We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from a Dream” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   KM 18.5 Carretera Transpeninsular Csl Sjc, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Hot Hot Savings!
Ranked #28 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Far from a Dream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you're reading this review, you're likely seriously considering booking a stay at Dreams. My advice to you: choose another hotel.

*Key takeaway from Dreams: food is beyond terrible, drinks are consistently bad and service is hit or miss.*

All hotel reviews are subjective, and while some people consider Dreams a 5 star experience, I'd plant it somewhere between 2-3 stars. I'll put it this way: When researching Dreams on TA, I read a review that categorized Dreams' clientele as "Ed Hardy-wearing, and think that Olive Garden is haute cuisine." Now that I've experienced it for myself, I couldn't agree more.

I'll first commend Dreams for some of its positive attributes:
- The hotel itself is dated but generally clean and cared for.
- Some staff are courteous, friendly and seemed genuinely interested in helping us.
- And at the end of the day, you're in Cabo, looking out on the Sea of Cortez - stunning! (but you'll also have this view at dozens of other, better, hotels...)

And here's what warrants my 2 star rating:
- The food is terrible. Quantity over quality seems to be their motto. Is your idea of a good lunch a plate of nachos covered in neon orange sludge? Or fish tacos that are questionably grey, with a side of soggy fries cooked in days-old oil? How about frozen pizza from Portofino, the most elegant restaurant on the property? Look no further, Dreams has you covered. Pico de gallo & guacamole were decent, so you won't starve. You'll also have access to ice cream bars at the gift shop.
- Drinks are watered down. All well liquor, all the time. Go ahead, ask for premium liquor. Something always tasted...off. Do you want a bottle of beer by the pool? Not possible, unless you bring one of the tiny glass bottles from your room. Otherwise, you'll have to settle for flat beer on tap. Where'd the carbonation go? No one knows! Without fail, every time. And the kicker - we spotted staff pouring bagged wine into wine bottles. Gross.

And lastly, service was a mixed bag. We ran into several issues during our stay - we were promised king beds but given rooms with two singles - excuse after excuse followed, but no attempt was made to correct or make up for the blunder; poolside waiters mysteriously disappeared at times; one of the restaurants didn't have enough plates and menus to accommodate our group of seven; hostesses seemed anything but gracious, etc. If you've stayed at a 4 or 5 star hotel in the states, you'll immediately be able to spot the differences...

Lesson learned: if the food and drink are awful, does it even matter that everything is all-inclusive? No. You're just counting down the minutes until you leave the hotel and head into town for a good meal.

The details are to illustrate the experience in full; the bottom line is: stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. It is a pity that you have such a bad impression of our hotel.
We will carefully review all your comments regarding your stay.

Allow me to answer the following:
We do not allow glass bottles in our pool areas for safety issues
All pizza dough used in the property is home made.
We do not use any wine in a box.

It was a pleasure for us to serve you, we hope you will consider coming back some day in the future.

Sincerely yours,


Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,009
    591
    231
    141
    113
See reviews for
453
826
16
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our stay as a family unit of 4 families - 20 people was very nice at Dreams. Food was excellent, pool was excellent. Poolside service was excellent. Room was ok, not spectacular but pretty good. The chef was very accomodating for vegetarian food. The only thing I would say is the Japanese restaraunt & Italian restaraunt desperately need more staff at dinner time. Good number of staff is there at breakfast. Overall an excellent vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and your great comments about this your hotel. We`re glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. We will review your comments regarding our restaurant service.

Once again thank you for your taking the time to post your comments, it was a pleasure for us to welcome you and your party

Sincerely yours,

Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We are currently on our last night at the Dreams resort and we are surprised at all the negative reviews it has received. We are travelling with our 7 year old son, his grandparents and our friend and we have found this resort to be pretty great. We travel to Mexico often - at least twice a year - and this has been one of our better stays.
The location is not too bad - we are about 20 minutes from Cabo San Lucas - and we went into town a bunch of times - wasn't a big deal at all. Everything we needed was here but it was an easy enough taxi or shuttle ride.
The food is good, (Himitsu being the best) staff have been absolutely amazing and it has been a lot of fun for our son. The buffet is what you would expect from an all-inclusive - but was never horrible by any means like some reviewers are saying. Our room is on the main floor and we didn't find the music or activities loud at all - and there were some nights that we went to bed at 10:00pm.
Perhaps our most favorite part of the trip was LUIS at the pool - he has been nothing short of amazing and we look forward to seeing him again. Also, we never had a problem getting chairs at the pool - regardless of when we got there.
The "no-reservations" policy at this resort is great - we have stayed at most of the other Dreams resorts and really like this aspect. Probably our least favorite restaurant was Portofino but we only went there once.
Also, room service was actually very good as well - it usually took a little longer but it's not like we had anywhere to go for 7 days!
The staff here work very hard and were ALWAYS very friendly and we tipped them throughout our stay - perhaps this is why we received such great service, but we often wonder if those that complain about bad service do not do the same??? - Just a thought...
The only complaint we have would be the person who tries to get you to join in on the time-share presentation - pretty relentless so we avoided them like the plague LOL.... we actually would consider signing up for it but the pressure was kind of a turn-off.
Currently, the phone system here is not working - will someone complain about this in the coming days? Most likely. Is it a big deal that would ruin a trip? Absolutely not. We went out to dinner instead of ordering in and we went to the front desk to ask for a room service snack, which they happily helped us with.
All in all, we've had a great trip. No complaints, and we would recommend it to anyone - well maybe not to whiners ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and your great comments about Dreams Los Cabos.
We`re glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Very best regards,

Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christieca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I chose this resort several months ago when the review were much more positive, so I was a bit worried when recently there were several negative reviews. I am a huge researcher and read everything I could. I was traveling with my husband and 2 small boys ages 4 and 7. My criteria were an all-inclusive with a large suite so that my husband and I could have privacy and a high rated kids club. Dreams 1 bedroom suites were very large, stocked with 2 fridges that each had water, beer, coke and diet coke. We had 2 balconies that were also private to each area. The bed was comfortable, though a bit short for my 6’6” husband whose feet hung off the bed. We have a California king bed at home and do not have this problem. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the adult pool with a beautiful view. You could hear the waves crashing even with the doors closed. Everything was very clean and newer looking. It was quiet except for one night when a large wedding party got out of control. There was so much screaming that I looked out the window and saw that half the wedding party was swimming in the pool, most with their wedding attire on and some without, it was funny, but not to my 7 year old who couldn’t sleep. It was over at 10:30pm, so not a huge deal since it was only the one night.
Walking into the open air lobby with a view the ocean was breathtaking. I love the open air concept and all the restaurants and bars are this way.
Our first night there we took our kids to the Explorer’s club and they were hooked. Claudia is one of the workers and she was there most days all day long. She was great and patient with the boys and we had to beg them to come and spend time with us. It also helped that there were several children the same age for our kids to play with (it was Thanksgiving Break). My husband and I ate dinner by ourselves every night and that made the trip. Our kids loved eating with their friends and all the fun activities. Each day a sheet is left that details what is going on at the resorts, restaurants, and the Explorers Club.
We ate at Oceana twice (fresh seafood, adults only in the evening) and sushi twice. We did not eat at the Italian, but everyone said how great it is. We don’t eat pasta and carbs in general and love fish, so that is mainly what we ate. For lunch we mostly ate poolside. I loved eating chips, salsa, and guacamole every day. We ate the room service breakfast once, but it took 40 minutes and wasn’t as fresh as eating at the buffet. Plus sitting next to the ocean enjoying a mimosa and made to order omelet was a great way to start the day.
The adult pool was a great relaxing place to chill and the regular huge infinity pool is where all the action was. I received a free 10 min chair massage, we participated in tequila tasting and my husband was in a football throwing contest. The boys loved swimming up to the pool bar and ordering a strawberry smoothie. My 4 year old also loved the water slide. It is slow, but perfect for him. Pool drink and food service was spotty and slow, and getting a lounge chair was tricky even with their no reserving a pool seat policy. The last day we were unable to find any seating at 9am and people were clearly reserving seats and the policy was not enforced. The weather was perfect! We went into town to snorkel (water very warm) and shop, but otherwise we were happy to enjoy this resort. The reason I could not give it 5 stars was that my husband came down with stomach sickness the night before we left and he is still sick 3 days later. It tainted an otherwise very enjoyable trip!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view and rooms overlooking the adult pool are quiter during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest:

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference and your great comments about this your hotel. We`re glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
We are sorry to hear that your husband was not feeling well we wish him the best.

Please note that we follow thorough standards of hygiene based on Check Safety First certification daily, all of our food and beverage preparation areas are inspected on a regular basis.
.

Once again thank you for your taking the time to post your comments, it was a pleasure for us to serve you the way you deserve.

Sincerely yours,



Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is not a family hotel. Every evening from 7 to 10:30 PM a rock band sets up on the beach directly in front of the hotel, ramps up its speakers to ear-splitting volume and assaults every visitor at the hotel for three to four evening hours with horrible loud "music.". Forget about reading, watching television, eating a quiet meal, conversing with friends in your room, even going to sleep at 9:00; the loud "entertainment" blasts through all closed windows and sets your nerves on edge. Small children cannot go to sleep; grandparents cannot rest. Complaints to the manager are met with three responses: (1) "I understand" ( but will not change anything; maybe I will turn the volume down a bit); (2"the hotel is evolving" and (3) "Why don't you stay somewhere else?" I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: It is impossible to recommend any room because all rooms are assaulted by intolerably loud music ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback,

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As a service provider, we continually aim to provide flawless service, every comment regarding our service is carefully reviewed with the team to avoid repeating.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family in future

Best regards,

Jorge Moran Ize
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Watch out for the ppl in the airport. They will disguise themselves as your travel company/hotel and try to sell you time shares. Just go straight outside- do not stop even if they try to stop you! Check in at the hotel was fine, however once we were done there was someone waiting for us to try to talk us into this breakfast presentation. We said no about 3 times. Then- he had the nerve to tell us that he works on commission and he wont be getting paid if we dont go! How awful is that. Complete turn off from the resort. We were exhausted and wanted to get settled in our room- this was the last thing we wanted to hear. Rooms were nice BUT we were expecting the Jr. suite ocean view. Our view was of a palm tree and bushes. Our room faced the ocean but we couldnt see it bc they had us on the 1st floor. We tried to have them change our floor but they said the resort was comepletely booked. We even offered to pay for an upgrade. Food was ok. The italian restaurant was the best in my opinion, the others were just ok. The lunch buffet at Seaside Grill was disgusting. Drinks were watered down- we ordered doubles. We were looking for more of a relaxing atmosphere, but you wont get that here. Look elsewhere if you want a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your last stay.

As a service provider, we continually aim to exceed guest satisfaction, every comment regarding our service and quality of the food and beverage is carefully reviewed.
We are sorry for the inappropiate comment made by one member of the sales team

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Dreams Los Cabos


Best regards,

Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dreams is a typical all-inclusive, but they do a couple of things differently. That is why they are so high on my list. 1) They don't allow you to make reservations at the al la carte restaurants. This was great for us. Most resorts I've been to take reservations, which mean if you're not at the desk at 7:30am to get a reservation, you're not eating al la carte. We were able to live by our own schedule and choose the type of food we were in the mood for. We never waited in a line before we ate and always got our first choice restaurant. The sushi restaraunt was my favorite.

2) They don't let people hold pool chairs for the day. In previous resorts, we were forced to get up at the crack of dawn if we wanted a seat by the pool. Not at Dreams. We were able to get two chairs everyday at the time we wanted. They have two great pools, one adult only. Each pool also has pub style tables and benches in the water, which provide a great place to have a couple of drinks.

After a week there, I only had one issue. The ATM in the hotel is like getting money from a loan shark. It charges $7 to complete the transaction, and then 10% of whatever you take out. I needed $400, and it ended up costing me $450. Even after the obvious cash grab, I would still highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamsL0sCab0s, Director General at Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your wonderful comments and I am glad you did enjoy your stay here at Dreams Los Cabos . Hope your travels bring you back to us in the near future.
Sincerely,

Jorge Moran Ize
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa

Address: KM 18.5 Carretera Transpeninsular Csl Sjc, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Los Cabos Hotel
Dreams Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Dreams Los Cabos
Dreams Resort Cabo San Lucas
Dreams Los Cabos Resort
Dreams Resort Los Cabos
Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Los Cabos Suites Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.