We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club - Our home away from home in Cabo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club to your Saves list
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
La Quinta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club - Our home away from home in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our 2nd year at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club in the month of July and we just love the resort & amenities. We own a one week New Penthouse Suite. Delfines Pool (Swim-Up Pool Bar) was closed for the first few days - We did enjoy the Pool several days however it was quieter than last year. Kids Pool (near our room) closed a few days after our arrival as work was being done on the Tower of the Pool (Workers were good about starting after 9am). Girasoles Mexican is amazing - Breakfast & Dinner is Great !! Don't miss the Mexican Coffee "Show" - It is a must !! Great Churro dessert as well. Food & Service is Great !! Bell Staff are great !! especially Reuben, Oswaldo & Fernando !! We are looking forward to 2015 !! and many more years to come !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear James B:
Thank you so much for your kind words “Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club Our Home away from home in Cabo". We are happy to hear that you had a great stay.
Thank you for the special mention for Ruben, Osvaldo & Fernando! Many reviewers in the past have noted that our team seems genuinely happy to serve, and that is the absolute truth. They are here to make each guest's day, every day.

If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    196
    44
    25
    9
See reviews for
258
285
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our stay started off great - we arrived late, and the lobby was closed; however, the Sheraton lobby remains open all hours, and they checked us in. Upon realizing we didn't have linens for the sofa bed, we called, and within minutes the bell staff arrived with nice (if basic) linens. The room was a bit small for 6 people, but adequate, and all facilities were in good working order. We had a 2nd floor overlooking the grounds, which were kept in excellent shape.

The resort is right on the beach, which is not usually swimmable, but very pretty. The pools were very refreshing and varied, close to all restaurants and bars. Staff very helpful all around the resort. Restaurants were excellent, although a bit pricey. Tomatoes and Girasoles overlook the Sea of Cortez - amazing!

The fitness center is in really nice shape and offers a good variety of equipment.

Only negatives - activities, if any, are NOT advertised, so we didn't know if there even were any. And also the internet was not free, which is a bit cheap. But overall, we had an excellent stay. Location great - 5 miles from Cabo San Lucas and 15 miles from San Jose del Cabo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear drotravel:
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just spent our second year there at our timeshare and love it as much as last year. Look forward to many more years there as the staff at the timeshare are great. Would highly recommend it to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear maddpottb:
Wow, what a great review! Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.
It is a true delight for Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, to be defined as " Great place for family"
Our team enjoyed reading your great comments and hearing that you enjoyed excellent service by all.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon at home away from home!!!

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Hacienda del Mar vacation club through trading with RCI.
Airport: AVOID the timeshare people at all cost. We could not find the exit/taxi line and got scammed by a guy convincing us that he could get us a taxi and for $40 more all these excursions. We were drained from our flight and this guy wasted our time. Just keep looking for exits/outside to get a taxi.
We had the taxi stop at Mega mart-- big grocery store to get food and case of water. This was a life saver. just had to tip him extra. The food at the resort is semi expensive so it was nice to make our own bacon & eggs for breakfast, and eat out for other meals.
Resort: Beautifully landscape. Front desk is helpful and nice. Everyone speaks English. We were put into a basic junior suite.. thankfully it had an ocean view-- that was a nice benefit. 2 twin beds (even though we were on our honeymoon) but i don't think they offer a king bed in the smaller suites. The A/c was mediocre at best. Stayed at 72 all week despite asking them to check it multiple times.
Pools- amazing and clean. Never had to fight for a chair. We were really disappointed that the swim up bar pool was closed. They said it wasn't open until July-- probably because it was off season.
Timeshare Preso: We did end up sitting through a timeshare presentation in order to get $350 towards spa & restaurants, cash for taxi and a few other perks. The breakfast at the timeshare presentation was DELICIOUS. They weren't THAT pushy. As long as you know you're not buying one-- just keep saying no, and get up to leave after the 90 minutes. For us- it was worth it for the breakfast and the $350 credit- we both got massages and had a dinner or 2 paid for.
Our room was right next to the Girasoles restaurants in building 11. Excellent food there. We were glad it was so close! Only complaint was on a Saturday night- it was a little noisy in the hallway from the staff cleaning up.
Food: Girasoles was the best Mexican food by far. Great breakfast as well. Definitely look at the happy hour schedule and follow that along.

Other tips: Take the hotel shuttle ($10 roundtrip) down to "The Office" restaurant. Best fish tacos I've ever had. The office also has a water taxi that will take you to Lovers Beach for $5-$10 if you are eating there. Much cheaper than the water taxi by the excursion people. We would eat lunch at The Office, take water taxi to Lovers beach, go swimming and hang out there for a few hours, then go back to the Office for happy hour margaritas. It was the favorite part of our trip.

overall great stay. I wouldn't buy a timeshare there (too far from Boston, and you can't swim in the ocean at the resort.. too rough), but would certainly go back again. June is apparently off season- the resort felt very quiet. We were a little disappointed the bars and restaurants were so empty {we wanted to talk to new people!)

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view. Building 11 is the same building as the great restaurant Girasoles and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Megan L.
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.
All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused, in order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This place is well cared for, beautifully landscaped, and well situated half way between Cabo and San Jose del Cabo. The resort staff are all friendly and they speak English very well. The rooms are comfortable, they include big beds, full bath including a tub and shower, a kitchen, living and dining room. The pools were wonderful, there are 3 heated pools in front and one by the golf course. We had no trouble finding a lounge chair, and really enjoyed just hanging out in the pool seats to beat the heat. Definitely enjoyed the Mexican bingo in the afternoon - free drinks are the prizes. The only negative is the overall cost of eating at the restaurants, or getting a drink, it can be expensive. We purchased groceries and fixed most of our meals in the room to offset the cost. There is a little store on property for some necessities, but you can take a taxi (about $18 one way) into town and get groceries at Walmart for a better value. The beach is beautiful, but not swim-able most of the time. My husband and I are both excellent swimmers, and I had trouble getting out of the water, the lifeguard had to help me. There is a shuttle from he hotel that takes you into Cabo for $20 pp/round trip. Would definitely go back, one of the nicest places we have stayed. Taking the public bus is not an option here because the walk to the road is a mile away. Car rental is available at the hotel for about $60 a day. Chileno and Santa Maria Beaches are about 7-10 min. away by car and both have excellent swimming and snorkeling. Santa Maria is down a dirt road, and less crowded, Chileno has shade and bathrooms. The time share presentation is supposedly 90 min., but you have to hold them to it. The rewards are a free breakfast (with the presentation) two $50 free meal tickets, and discounts on activities, as well as tickets to the Tuesday drinks and appetizers party. Our favorite restaurant on the property is Tomatoes, really good food. Sunrises are beautiful - get up early and enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable, but if you are a light sleeper... Check out the A/C right away, some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a wonderful review “Oasis in the desert”. Our team enjoyed reading your great comments and hearing that you enjoyed excellent service by all.
All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused.
We are always happy to know that our staff is providing exceptional service and we'll be sure to pass along your wonderful comments.
Come back soon! We'll be glad to welcome you back again any time!
Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

very nice beach great views near town half way between san Jose del Cabo and Cabo san Lucas
very nice pools and great dining rooms well appointed with great bathrooms, several have hot tubs on patios 1, 2 3 bedrooms avail

Room Tip: find a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear jws1946:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.
Our team enjoyed reading your great comments and hearing that you enjoyed excellent service by all.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have owned at this resort for 14 years and love love love going back every year...especially Garisolls Restaurant for breakfast...THE BREAKFAST CREW IS THE BEST...wonderful pools remote and quiet yet close enough to Cabo San Lucas to raise a little and close enough to San Jose Del Cabo for the old world charm

Room Tip: lower number units are older and closer to the ocean higher number units are newer and have wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear DACO565:
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a wonderful review “14 year owner not even considering a change" Our team enjoyed reading your great comments and hearing that you enjoyed excellent service by all.
Once again, Thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,514 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.