We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Palace, Cabo San Lucas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Bedminster, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“RIU Palace, Cabo San Lucas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Riu Resort. If you like large scale resort properties that are all inclusive & not crazy like college spring break- this place is for you. With lots of poolside & water activities offered during the day & live off-broadway like performances at night, there is never a shortage of things to do. The all inclusive food & drink is very generously offered throughout the entire stay- 24 hrs a day. There is no shortage of beverages around the pool. You are never left waiting- the servers are very attentive. There are several restaurants to select from, including Japanese, Italian, Steakhouse & International Buffet. The staff was extremely warm & gracious. Many of the staff perform various roles at different times of the day. A lifeguard during the day might also double as one of the star performers by night. Several staff members really made the trip an exceptional experience- including: Danielle, El Gato, Isaac, Angel & Iveth. Thanks guys!
Be sure to visit the concierge to book other activities & mini day trips. We look forward to returning to Riu Palace, Cabo San Lucas again!

Room Tip: Beachfront views are always a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,857
    1,440
    499
    348
    253
See reviews for
688
1,951
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place is a SCAM.. you book a room with Ocean View and to them, all rooms are "Ocean View!" So I complained to staff but they said all their rooms were booked... I had to wait the next day to actually get the room we were "supposed" to have. You also need to call house keeping to get your room cleaned bc they dont clean them automatically. They don't allow for late check out even though they don't need the rooms right away bc I checked out and just stayed in the room until I needed to leave... The pool closes at 7PM, and u only get 1 towel card and if you lose it you get charged! Internet is only 1 hour use in the lobby making it inconvenient! The food also sucks! The club on site is dead. Jet Skiing people there try to rip you off! Also a 45 minute cab ride @ $80USD from the airport. Be AWARE!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at this resort about a year ago and everything was excellet so I'm going back to get married on the beach. The service was top notch. Pools were wonderful and it has a great view of the ocean from just about everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the RIU Palace for a week in July for our 5 year anniversary. This is our 3rd RIU and it was just as wonderful as the other 2. We loved the view from our ocean front room of the Arch. Service is always wonderful. People are always happy to help you. You don't have to tip, but it does go along way with just a few dollars here and there. There are 2 big pools and 2 bar pools. All of them have infinity edges with views of the ocean. The only thing that would make the pool experience better would be closer bathrooms. We walked the beach to town one morning-about 45min-1hr both ways. Restraunts need reservations-which you can make a couple days in advance. We ate at the buffet most nights because they always have a rotating theme and you don't have to keep track of what time it is to make it to the reservation. We went with a few other travelers that we met to El Squid Row. If you are looking for a fun dance club experience, this is a good place to go. When we come back to Cabo, this is definately where we will stay, but for now there are many more places and RIU resorts to see.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4088 which was an ocean front room right up the stairs from the lobby. Typically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have stayed ay many RIU properties and this one is the best of them all. The setting is outstanding, the resort itself is just beautiful, the landscaping is incredible. Food and food choices are much better here as compared to many of the basic RIU's, and the service was terrific. If you're willing to spring for a little bit more to stay at a RIU Palace over a RIU, do it!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and get the junior suite. Its a nice little upgrade that doesn't cost a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort during the week of July 4th. Check in was a breeze and staff was friendly. The overview of open restaurants, services and facilties was a little rushed. The bellboy provided a lot of additional details and recommendations. The room was comfortable, clean but a little small for a suite with an ocean,, partially blocked by palm trees. Everyone works hard and 99% of the wait staff are service oriented and very frendly. Even the gardeners say hello to you. The food in Medano (main buffett rest.) and the Japanese restaurants were best. The food in the Mexican restaurant was very good. All A La Carte restaurant food was prepared to order. We encountered one problem, our neighbors were very noisy at night. Spoke with reception and they took the complaint very seriously. The manager Karin was great and followed up to our satisfaction. This is one of the closest resorts to the marina area. Cabs intoto town were $10 each way and a 10 - 12 minute drive. The pools were great and bar staff exceptional. Great views of lands end and the marina around the property. Drinks are not watered down. Mini bar is frequently re-stocked. Received extra towels without issue, but keep in mind that they are standard resort towels and a bit on the rough side. The gym faces the ocean and is well equipped. Not sufficient size and equip if the resort were busy. Will return and make sure to reserve a larger suite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I got back July 16th and have to say I really enjoyed this hotel and the vacation overall was great. The check-in process was quick I booked everything through expedia so they had all our information on hand and gave us a room within 15 minutes also gave us a drink while we waited the check-out process was quick as well.The staff was courteous, granted we had some experiences with one or two members that weren't but I wouldn't judge them as a whole based on the few.

-For those who are concerned about their belongings being stolen, we didn't have any issues we just took precaution and used the safe to lockup valuables.
-The liquor in the room is good quality liquor and had a great view of the pool and beach. It's a big place so walking around sometimes can get confusing the lobby is on the 3rd floor when taking the elevator a little awkward.
-The pools are nice one being designated as quiet while the other is more for games and partiers which is great for those who want to separate themselves.
-The beach sand is horrible and rocky so no romantic walk on the beach bad idea unless you wear water shoes. Also, it is not swimmable by any means the waves are crazy, however all the way over the other side by the marina is the native beach where you can swim.
-In terms of location, it's not far from downtown about a 10 min or less taxi ride and a 20 min bus ride cabs are about $12 USD and the bus is about .90 cents USD. Be careful taking the bus and pay close attention the buses stop pretty much all over so you have to read the glass of written locations to get the right one not all go to the same area. Leaving from the hotel you take the bus going to "Centro" and coming back you take the bus going to "RIU" which you can catch on the main avenue a block away from the Mall.
-The food is great with a good variety about four restaurants to choose from not including the buffet sections. Be sure to try and make reservations for restaurants early because they get booked fast.
-Currency they take US dollars you can also use pesos. The highest exchange rates will be at the bank the lowest were at the airport, the hotel exchange rate was fair. Hotels do not exchange USD for pesos so either use AMEX travelers checks or use the ATM for pesos.
-The lobby has wifi access so if you bring any electronics you shouldn't have a problem getting on.
-The spa services were good they were courteous and accommodating surprised it's not bigger though considering the size of the hotel. The gym is located in the same place it's small but functional and has a great view of the beach.
-Recommendations for those looking to drink and dance Squid Roe is alot of fun, Baja Junkie next door wasn't bad either, Cabo Wabo is a rocker type place drinks are ok same price as US drinks so not as cheap as you think. The downtown area was pretty safe lots of surveillance everywhere.
-The plus or minus, however you take it, is the Hotel Santa Fe is just in front and we found out by walking around and looking at passerby's that it's quiet easy to go into either hotel. The Santa Fe is huge more of a party hotel, younger crowds, the Palace is more an adult crowd and families.

Overall the Hotel was great with friendly and informative staff.

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for the rooms on the side of the quiet pool. Those are the middle numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.