We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Save Saved
You added Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been timeshare owners here since pre-construction. In addition to the weeks we own, we often go as "guests" by renting the vacation club units by the night like a hotel stay. We just returned from a 3 night getaway in a junior suite. The AAA rate was about $225 per night. We requested a quiet room on a high floor and (thanks to Rolando), we got a great room overlooking the ocean course with a sea view. We like to spend our days at the beach, and Amado is wonderful about setting us up with lounge chairs and umbrellas. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. This time of year is really nice down there, with highs in the 80s and lows in the 60s. Whales are migrating and turtles hatching. Crowds tend to be older, many from colder climates. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time! Thank you for the special mention for Rolando & Amado! Many reviewers in the past have noted that our team seems genuinely happy to serve, and that is the absolute truth. They are here to make each guest's day, every day.
If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    157
    33
    22
    8
See reviews for
175
236
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were in a one bedroom with a partial kitchen- near the garages. The location didn't bother us as it has other reviewers - no ocean view but we were right next to a pool and our veranda on the first floor was huge. The kitchen is super small to work with- two burners that really only fit one pan at a time. The fridge is a small one about 3 feet high- big enough for milk, some drinks, and makings for a couple if meals- but not enough to keep everything for a week. But overall- very nice to have the kitchen. Another part of our family was in a three bedroom- had the washer and dryer, a huge kitchen, and a huge living room. if you can swing it- it was great.

The restaurants at the resorts are pretty pricey- even by American standards. $17 for brunch, $18-$42 for dinner entries. Poolside- $16 for a hotdog. This is to be expected- so we got groceries at Walmart to fill in and went into town some days. The service staff was lovely- the only issue we had was the information we'd get was inconsistent from one person to the next. We were told there was a weekly rate for Internet and then told there was not. We were told the hours of brunch and then got to the restaurant with only 5 minutes left for the real time. Little things- but seems silly not everyone knows. The pools are great. The beach is beautiful but on the most part too dangerous to use- we watched 2 people get rescued the one day we went down. We were lucky and got to see turtles hatch.

Free parking, only 5 minutes from Cabo San Lucas and about 10 from San Jose.

Overall, we felt the resort was great and we'd go back again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear ICamacho:
On behalf of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, I would like to personally thank you for your comments. We value all feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us.
Regarding the inconsistent information, I am sorry to hear that, we take comments of this nature very seriously as we pride ourselves on being an oasis of luxury with attentive service and genuine hospitality. We will be looking into the issue, we apologize for this situation.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.

Sincerely
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for a week here in a 3-bedroom penthouse with my husband and another couple. Can't say enough how friendly the staff was or how relaxing our stay was. Several pools and hot tubs on site with several restaurants. Loved that there was always a happy hour going on somewhere in the resort :) Only complaint is that the beds were harder than I am used to; I would wake up with back pain, something I don't usually have. The beach is private, so very clean and much less crowded than other beaches. Am looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a wonderful review “Relaxing Vacation”, we are truly delighted to hear that that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!, also I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants, pools & hot tubs.
Once again, Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments, all the comments that we hear from our dear guests, are very valuable to us, and it keeps us focused.
Best Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Love this place! Rolando always takes special care to make sure we have everything we need.
Couldn't ask for a better vacation. Rooms are clean, people are nice and we always feel safe. This is important when your traveling with just your girlfriends.
The beach is kept clean and mostly quiet. Love the activities and pool side service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Debby H:
Thank you for having taken the time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
It always thrills us to hear that our guests had an incredible experience during their stay.
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our little piece of Paradise!
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We just got home yesterday from Hacienda del Mar and just had to write my first review on TripAdvisor! We vacationed in the Cabo area for our 23rd wedding anniversary and our stay at HDM was amazing! The resort is first class along with their wonderful staff - the most lovely place we've ever stayed! Each morning we rose by 6am to watch the lovely sunrise and watch the resort come to life - a highly recommended way to start each morning! We enjoyed our room amenities & kitchen and stopped at Wal-mart on our first day. We also enjoyed the meals at HDM as well as the daily activities (unlike several reviews we did not feel eating out was pricey as we are from the Chicago area). The poolside staff was wonderful and we enjoyed happy hours too! We liked the fact it was a little out of the 'tourista' area of Cabo. We rented a car to fully enjoy the area however did take advantage of a taxi the night we went to Cabo Wobo (do NOT drink & drive!). The staff was able to arrange a taxi to pick us up within 5 minutes of asking for one! Every need was met either by the front desk staff, our personal conceirge Yolanda, the guest relations manager Claudia and even wonderful Maria who worked hard poolside! Thank you all for our making our 1st trip to Cabo a highly enjoyable time away celebrating! We can't wait to see you all again one day! (Unfortunately HDM is not our home resort and the 1 in 4 rule applies - wished we could be home resort owners!!)

Room Tip: Try to ask for an oceanview room if they have one available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear COlson67:
Thank you for taking the time to send us your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor.
It is a true delight for Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, to be defined as "ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!" I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team, who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to pamper and spoil you, this is what we at Hacienda del Mar, do best!
It was a pleasure to meet you!
See you soon in another amazing getaway to your home away from home!!!!
Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We booked this through a friend who owned and absolutely fell in love. The resort is extremely clean, very family friendly and everyone is extremely helpful! We have a ten year old, 3 year old and we are two weary 30 something parents and there was something for everyone.

Tips:
Day one go to Walmart! Saved a ton by eating all our breakfasts in the room and several lunches and kid dinners.

Sign up for the time share tour even if you could care less! Free breakfast, free kids club, free drinks, a nice tour of the grounds and then you get up to 50% off all the activities!

Bring a small cooler. Drinks get expensive so we always had kid drinks, water and snacks with us.

Eat by the pool! Lots of happy hours, look for the deals.

Use the babysitter service. We had Anna from late in the day to late at night on our "date night" and the kids loved her. We requested someone who could swim and she took our kids to the kid pool and got in the water and played with them.


The only thing I would have done different was to have gone into town for a night away from the resort living. We went to a neighbor resort which was beautiful but kind of just more of the same resort style dining.

All in all a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, I would like to personally thank you for your comments. We always enjoy hearing that our staff provided the helpful service we strive for, and it’s also exciting to hear that you were pleased with the quality of the service you received from Anna the babysitter
I have shared your wonderful feedback with our entire team who enjoy what they do on a daily basis to ensure that each guest goes home happy!
We look forward to having you back with us again soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance in planning your next getaway to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club.
Regards
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved the Hacienda del Mar. We had traded a week of our Maui timeshare so were on the Vacation Club side of the resort. I do agree with most of the reviews about the resort...eating out is a bit pricey, a bit out of Cabo.a bit older resort..but the beauty of the resort and the amazing staff made up for all of that. We had wanted a quiet relaxing week.
We did take a cab to Walmart to stock up on snacks, water and breakfast foods - next time we would rent a car for a day. We ate all our dinners on site - tried all the restaurants. They were all different and all exceptionally good. There was an issue with my husband's steak at de Cortez - when mentioned we were given a complimentary dessert and glass of wine...and alot of apologies! Our favourite restaurant was Tomatoes. Mexican theme night was great!
We did take part in the time share presentation - free breakfast why not? - had no intention of buying anything and were upfront about it. Was not an issue, we were asked to keep an open mind...ended up seeing 5 different sales people. Not aggressive, a bit persistant though.
The activity staff were awesome - so personable and friendly - loved the aquasize and Mexican bingo daily. Very impressed with Miguel - he was always around to help.
We had a Junior Suite - very comfy beds, very clean. Very glad to have a kitchen to make breakfast and snacks in the afternoon.
We plan on returning!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctrujillo, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay. We are truly delighted to hear that that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!, also I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the aqua size and Mexican Bingo!
For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you!!!
If we can be of any assistance on your next return trip to Los Cabos, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Claudia Trujillo
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club

Address: Corredor Turistico Km. 10, Lote D | Cabo Del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive beach front hotel, located in the Cabo del Sol resort community, with 273 suites. Our magnificent resort is adjacent to the world famous Jack Nicklaus designed Ocean Golf Course. The resort is composed of 20 Villas all in Mexican Hacienda style, with romantic walkways through lush green landscaped and tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Hotel
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Resort
Hacienda Del Mar Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Del Mar Vacation Club Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.