We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and I recently spent 8 days at the Riu Palace. We paid for and got an ocean front ground floor junior suite right near the door. Lovely view, convenient, clean and well kept. The mini-bar was a joke, as it was so high only a 6 footer could use it without standing on tip toes.The ice machine on the floor was out of order, but room service was good about bringing ice. We enjoyed the buffet, the massages, the various shows, the Japanese restaurant, the pools and the ambience. About the 4th day the elevator serving the ground floor was put out of order "for maintenance" and never worked again. Since we are senior citizens, we were not happy about having to walk up stairs to the restaurants. Other people in that wing had to walk down to get to the beach. If this was indeed planned maintenance, since the hotel was only about half full perhaps they should not have placed people that wing. However, the front desk was very helpful and service was prompt and friendly. The beach is generally too rough to use but the large pools are great as are the swim up bars. The clientele was generally more mature than that at the Riu Sana Fe next door, where there seemed to be a lot of younger rowdier clients. So for us the Palace was the better choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,855
    1,439
    499
    348
    253
See reviews for
688
1,949
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I just love this resort everything was perfect! We will return for our fourth time at the palace! The best thing about this trip this time was getting to play Diamonte!:)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We read all the comments about this hotel prior to staying at the hotel, so we had some concerns before arriving. First impressions count and the concerns expressed in the poor reviews seemed founded when we first arrived. There were about ten (yes, ten) employees at the front desk when we arrived helping about two parties. We were ignored the first ten minutes while we stood there and we instantly started having regrets. Once we finally got checked in and got to the room, we were pleased with the room. We had a nice view of the pool and, beyond that, the ocean.

We did not have too much trouble booking the four specialty restaurants, but we stayed at the hotel during low season (September 2011). During high season, I would imagine it is quite a bit harder to book the specialty restaurants (as indicated in other reviews). We enjoyed the food at the specialty restaurants and mostly at the buffets too. We did notice that the food at the buffets became kind of old after the first couple hours and the staff did not keep everything fresh on the buffet line. The food and the service at the specialty restaurants were very good and very enjoyable. We enjoyed each night out at the restaurants.

The doors to the room are a bit thin, so you could hear other guests and hotel staff. Most annoying was the hotel staff wheeling carts down the tile hallway in the morning when we were trying to sleep, but this was overall a minor annoyance.

Those are the worst things, though. Overall, the service at the hotel was very, very good. The employees were friendly and helpful, with only a couple of exceptions (but that can be expected at any hotel that employees hundreds of persons). We really enjoyed the grounds and the pool -- they are beautiful. The staff at the pool was great and they were all very attentive.

One downside is the location: it's a $12 cab ride downtown, but we knew that before we went. Instead of a taxi cab, you can also take a water taxi downtown. It is not quite as convenient, but it's cheaper and a nice way to go downtown. We did not have any trouble with theft as noted in other reviews, but we are always very careful with our belongings and made sure to use the room safe.

The hotel provides entertainment in the form of "shows" at night -- lyp syncing and dancing. We really enjoyed the shows and they were a nice way to spend the evening. The entertainment staff persons are very good and very nice.

We really enjoyed our stay and we were sad to leave. We would definitely return to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown,Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Have always enjoyed the RIU's, first time in Los Cabos (RIU Palace). Amazing resort, I have nothing bad to say about the entire week!!! The staff, the rooms, the food....everything that could be done for you...was!!! We were there with good friends celebrating their 25th wedding anniversary and it will definitely be a memorable week for many reasons. We were there from Sept.16-23.......weather was incredibly hot/sunny....the pools were clean, the drinks plentiful...so enjoyed and I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

When I booked this hotel I was quoted one price. The price later went down by 300USD but they still charged me the higher price. It has been very difficult to get reimbursed even though they have acknowledged the error.

Hints: If you book this hotel get the quote directly from the hotel in pesos.
Book transportation through hotel-$9 per person return ($80 taxi ride)

Most of the staff were friendly and helpful except for the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Perfect place for a Honeymoon in Cabo! We went the second week of September and the place was almost all ours. Service was awesome and the food was spectacular! Service was so good that I don't think I saw the bottom of my glass the entire trip. They have 4 sit down reservation type dinner places that were all fantastic. We were impressed by the quality and presentation of the food. We highly recommend both the Japanese and Kristal restaurants. We were skeptical about the beds after reading other peoples posts, but we found them to be quite comfortable. The entertainment was really good too even though it was off season. There was a Michael Jackson show and the guy who was the lead did an excellent job. We also did do a few excursions through one of the travel agent people in the lobby of the hotel. The prices were reasonable and we were very happy with the service we got. We did both the "wine and Jazz" sunset cruise which was on a catamaran sailboat and included beverages, it was about 3 hours and cost $50pp but was very enjoyable. Great way to see the arch too. We also did a snorkel trip to lovers beach which was awesome. Our guide was very friendly and did many skin dives to the bottom to bring up things for us to see and touch like too little puffer fish! Cabo Wabo was great too but be weary of the Ice they put in your drinks... we both got pretty ill within a few hours of visiting and the only thing we could trace it back to was that as we had a very normal meal long before coming out and both felt fine. Highly recommend the RIU though! A+ in our book

Room Tip: Ocean view is DEFINITELY worth it! Spectacular views of the rocks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Food quality and selecion was far below average. Breakfast was the only decent meal. Many bees around outdoor bars. We paid for an ocean front room. Room was decent...if you don't want to sleep while you are there. Between the bass pounding disco below us and the other guests slamming doors, and partying in the corridors, sleep was at a minimum. I would liken the linens to sleeping on sand paper. Outdated and minimal fitness equipment. No swimming from the hotel beach...and be prepared to be swarmed by "beach vendors" the second your toes touch the sand. They do offer premium alcoholic beverages, however they must be watered down or have a lower alcohol content. Service was generally courteous and friendly. Really nothing to go back for. We ate meals in town as oppposed to suffering throught the inedible dinners. Far too expensive for what you receive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas

Address: Av. Camino Viejo a San Jose | Del Cabo KM 4.5 El Medano Ejidal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas 4*
Number of rooms: 642
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas. 5-storey building. On the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers on the beach. 32,000 m2 garden. 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas. 40 km/25 miles from the airport. 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Riu Palace Los Cabos
Riu Cabo San Lucas
Riu Los Cabos
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.