. Big mistake, but no one told us. Desk clerk insisted we had to have them. We could not have what we did not have. He rudely insisted that without these cards (valueless pieces of plastic), we would not be allowed to leave the hotel!! To whom should we give the award for customer service? In order to break this deadlock, we had to pay $50+ for, yes, towel cards, so that we could depart the hotel. We subsequently protested this charge to MasterCard. We also corresponded with the manager/customer service at the Hotel to share our discomfort with this check-out scenario. Response? Sorry, we can't do anything about it. Makes you want to book another reservation right away!

Room Tip: Room on a lower floor good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,721
    1,362
    475
    336
    242
See reviews for
639
1825
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Im not a fan of all inclusive resort stays usually however this was for a friends birthday event so I went along.It is a huge resort, staff was very friendly, rooms are spacious, everything was very clean, the grounds and pool areas also nice! The food was actually quite good too suprisingly, usually the continual buffet doesnt hold up well this one did! Some travelers in my party though did have trouble with there room request not being honoured. All in all it is a beautiful resort !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we have been traveling to mexico for the past 15 yrs ..yes , we need to realize we are in a foreign country , so we carry special items in case we feel il....
we have been in contact with the riu palace this past month to confirm our holiday stay with them ..they never 'missed' a email assuring us all was well with our reservations & if there was anything more they could do to insure us a wonderful stay ...they also knew my son's 40th birthday was the reason for the trip, they will have cake & champagne for the occasion :)
all this meant so mudh to us.. we realized then riu palace knew how to be an excellent 'host' .. so if the bed is a bit hard, musty smells from the ocean, room may be smaller , it is a vacation, so go & enjoy the people, culture, grounds & beach, most of all relax :)
ciao ciao

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are an adult that enjoys quality, stay away.

Let's start with the end. Husband and I had 7-9 days of stomach problems. Bad explosive issues. No we didn't drink the "water". The buffets are exposed to the outdoors and in 80-100 degree heat, I don't think it's a great idea. If you enjoy quality good food, you will be disappointed. We ate cheese quesadillas for lunch everyday because it was the only decent thing.

Rooms are old. Not updated. Everything feels wet and musty. Gross.

The room keys isn't work daily for mre than half our wedding party. The trek to the front office is LONG. Try doing that 2 times after a long day in the sun.

There are vampire bat moths in the hallways flying everywhere.

You get ripped off and hounded with their water taxi rides. Cant even swim in the water because there's such a sting undertow.

Agree with all the hospitality comments. This service wouldn't fly in the US.

All inclusive means free booze right?! It's hard to get drunk when half your drink is water. I was literally handed a glass of white wine for dinner that was half water. Four other people tried it. Beer is flat. Tequila shots are flat. Fruity drinks are just that. Lots of fruit.

Unless you are a college student looking to get the best 'deal' on a Cabo experience, sty away. Pay extra and go to Sandals or higher end resort. Wouldn't wish this experience on my worst enemy. Ok maybe I would.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Took my brother and our wives to Cabo for a long weekend for his 40th birthday. Picked the Riu for other reviews. Arrived and property was very nice, check-in was easy and met with a drink.

Got to our rooms and were put in rooms that we did not reserve. Had two double beds instead of kings. Requested a change and was told it couldn't be until the next day. We would need to be packed by 11:00am and out of our rooms and couldn't get in our new rooms until 3:00pm. Not ok and not accomodating. How about "Stay in your rooms tomorrow until the new rooms are ready and we will assist in moving you guys at your convenience."

Got into our new room and they put my wife and I in a room that had heavy smoke smell. They told us we couldn't get into another room until later that night. Moved our stuff to my brothers room until we got back from dinner. Got into the new room and it had no hot water or AC. Not a great experience. They got the hot water working the next day but AC never fixed.

This place could be so much more but it is not worth it. Rooms are in bad repair and front desk staff needs to spend some time at hospitalty training. Probably a great spring break place if you are in college but not for an nice adult long weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This review comes a little late, we stayed in May of 2011. However, I felt compelled to write a review based on how wonderful this hotel was. The staff immediately helped us with our bags and gave us mai-tai's when walking into the lobby, everyone spoke perfect english and was more than happy to accommodate. Two of the several scheduled dinner restaurants that we ate at were absolutely amazing, and even the all day buffet's were packed with delicious local and foreign foods. Swim up bars and constant employees offering drinks by the pool made sure that we were never left empty-handed, and the daily activities kept us busy. Clean rooms with a packed mini bar and comfy bed was a huge bonus as well! Would definitely recommend for a couple on a budget, yet still looking for an awesome get-away.

Room Tip: Ocean view was definitely worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

my hubby and i went to the riu palace for our honeymoon we travelled from sept 28/2012 to oct 5, minus the horrid flights getting us into cabo and the delays after being in the usa prior, we finally made it a day later. Check in was quick and easy, the front desk staff speak excellent english and were very helpful. if you are able to carry your own bags to your room when checking in do so, otherwise be prepared to leave a tip (common courtesy).

rooms: dated, nothing fancy, but always kept clean. i was shocked to see that the riu palace wasnt up to date with the flat screen tv's, but not a big deal, we very rarely watched tv anyways, i just always thought they gave a nice feel to the rooms, more modern. the maids were great, they would check on you even later in the day sometimes if you are at your room and offer you fresh towels. please tip them, they work hard cleaning in that humidity.

pools: we stuck by the quiet pool, it was so nice, water was lovely, and the pool was huge so you never feel over crowded. our pool bar tender was AMAZING, julio is his name, he is the gentleman who runs with the tray full of drinks , because he doesnt want his guests going thirsty, his service was unbelievable, we left him $50 american on our last day as a thank you. there is also a party pool same size as the quiet pool, where the entertainers are during the day, we never went here, as well there is a pool with a swim up bar, but i really didnt want to swim in peoples urine all day long. its funny the people who sat in that pool were in their from 10 am until 4 pm maybe getting out for lunch...(thats it) lol. thank god for the infinity pools, all their pools are infinity, which gives you that serene view of the pacific ocean, its truly beautiful laying in the pool watching the cruise ships come in to port.

food: delicious, and great selection, i would recommend the buffet, there is nothing that the a la cartes serve that you cant get in the buffet, the only difference is that its served. the staff in the buffet are so very friendly as well. try their salsa, authentic mexican salsa, nothing better!!

overall our stay was very enjoyable and relazing, the resort was fairly quiet, we went slightly on off season, but most of the travellers in cabo end up at rhe Riu Santa Fe which is right next door, as their prices are a bit lower than the palace. The shows in the evening are amazing, so entertaining, and a few of the entertainers are canadian, american, european, which was also nice to see some of our own culture incorporated in. the weather in cabo was PERFECT. i dont think we saw a cloud in the sky all week.

our only downfall of being in cabo was not being able to swim in the ocean and unfortunetly that is a deal breaker since pools are available at home anytime. some people were swimming with the lifeguards with them, but after hearing all the horror stories of people dying, we werent taking any chances.

if we could recomend an exursion it would be the ATV exursion through the desert, it was an EXPERIENCE of a lifetime, 4-wheeling through the dessort and down the coast, amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas B.C.S. - Baja California Sur, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.