We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE-A-U-TI-FUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Save Saved
You added Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico SJC CSL Km 10 | Lote D, Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BE-A-U-TI-FUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I can NOT wait to go back there! This was my favorite place in all of Cabo! It is a pretty big resort, so be prepared to walk to a bit (or get a room close to where you want to spend most of your time) and it is pricey. If you don't want to pay resort prices for drinks and food, rent a car and head to Walmart (only a few minutes up the road) and buy what you want and make it in your room! We did a little of both - made our own food, but also ate out a couple of nights! LOVED IT HERE!

Room Tip: We took a tour and saw every single different room they had. I can't say one was better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
I would like to personally thank you for your comments ,it is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
We look forward to pampering you on your next getaway to your “home away from home”
Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    155
    31
    22
    8
See reviews for
167
234
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed here for two nights after needing to be moved from the hotel due to a convention. see my hotel review for that headache. so thus is the time share which is far from everything. we needed to call the golf cart to take us anywhere, pool, beach, anywhere to eat. it was a problem and my mom has a bad hip so even worse. the place was a three bedroom suite with an ocean view. well let me tell u this places idea of an ocean view is u can see ocean, in the distance or between the trees or over the buildings. there is NO ocean view rooms in on the property. my parents booked this place a year in advance for their 50th wedding anniversary and it was nothing but a headach for my dad from needing to switch rooms to being told he would have an ovean view. just to let you know the hotel said that they over booked and were going to move us to the westen for these two nights. we have stayed at the westen before and should have moved to the westen. they have wonderful ocean views. we only ate on the property and the tomatoes was the best. yes it is expensive but we planned for that. stay somewhere else unless you like to have problems and need to argue on vacation with the managment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear andrea c:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We apologize for the negative feeling you experienced during your stay.

We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Being our first time here we didn't know what to expect but were constantly reminded that we had "no worries". That is what you come to a resort for and that is what we got. Everyone including the staff at the restaurants was fiendly and looking after our needs. I look back on the on the trip and realize that the interactions with the staff were one of the really good memories I took away from there.
Of course everything else was great too. The grounds were kept clean and plants trimmed. There were always gardners working in the morning and housekeepers available and aslking if you needed anything.
We spent a lot of time in nearby Cabo San Lucas but also had our share of meals and drinks at Girasoles at the resort. It was within our budget and the food was great. If you frightened by birds I wouldn't recommend it because small birds were constantly doing fly-bys. Personally I liked it.
The beds were very comfortable but I had some difficulty adjusting to the air conditioning coming on suddenly and loudly at night. Another quirky thing was how loud the toilet was when flushed. It became a joke as whoever flush it would cover there ears immediately. But all-in-all it was a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Bill G:
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club!!!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel grounds & exceptional service during your visit!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As usual we had a great time at Hacienda del mar. We went there for the first time 9 yrs ago on my wife's incentive trip. The company left after their 5 day trip was over, but we stayed for an extra 2 days. While there those 2 extra days we bought time share. The first four yrs back we upgraded and now we are in a presidential suite. We just got back lastnite, this trip was a family trip. We have not exchanged our time share to go anywhere else in the 9 yrs. We love it there. The staff is the best in Cabo. Just to mention a few, there is Liz (in the lobby of the vacation club), Deisy,Ana and Francisco in Gerisoles restaurant. The bell boys at the vacation club Angel, Rueben, Daniel & the rest of the crew go out of their way for guests. Then we have Guerellmo Ventura (pool concierge) who undoubtably will make you feel like you are sitting by your own pools at home. G. Ventura will make reservations for his guests to restaurants, spa, golf, etc. He will make recommendations to places to see around Cabo whether it is by boat, taxi or just by walking around OUR beautiful resort, Hacienda del mar. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a beautiful vacation in Cabo with that real Mexican feel.

Room Tip: Book it early....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear MichaelCola:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide. They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!

Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We just returned from a week at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club ad had a wonderful stay there. We were there with our daughter, her husband, their two young children and were very comfortable in a 3 bedroom 4 bathroom unit in Building 16 which overlooked the children's pool.
The unit was bright and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Daily maid service for
$4 per day was nice. It was a full kitchen. The first day we made the 10 minute taxi ride to Walmart to stock up for the week. Costco is just a couple minutes from Walmart. There are about half a dozen other pools. We particularly liked the Dolphin pool. The Vacation Club shares the beautifully landscaped grounds with the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. The beach is beautiful and expansive. Check out the tide pools and the crab colony on the rocks toward the west end of the beach. Two gorgeous Cabo del Sol golf courses right there. The food at the restaurants was very good but a little pricey. The breakfast buffet at Tomatoes was very good.
Fajitas dinner at Girasoles was great. Fish tacos at Tortuga on the beach were excellent. The blackened snapper at Pitahayas was fabulous. The highlight meal though was a short shuttle drive away at the Cabo del Sol golf course clubhouse where we had Father's Day brunch. Wow! We've eaten a lot of brunches but nothing compares to this one. Pricey but worth it. Hacienda del Mar is between Cabo San Lucas (10 minute drive) and San Jose del Cabo (15 minute drive). It is very peaceful and quiet.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with young children, the units in Buildings 16, 17 & 18 are around the chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear steve5235:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Beautiful Hacienda del Mar" is true high praise and very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

Best Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey shore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We are owners at HDM but have not been here every year. Last visit was 2011. We came by ourselves to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in one of the older smaller buildings (Building 6) which we liked very much, since it was an easy walk to the pools and beach. Our spot was the pool closest to Pitahayas Restaurant. The young ladies who run the activities there are a huge asset to the resort! In fact, all the staff from the Concierge at Vacation Club, Front Desk at Vacation Club, bartenders, waiters at all the restaurants were great! Some of the staff have been there since 2006, when we first started coming to HDM. We had dinner at Pitahayas, Girasoles and DeCortez, never leaving the property at night. All our meals were delicious. We had perfect weather and a truly relaxing vacation. It has become one of our favorites.

The one and only complaint we had was with the timeshare staff. This is the first time we attended a timeshare meeting since we bought our unit in 2006. We were told we would be updated on the new property planned. So, we sacrificed one morning at the pool and went to the meeting. We were brought on a tour of the new buildings in the rear of the property and were told of the new property being planned in another location. We were honest with the man and told him that we were not interested in adding to our portfolio, but he continued to give us the sales pitch. He then brought over another gentlemen who became very pushy. It was at that point that we decided to leave. So much for the information session. This was a pushy sales pitch to get us to buy more. Don't fall for it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear jerseyshoregolfer:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Back Again To Paradise” is true high praise and very much appreciated.
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide. They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!
Regarding the timeshare staff I sent your comment to our Sales Director concerning this subject, please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We apologize for the negative feeling you experienced.
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first visit to Cabo San Lucas and I am happy as well as I picked Hacienda Del Mar as my residence for a week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. We were treated with the utmost respect and hospitality. When we were asked why we chose Hacienda Del Mar, I replied that it was because of the reviews that I read on Trip Advisor prior to booking the vacation. I also want to add that I booked this on behalf of the 3 other women that I traveled with, not knowing their preferences! We have all decided to make it a girl's trip every other year to this resort. I cannot honestly complain about anything at the resort! Had bad experiences in town and with the rental car agency, but that is separate from the resort and thankfully did not put a damper on the total trip! I highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a piece of paradise to visit!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view when you are booking a room. Also, just to let you know that the resort and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Bandit615:
Wow, Wow, Wow!! What a wonderful review! It is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I passed along your feedback to all of our team members, they were so proud to have earned such positive comments about your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Regards

Best Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Address: Corredor Turistico SJC CSL Km 10 | Lote D, Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.