We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Gail!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Save Saved
You added Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico SJC CSL Km 10 | Lote D, Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware of Gail!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just spend a week enjoying the resort with 17 of our closest friends and family. The spa and the food were outstanding. The rooms were spacious, although our builiding was in need of renovation which is supposed to happen in the near future. The staff from the hotel were delightful, but one of the time share staff (Gail) was hostile, disrespectrul and rude to three of our friends. I wish they had tapped her outrageous statements such as "we put the RCI trades in the dregs of the hotel". There were more.
Inexcusible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    155
    31
    22
    8
See reviews for
167
234
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Good location, away from the chaos of cabo but close enough to be there in 10 mins. Don't plan on swimming in the ocean, crazy surf. Didn't eat at any restaurants, nice pools and enough of them. Real Spanish feel, partnered with jack Nicklaus golf course which has amazing views on the ocean course. Would stay again if in cabo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 212armen:
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time.
Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just returned from a week at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. The food, service and drinks were awesome. I've been going there for 6 years, and this was the best week so far. The food at the all the restaurants, albeit a bit expensive, has improved considerably. We didn't have a bad meal the entire week. The one issue came when TransCabo (the taxi company) did not have our reservation, made by the hotel, upon arrival. However, they quickly responded with a private shuttle within a few minutes. Heather, from the resort sales staff, was knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with even when we declined the upgrade offer. Everyone on the staff always had a smile on their faces and went above and beyond for guests. All in all, an excellent week.

Room Tip: Book reservation as early as possible to get the desired building and/or view .
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear funincabo_13:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Wonderful vacation at Hacienda del Mar" is true high praise and very much appreciated.
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide.
They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Oaks, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friends of ours recommended this beautiful resort to us a few years ago and we have stayed there four times with them. My wife and I have traveled to many places over the last 35 years and we both feel that this resort is the most beautiful we have ever stayed at. The main building is what I would call "Old Mexican" style and it is very striking. Colorful ceramic tile and fountains are everywhere. The grounds are covered with so many beautiful plants, trees and flowers everywhere you turn. They must have a huge staff to keep everything so perfectly manicured. The infinity pools are awesome and the beach is great. As with other resorts along the "corridor", the water can be pretty rough but it is spectacular! In March we can usually spot whales even very close to shore. The restaurants are very good with Pitahaya's and Giresoles being our favorites. Giresoles is open air (as most of the resaurants are, on top of a 4 story building. We love eating breakfast there taking in the beautiful view. We did the timeshare thing which was a bit longer than they said it would be but we did not feel pressured in any way. We had a nice breakfast before touring some really beautiful models. At the end, we got a certificate for $100.00 towards dinner at the restaurant of our choice. Not all bad. The staff was pleasant and very helpful at all times. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Chip B:
Wow!! What a wonderful review! Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation is true high praise and very much appreciated
I passed along your feedback to all of our team members, they were so proud to have earned such positive comments about your stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on Trip Advisor.

Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from an extremely restful week where we had no reason to leave the resort / hotel / vacation home destination whatsoever. They did try twice to get us to listen to their sales presentation but we begged off since we are owners and have no interest in buying more locations or points.

We felt that the service overall was superb...everyone was friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. They had a wonderful spirit about them so I commend management for their training programs as well as to the individuals who truly seem to enjoy what they do.

I had to do some work that week and took the wrong power cord for my laptop. Federico at the concierge desk came up with one for me. It was a blessing. By the way, wireless hot spots all over the place but I did struggle with connections a few times near the pools.

The grounds were well kept, clean of debris at all times and the lush landscaping made it a tropical oasis with the flair and comfort of home as it portrayed a true hacienda feeling.

The pools were on the small size but there were many of them and since it was not peak season it really never mattered. They have a huge sand beach with many activities. The water looks great but very deceiving. Signs and flags are up to make you aware of the severe undertow and rocks that are very close to the shore. Housekeeping came daily and that was wonderful. The amenities in the room were good and the appliances, electrical equipment and furnishings were excellent. A DVD player would have been nice but I had my laptop to fill the bill. My only negative remark here...pillows were hard so I did not use them.

The food was excellent, especially at Pitahayas. We had dinner there 3 nights including the last 2. Every dish was superb and the service was, as well. We highly recommend Alberto and hope that you will ask for him to serve you. Pool side service was very good and they offer a good selection of items. Girasoles is more traditional Mexican and the breakfasts were great...Tomatoes was very good and offered a lighter menu...their catch-of-the-day was as fresh as can be.The only so-so meal was at the steak house the very first night...it was tasty and a nice steak but not what we are used to at steak houses in Houston. All in all, they get an A.

A week here was perfect. We rested, we had a wonderful, romantic and peaceful time. Congrats to the staff and to Sheraton for putting a little bit of heaven in Cabo.

Room Tip: We were in building 13. All buildings have elevators so get to the 3rd or 4th floors when you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear William D:
I would like to personally thank you for your comments ,it is a pleasure to hear we achieved our goal of providing the ultimate service and guest experience.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!

We look forward to pampering you on your next getaway to your “home away from home”

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were very forcefully asked to attend the resort sales prestentation the day following our arrival. Even though we are owners with another company we agreed to listen to their sales pitch. We were promised it would be no more than 75 minutes. After 90 minutes of listening to "deals" (they kept getting better as we refused - nothing like pointing out that they are trying to take advantage) and our 3rd or 4th refusal, we were escorted to another salesman. PACO was his name. He must be the guy that makes the best and final pitch. We told him that we had told the other salesman repeatedly that were were not interested and that we had stayed well beyond the promised time. Paco then became very belligerent, told us were were "not qualified" anyway (by the way, we are 5 professional women and MORE that qualified) and proceeded to make several other rude and disrespectful comments. We informed the staff of his behavior, and they just shrugged their shoulders. The rest of the vacation we took every opportunity to tell others at the resort about the treatment we received from the sales staff and PACO. We travel as a group at least once of year and are frequently asked for reccomendations on where to stay. You can bet we will not be reccommending this resort. It's a shame too - the grounds and pool are very pretty. However, the restaurants were just fair and there were no activities to speak of. We love Cabo, but will not be staying at this resort again.

Room Tip: Do not let them talk you into the sales presentation. If you decide against buying the salesmen are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Kerri T:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club. I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. All the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused. We apologize for the negative feeling you experienced during your stay. I sent your comment to our Sales Director concerning this subject, please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future.

We would love for you to give Hacienda del Mar another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos.

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I arrived here for a Memorial Day getaway with friends. My first thought was the grounds were impeccable - beautiful, lush landscaping. The resort buildings are gorgeous, a blend of traditional Mexican decor and modern amenities. My room had a golf course view while my friends had an ocean view, both rooms had spacious bathrooms and closet space and I found the areas to be very quiet at night.

We ate at Tomatoes restaurant and several of the snack bars on the property (Tortuga's on the beach and others like it). Shrimp quesadillas and nachos were amazing. The breakfast buffet was chock full of options - all of which were good. The drinks were delectable and well priced.

The shining star of this resort was the staff. Every person here took pride in their work, whether it was the wait staff, bell hop, maids, or groundskeepers. All of them were friendly, helpful, and lighthearted. They made this place a well oiled machine.

I would happily come here again, my stay here was relaxing and pleasurable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Flair 724:
Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation! Describing your visit as “Spacious, stunning, amazing staff" is true high praise and very much appreciated.
Thank you as well for your wonderful comments about the staff and the service that they provide. They all truly enjoy what they do and I am always so happy when their efforts are recognized by our guests. Your kind comments are being shared with all of them!
Hurry back soon, you home in Cabo awaits you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful vacation!

Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Address: Corredor Turistico SJC CSL Km 10 | Lote D, Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.