We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to the resort scene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn to your Saves list
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn
Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Cabo San Lucas B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great alternative to the resort scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros:
Beautifully decorated rooms
Very genial owners
Amazing courtyard
Excellent breakfast
Great location - 5 min walk from Cabo San Lucas main street
Good free wifi connection

Cons:
The room selt musty - like it hadn't been used or aired in a while
No off street parking
The dogs across the road are seriously noisy!
The matresses are lumpy
The shower is very weak - the shower heads need cleaning or replacing
Water not particularly hot

Room Tip: Try avoid the rooms on the street - they are pretty noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This little gem was our favorite spot on a driving tour of the southern cape from San Jose to La Paz and back. Miguel and Rosie made us feel very welcome during our two-night stay. When we arrived, Miguel showed us a couple rooms and let us choose whichever we preferred. The place was nicely decorated and super functional, simple, no frills: ceiling fan with switch by the bed, mosquito netting, hot shower. The rooms surround a small but lush courtyard garden with a fountain and breakfast nook where Rosie serves up pastries, fresh fruit salad with yogurt & granola, and coffee. Hot breakfast is available for a nominal fee. They both were patient with us conversing in Spanish, not sure if they speak English or not. From this little spot, we wandered around Cabo San Lucas, both the local scene and the tourist corridor. Highly recommended. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tofino, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night. Upon arrival the man who greeted my husband was gruff and seemed to be in a bad mood, but the woman who showed us the rooms was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very dark and smelled musty (which an attempt was made to mask the smell by being sprayed with some type of toxic chemical air freshener).

None of our windows locked or were secure. The bathroom window did not close at all, so we had many mosquitoes, cockroaches, and even a slug in our room. There were no screens on the windows. The rooms were clean enough, but it looked as though there was toothpaste left dried in the sink when we arrived.

The courtyard area was nice but this place needs updating and simple repairs.

We didn't try the breakfast so we can't comment on that. We went downtown instead and while we were having breakfast elsewhere our room had been made up (for future guests) while we were away! Before we even checked out. We thought that was very rude. The place was not full, we only saw one other room occupied while we were there. All the bedding and towels had been changed while we were out. They just moved all of our toiletries and clothes, etc aside.

We will never go back, nor recommend this hotel.





  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

From the beautiful Mexican style of the room to the wonderful and very sweet manager. The service was excellent! Delicious breakfast, and very peaceful. It is also very close to downtown which was great, we could walk anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

As an avid traveler I have seen a variety of accommodation, and this place ranks as one of my favorite because it was authentic, charming, clean, beautiful and peaceful, yet had amazing access to downtown AND the area where the locals eat (also highly recommended!). The family who run it are friendly but non-invasive. They do only speak Spanish (seriously, nada uno word of English), so try to come a little prepared (i.e. don't be a complete gringo) when you show up! Enjoy this little slice of paradise! I will absolutely return to this sweet little place Cuando yo regrese a Baja California Sur, México!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Had moved down to Cabo Pulmo from Portland Oregon to take a job helping out in a small dive resort. The place was run terribly and we had to leave them in our dust. Checked out several budget accomodations including the local hostel before miraculously running into this gem. Forget the location, (we easy walked to the strip to grab a drink) or the quaint, well equipped rooms, ( each one decorated differently and named after a famous Mexican women) , it was the hospitality from this family run inn which makes it unforgettable.

They look after you. The owner shared a rather tall glass of his tequila with me even though he couldn't drink because he was taking medicine. You're sure to have a few laughs as he jokes and you understand half of it.

In the morning the lady of the house whips up the best coffee I have ever had and fresh fruit so sweet and juicy you're likely to giggle like a school child. All while relaxing in what is best described as an open roof garden with a fountain right in the middle of the joint. The fountain makes for the perfect spot to take and post pictures to make everyone jealous back home.

If you are like me and can't stand the big box tourist thing, than this is the place for you. We had to hang around to get our visas back and checked out a lot of places. Hot showers, charming rooms, wonderful hosts, and a ten minute walk to the bars. Thank you to everyone at Norman Diegos!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is so cute. By far my favorite hotel in Mexico. The family who runs this are all so friendly and nice. The courtyard and palapa very peacefully and relaxing. The room quiet, clean, comfortable, and with great attention to detail. I'm going to be sending my family to Baja just to stay here. A great value, delicious coffee and breakfast. I would give it 5 stars all around but sometimes trip advisor will filter out the reviews. Please give this family your business at a great rate. True Mexico.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn

Address: Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn is located 3 blocks from the Marina and the center of town. All our rooms come with air conditioning, ceiling fans, DVD, 20" TVs, and American breakfast. All decorator items in each room are for sale. Enjoy our Palapa Cantina with a Mexican fountain sitting area. We have 9 rooms each differently decorated and named after Mexican woman of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman Diego's The Mexican Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.