We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna GastroBar

La Taverna GastroBar
Waterside on The south end of the Cabo Marina, | Gastrobar Corner, Main Dock Area. Between docks 3 & 4., Cabo San Lucas 23454, Mexico
624-105-1932
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 349 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Spanish, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: La Taverna GastroBar on the Cabo San Lucas Marina is rapidly becoming an attraction on the CSL Marina. Open for breakfast (5.99 us specials) and lunch (under 10 us) for 5 years, started serving fine dining at affordable prices on November 2012. Great ambiance, excellent food and warm service are our constant. Give us one of your nights, we´ll make sure you return.
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been coming to Cabo for over 10 years and have tasted most of what Cabo has to offer, many of the establishments that line the harbor can serve good food, but tend to focus on high volume, high price and a lack of quality, not to mention the constant high noise level brought by a persistent stream of alcohol driven tourists. Lucky for us we found a comforting alternative, located a little further from the crowds on the far side of the marina. La Taverna GastroBar is a small outdoor restaurant offering great service and exceptional food at a fair price. The dinner atmosphere is just right, comfortable seating, soft lighting, soft background music, just feet from the water - a nice change of pace. Now for the food, at the recommendation of the staff we ordered the Surf an Turf special for two, included for each person is french onion soup, a lobster tail, jumbo shrimps, mahi mahi (catch of the day), and steak with mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables - not your ordinary surf and turf. I was apprehensive on how this variety could possibly be cooked correctly, I was more than surprised - each entree was cooked to perfection and each with its own unique flavor, amazing. I could not find a fault if I tried. I understand why this establishment is as small as it is, you simply cannot serve this delicious food to the masses and still maintain the quality. As we watched the cherries flambe at a near table and the smiles on everyone's face, we can hardly wait to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Propietario at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Muchas Gracias Señor! We live to serve.

Very much appreciate your sharing on TripAdvisor. You´re absolutely right: Keeping the restaurant small is part of the concept.

We don`t make any advertising, just word of mouth and TA. We want it to be as real as it gets. It´s true that we can´t please all but we sure try...

Our best to you and your family, we look forward to having you again at La Taverna, su casa.

Chef Justo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    22
    15
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, tx
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“An Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We came here based on the TA reviews for dinner. The restaurant is located on the far end of the harbor (our cab driver had not heard of it). It is a nice setting on a quiet place away from all the hustling going on in the main harbor area. The patio seating is great and they have a beautiful tree growing there that is interwoven into the deck roof. This is just a very romantic quiet setting with just a few tables-very anti-party Cabo.

The service could not have been better or more charming. Jimbo is hilarious and very gracious. We enjoyed visiting with him very much. Chef Justo came out and spoke with us towards the end of the meal. He is very interesting and is very proud of his new establishment.

We started off with 2.50 beers and then moved onto wine. They have a small wine list that is very reasonably priced at like $25 and below. We were satisfied with the a bottle of the house wine for like $18. For food we have the surf and turf combo. It came with an onion soup (which I am typically not a fan of), but thought it was very good. The dinner came with steak, 2 lobster tails, sea bass, shrimp, vegetables, and potatoes. The steak was just okay (We are from Texas so we are steak snobs), but thought the seafood options were excellent and the two sides were very nicely done. I would certainly no hesitate to come here again on our return trip and I would focus on the seafood items. They also serve breakfast and lunch, but Chef Justo is only there at night.

If you want a very nice meal, a relaxing/romantic setting certainly try this place out. It is something new and different in Cabo and for that we appreciated the food and experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Propietario at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are truly grateful for your taking the time to share with our friends from TA. It was such a pleasure serving you the other night.

We take all comments very seriously, we changed our steak supplier because we are shooting for nothing less than Excellent Steak. Being just OK is probably fine for most restaurants but we are taking the challenge. True that It´s not easy in a small town with providers that are just not up to standard in terms of consistency... We are currently serving Steak from Sonora: great flavor and consistency. So far we´re pleased, let´s see what our valued guests think....

Thank you for making this job so enjoyable!!
Chef Justo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here as our last night in Los Cabos. We wish we had tried this our first night. The food was beautifully prepared, the service was excellent and the atmosphere was phenomenal. Next year we will be back, to try even more items on the menu. PS the fresh strawberries flambé were killer.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Propietario at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thanks so much! Have a safe trip home, we hope to see you back in Cabo soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had admired this charming marina restaurant having walked by several times and planned to come back to enjoy a meal there. Well we came back for an evening and my mouth was watering for the mahi-mahi they had advertised each time I had gone by before. The night we went, the catch of the day was not the mahi-mahi I was drooling for, but sea bass. I know the name does not have the same allure or appeal as the name mahi-mahi does, but wow the taste was unbeatable. The chef cooked it in a light citrus sauce, serving it over rice with vegetables on the side. 3 of the 6 of us at the table had it and were all equally in awe. The Flambe dessert is done in front of you so be prepared for a show! The service, ambience and waiters were all terrific. The restaurant has a european look to it and was so clean and inviting. The owner came out and visited at the end of the meal. A very social and funny guy with Italian and Spanish background. Open just over 2 months. Should be a real hit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Propietario at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
You are so kind! Thanks for your motivating comments. It´s true, some days when it´s slow or perhaps too cold, most of the local sportsfishing fleet stays in port and we just don`t get fresh Mahi.
We could get it frozen at the fish market but our intention is to have it pretty much from the ocean to your table -as cliché as it sounds- and this caused the inconvenience... I am glad to hear our plan B worked well.

Come back anytime for Mahi Mahi, if you can give us a call in advance we will provide an update on the catch of the day. Next time the wine is on the house you have my word.

Saludos Cordiales!
Chef Justo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Excellent service, clean restaurant, decent atmosphere, but the food wasn't stellar, but it was decent. Ordered the surf & turf, the meat was on the 'grey' side, nevertheless the lobster tails (it came with 2), was yummy. The french onion soup, which came as part of the meal, was salty. Overall, we wouldn't go back but we are glad we tried it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justo C, Propietario at La Taverna GastroBar, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Very Sorry to hear your experience at La Taverna wasn´t excellent! We respect your opinion and will take immediate action.

I know It´s too late now but if you ever give us the opportunity we will strive to meet your expectations.

Thanks for your feedback, we take it very seriously!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna GastroBar also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to La Taverna GastroBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna GastroBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.