We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we found this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna GastroBar

La Taverna GastroBar
Waterside on The south end of the Cabo Marina, | Gastrobar Corner, Main Dock Area. Between docks 3 & 4., Cabo San Lucas 23454, Mexico
624-105-1932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 349 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: La Taverna GastroBar on the Cabo San Lucas Marina is rapidly becoming an attraction on the CSL Marina. Open for breakfast (5.99 us specials) and lunch (under 10 us) for 5 years, started serving fine dining at affordable prices on November 2012. Great ambiance, excellent food and warm service are our constant. Give us one of your nights, we´ll make sure you return.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
“Glad we found this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Some folks we met by the pool recommended La Taverna and we were not disappointed. The Surf & Turf for two was an amazing amount of delicious food for the price. It would have fed 3 or 4 people easily.

The chef/owner and one of the servers chatted with us during our meal, which was nice. The chef is from Spain and you can tell that he and the staff care deeply about the quality of food & service. During our meal, one of the servers brought a small grill outside and whipped up a special Mexican dessert and gave us a little bit to try.

One thing I appreciated about the restaurant was that it was away from the busy part of the Marina (if you're facing Senor Frogs, La Taverna is just next door to the right). It's too bad, because the location really limits the amount of foot traffic they get for dinner (there were only 2 other couples there when we arrived), but once you're there, you get to enjoy a nice quiet meal.

They also open for breakfast at 6am and serve lunch, although we didn't make it back to try either.

Definitely will try and go back next time I'm in Cabo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Owner & Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hola Señor!! Muchas gracias for your rewarding review, I will pass it on to the staff. We do look forward to your return and thank you also for staying in touch via Facebook!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    22
    15
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panora, Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“DON'T miss the GastroBar! Fabulous food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Chef/Owner Justo Couto is all about quality and customer service. The drinks and food were off the charts. My wife LOVES Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee. If you are looking for a great dinner topped off with table side preparation of top notch flaming desserts, DO NOT miss this place! The waiters provided great service, the soft jazz music was pleasant change, and the food was wonderful. If you're staying at Playa Grande, Grand Solmar, or Finnestera... you're only a short walk from GastroBar La Taverna. You'll be glad you made the short walk to experience Justo's magic touch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Owner/Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful review. We are very grateful that you gave us the opportunity to serve you and to be your friends. I will share this with all the team... Please stay in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

we were in Cabo from Jan. 19 - 26, 2013. We had lunch here one day and liked it so much we returned for dinner another night. My husband had some dental work while in Cabo and really enjoyed the chicken enchilada's he had for lunch because they were easy to eat, so he wanted the same when we went for dinner but they weren't on the dinner menu. When we inquired about it with the waiter, he sent the chef out to talk to us. He agreed to make them for my husband which was really appreciated. Everyone else had the steak and seafood and it was beyond delicious. We will definitely by back when we return in April. Thanks so much for going above and beyond our expectations.
Blaine & Tracy Johnston from Edmonton, Alberta

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Owner/Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Amigos! Thank you so much for sharing here on TripAdvisor... I know it sounds so cliché but I want my guests to get the real "mi casa es tu casa" treatment. To me, being able to serve you is a privilege, weather it´s on the menu or not... Look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish, welcoming host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Right on the marina but away from the "6 beers for $10" bars, this taverna has a congenial host and serves up fish that could not be fresher. THe catch of the day was mahi-mahi the night we were there and five out of six of us ordered it -- succulent fish prepared simply but flavorfully. The sixth ordered enchiladas and reported they were excellent as well. The restaurant is more a seafood place with Mexican, Italian, and other dishes (cherries jubilee fired up at the table). THe host came out and had an extended conversation about expresso with an aficionada in our group. She went back the next morning and loved the expresso served as well. ("It was done with love and had a citrus flavor.")

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Owner/Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Muchas Gracias! Coming from a Senior Critic from NY with so many great options to choose from, it is a great honour, even humbling, I will pass it on to the staff.

Just so other guests know, we also serve grilled Rib Eye and New York cuts and currently achieved number one ranking for steaks in the Los Cabos Area... If you like steaks give us a try and you won´t be disappointed...Hope to see you soon at La Taverna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“ignore any negatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

not sure how one can have a bad beef enchalada when it is not on the menu so this bland assessment should be discounted entirely......it is a remarkable restaurant, giving great service at excellent prices.....house wine is most quaffable and almost free........pechuga ville-roy as good as i had in spain.....dorado prepared five ways, with the carpaccio spectacular..........simply an excellent combination of quality and value, which is not that easy to find in cabo.......weekly visits are not out of place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Owner & Chef at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
"Muchas Gracias" for taking the time to write such rewarding review! We are privileged to have you as one of our guests. Thank you for your confidence. Visit us anytime you want, this is your "casa". Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna GastroBar also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Taverna GastroBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna GastroBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.