We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time at the Finisterra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Time at the Finisterra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

We spent a week at the Finisterra during a fishing tournament in May. There were 8 of us (spouse and myself, our 19 year old son, two other couples and an 10 month old) staying in the Palapa Beach section. My husband, son and I had a one bedroom unit, while the others had the standard rooms. Check in was easy and the staff were very friendly. Communication was a little difficult at times, especially with the housekeeping staff, but one has to be patient when visiting a foreign country. I know if the situation was reversed, I'd have a difficult time understanding their Spanish! We managed fine and had a great week. Our rooms had lovely ocean views, were clean and the house-keeping staff were awesome. I did find the beds to be the hardest I've slept on in Mexico, but didn't lose much sleep. The facilities were beautiful as were the grounds. We swam in the upper pool (very cold), but preferred the lower pool which was heated and extremely comfortable. The food at the pool was very good and reasonably priced. Our only unpleasant experience was at the Blue Marlin restaurant. Service was extremely slow even though we were the first ones seated. A drink was spilled on my son and salads didn't arrive until the meal was served, but most of us enjoyed our meals (especially the lobster and fish) anyway. We were given free desserts for the inconvenience. The Whale Watcher bar was a lovely place to end our night, sitting outside with a beer or a Mexican coffee. We would definitely return to the Hotel Finisterra.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hard Beds -- the norm in Mexico!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    516
    157
    83
    64
See reviews for
216
643
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blaine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Would have been a great value for the price except for the constant jack hammering right by our room. Hopefully the new hotel next door will be done with this soon but we happen to be in the end room on the 4th floor and it was obnoxious. I had a young child that still naps and that was next to impossible let alone have a conversation. We asked lots of times to change but apparently this hotel doesn't do that. We were with a party of 50 for a wedding and we all asked and non of us were moved. They messed up on our bill the first day. We had prepaid for our room and they placed a double hold on our card. After about 2 hours of talking to my bank and the front desk we got it taken care of.
As for the wedding portion this was my sister in laws wedding and it was beautiful. The reception wait staff was unbelievably slow and unorganized. For what she paid for her wedding the wedding planner for the hotel should have been sooooo much better. I would absolutly never recomend a reception there.
We found most of the staff to be pretty rude. There were exceptions but we stayed at the RIU last year and the staff was 10X better then the Finesterra.
We did a time share through the man at the end of the hotel driveway for the Playa de sol or something and got $300.00 off our food and beverage bill. It was really really low pressure sales and we also got a great breakfast out of the deal.
All in all it was a pretty cheap hotel, the views were great but other then that it wasn't the best.

  • Liked — no vendors on the beach, close to town
  • Disliked — the employees and the jack hammering
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Enjoyed the Finisterra very much. Great room with an outstanding view. The grounds were nice. The food was fantastic, although pricy for Cabo. I was very pleasantly surprised. Note: I hate the timeshareization of these beautiful resorts. I really resent having to be hit over the head at the timeshare desk for a tour before I can even go to my room. Tacky but in a very Mexican tacky way.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We recently spent a week at the Finisterra (June 8-15) and will continue to rave about it for a very long time. We stayed in the palapa section with a nice view of the Pacific and pool areas. There is construction going on next lot over so the end units are going to be a bit noisy early in the morning (8:30 onward). If you are away from the end rooms, it shouldn't be a bother unless you are hypersensitive to noise.
Pools (3) are a great place to relax, not much activity going on usually so it was pretty quiet and no where near crowded.
Rooms are wonderful with beautiful views. Beds are pretty hard as they are in all the hotels we have stayed in in Cabo, not a big deal.
Staff was very friendly and the service was great. Don't get all stressed out if someone is taking a few minutes to get you what you want. Remember you are in Mexico, it's hot and you are on vacation. Relax. We actually found the service to be a notch above every other hotel we have stayed in. The timeshare pitch is very minor league (we were actually disappointed as we think it's more sport than a hassle). Anti time share people will be in heaven. I did not include any of our pictures as the ones you see from the hotel are very accurate depictions of what you get. Refreshing.
Beach is really beautiful but you cannot and should not go near the water. It's treacherous (undertow). If you need beach go to Medano. Highly recommend The Mango Deck for couples and singles. May not always be appropriate for kids as there is a constant stream of activity (drinking games, R rated games) by a superb crew including a great MC that keeps things very lively. The staff works for tips only and they are a great, funny, lively group so tip well and they will take very good care of you. They'll still take good care of you if you don't tip well, but for short money you get a great day on the beach.
Places to eat are legion. Pancho's claims the world's best tortilla soup and we agree wholeheartedly. Go to the beach (next to Mango Deck) for dinner at The Office. Feet in the sand and pretty good food to boot. Mama's Royal Cafe (near Pancho's on Hidalgo) claims the best breakfast in Mexico and once again we agree with them. Check out their website at felixcabosanlucas.com, check out the recipes and sign up for the newletter. Very funny stuff and great recipes from Senor Moore. We also ate at Edith's again but it will probably be our last. Food was good but the views are history and the prices are getting into the stratosphere. For a really wonderful place to have a drink and people watch go to Rips (I think that is correct) an open air bar in front of Cabo Wabo.
Cabo continues to rock! Finisterra is our favorite as well as the other places mentioned above.

  • Liked — Location in Cabo, pools
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

LOVE the location, stayed in the Palapa Beach Club Oceanview section. It was awesome waking every morning to the sound of the ocean and of course, can't forget the view. Simply amazing. We enjoyed every bit of our stay from the room which was much larger than a regular hotel room with a sitting area, but we always chose to set out on the balcony. The beds are firm, but we requested a mattrass pad as soon as we arrived and it was delivered right away. We had a chance to dine at all three restaurants in the hotel and everything was wonderful. The only negative experience was from a room a couple of doors down from us. They must have come from an afternoon booze cruise or something, because the group in that room got very rowdy and out of hand. I contacted the front desk and it was handled very quickly and professionally. This was our second time to Cabo and first with the Finesterra and we will definatley be back. I highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind walking to town. We never got tired of the walk and we are in our 40's and in descent shape.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

This was not our first choice because the hotel we wanted to stay at was closed... Los Milagros. However, we were very happy with Hotel Finisterra. We stayed in the new section. The price was reasonable. The rooms are very large. We had the 3rd floor, which I did request higher but did not get. We had a nice view of the pool and the ocean. And, of course you could see the construction from our room and from the Whale Watcher bar. We did not hear much of the noise from the construction at ALL, thankfully. The bed was a little hard but quite honestly I slept very well the whole trip. The only bad thing about the room is the shower curtain looks pretty but it isn't very practical. It doesn't cover the whole shower so some of the water tends to spray out. However, this is a very minor detail.
The pools are gorgeous. There are many different sections. One part near the bar/restaurant has music playing but not very loudly. This pool seems to be the most crowded with a volleyball net and many young people hanging out. The ocean is nice too just to watch the crashing waves.
We walked to town / marina a majority of the time instead of taking cabs. There are so many fun things to do in Cabo. Go out fishing on a Penga and take a snorkeling trip.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — not high enough (the room)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

I saw a picture of the Finisterra pools well over ten years ago, and could hardly believe it when I was looking at that same view "in person" from our balcony. I traveled with another SWF, and we stayed in the Palapa Beach section of the hotel.

First off, YES, those timeshare people at the airport are brutal and we got nabbed right off the x-ray machine. Eventually we got away, but watch out! They will tell you anything to get your attention!! What got us was they said the name of our shuttle service, and pretended to "arrange" our pickup. DON'T LISTEN TO ANY OF THEM!!! As soon as you have your luggage, speed walk past all of them screaming NO GRACIAS, NO GRACIAS!!!!

The shuttle ride was long (at least an hour), due to stopping at many other resorts to drop others off. The Finisterra is the last stop, so sit in the front row of the van and you'll get a little "tour" from the drivers as you go along. Witht the hurricane just having gone through and dumping lots of rain, the scenery was beautiful. We expected much more desert like conditions, but everything was green and there were lots of blooming flowers.

At the hotel, the first person who greets you is also a timeshare person. We told them we just wanted to check-in and get some dinner, and besides a letter pushed under our door the first day, they didn't bother us again. Get used to timeshare people, they are everywhere... I kid you not... on street-corners, inside the mini-marts... just everywhere! Most are respectful if you say no thankyou or just ignore them. We were offered everything from jewelry, to excursions, to drugs and escort services. Haggling with the jewelry vendors was fun, but we ignored the rest and didn't get hassled.

Generally, we spent the days by the pool (reading & playing crib), and went to dinner in town in the evenings--and then partied at Cabo Wabo, Squid Roe, and Giggling Marlin. Mi Casa was excellent for dinner. As was Romeo & Juliet's. We always cabbed it back to the hotel after partying... can't beat it for $6. We also went on a booze cruise, which was one of the highlights of the week. Being a couple of single chicks we weren't quite sure what to expect, but it was really fun. And funny... when we got on the boat, everyone was sitting in their little groups not talking to anyone else and by sunset (several drinks later...) we were all best friends, laughing and dancing. Will do that again, for sure.

Generally, the hotel was great. If I had to complain about something, it would be that dishes from ordering room service were not picked up for DAYS, and remained in the corridors attracting bugs. The room service itself was fast and very yummy. We used the business center to check e-mail once, and we had massages one afternoon at the spa which was won-der-ful!! Yes, the beds are HARD but I read on here that you can ask for a foam mattress to go on top of the bed, which is what I will do when we go this year. Anyway, we didn't have much trouble sleeping after bar-hopping thru town every night. And even after all of that, we made it a "tradition" to go down to the beach hammocks (in our p.j.'s no less) every night (early morning actually!) and wind down at night before going to sleep. It was very relaxing.

We've already booked this year's trip, because we had such a wonderful time last year. September is their "slower" season so the restaurants and bars were not packed in town, and we were always able to get great chairs at the pool. Always remember to settle your tab at the pool before going back to the room, each waiter has to do his own--so also, if you move during the day from one pool to another, you will have a different waiter with another ticket to settle up. If you don't, they'll call you in your room and you'll have to go back down there... yes, it happenned to us... but only once!! We learned our lesson. We also learned that walking to the post office in the middle of the day because the hotel didn't have any stamps for us to mail our postcards was NOT a good idea. If you want to go to town to shop or whatever during the day, cab it. You'll thank us later. LOL

Have a fabulous time in Cabo and even if you're not staying at Finisterra, go to the Whale Watcher for happy hour (4-6pm every day) or dinner. The view is AMAZING, especially at sunset.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. CURRENTLY UNDER RENNOVATIONS IN SOME AREAS AWAY FORM GUESTS TRAFFIC, OPERATING ALL POOLS AND GUESTS ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS. Located in the “Heart and Soul of Cabo”!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.