We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

1) Poor customer service! The staff was not friendly at all; unless you greet them first, they don’t talk to you. Bartenders at the pool bar were not friendly either. Luckily, the hotel has Joel & the DJ. They made it fun by the pool.
2) The timeshare sales pressure is AWFUL! Sophia attacked us every time she saw us!!! We know she earns commission by selling, but she really needs to tone it down so people can enjoy their vacation. How sad is it that you have to avoid walking through the lobby and exit through the garage?!?!
3) The TV was broken for 2 days, we reported it & the handy man couldn’t fix it & came back 2 days later.
4) We had to shower with cold water a few times & the toilet was leaking the whole time so the floor was constantly wet by the toilet. Reported the issues to the front desk and not sure if the handyman attempted to fix the leak. Shower curtain needs to be longer; it barely touched the top of the bathtub. The shower curtain was sticking to our bodies while showering, very aggravating.
5) The refrigerator in the room doesn't work.
6) Both ice machines were broken on our floor, had to go to a different level to get ice.
7) Poor Wi-Fi in the main lobby and should be noted on the website “only available in the lobby, not in the rooms”! It is very inconvenient for the guests to have to go to the lobby every time when they need to go online.
8) No alarm clock in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear DEgirl18,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay.

We are sorry that you feel that our staff was not friendly to you. Most of our other comments regard them as courteous, friendly and welcoming. We do realize that this can happen so we passed a copy of your comments to the front desk as well as our Vacation Club supervisor.

The room issues are a concern to us and this is why we are doing a major renovation in all rooms in order to change the overall client experience.

We do mention that the WiFi is complimentary in public areas since we do not provide that service for the rooms.

We hope that for your next visit to Los Cabos you take a few minutes to walk around and see the improvements made to the resort.

We wish you many happy returns to Mexico,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    598
    175
    91
    69
See reviews for
290
750
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We own a timeshare at The Finisterra and really enjoyed having Joel as part of our experience. Stretching on the beach to trivia, they helped bring the guests together like never before! We love the quiet beach and the famiy like staff. We love it and love sharing this withour children and grandchildren.

Room Tip: Beach side is quiet and nice to watch the whales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you MaryB,

We value the comments of the Finisterra members that have seen the growth of the Finisterra for many years.

We get great reviews on our new entertainment staff, Bow Wow and the team has brought a new dimension to the property. Now with the new changes and improvements we can only expect great new memories, photos and life experiences that will last a life time.

Keep sharing with friends and family and invite them to see for themselves what the new Sandos Finisterra is all about.

Many Happy returns to your home in Cabo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The Let's Go To Paradise team recently returned from beautiful Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Our journey took us to the Hotel Finisterra. Finisterra, in Spanish, means 'End of land". Well, that is exactly where you will find the Hotel Finisterra. The first thing you will notice about the Hotel is the great location. The property sits at the very end of Baja California bordered by the Pacific Ocean and the Cabo San Lucas Marina. Hotel Finisterra is a great deal nestled between several high end hotels.

The Hotel has a main tower that faces the pool area, the beach, and the Pacific Ocean. There is an additional hilltop complex overlooking the Marina. That complex is currently being renovated.

Upon our arrival we were met by the "concierge". We were offered complimentary beverages while we checked in. The check in process was quick and easy although the Hotel could not find our reservation. This was not a problem. The friendly staff got us a room quickly and it was exactly what we had booked. We were then escorted to the concierge for further information about the hotel and Cabo San Lucas area. The concierge staff is very friendly and helpful. HOWEVER, they are most interested in selling you a time share. If you are not interested in a time share make it very clear as soon as possible. We had no further sales attempts for the duration of our stay.

Our room was clean and spacious. The curtains and bed cover are a bit outdated but in good shape. The refrigerator worked however it didn't keep things too cold. The shower had plenty of hot water and good pressure. The bed was comfy but certainly not a pillow top. The TV was technologically ancient but had many channels you would recognize from home. The room was plenty comfortable for the time we spent inside.

The pool area is very large and bordered the beach. There are three large pools of differing temperatures. The upper pool is very cold and probably not too comfortable this time of year. The middle pool is substantially warmer and has a swim up bar. The lower pool is a little cooler but comfortable. There are several jacuzzis in the pool area but not all are warm. Make sure you dip a toe before you hop in. There seem to be plenty of lounge chairs around the pool and down on the beach. The Hotel was building new palapas on the beach while we were there. There is also bar service on the beach. The Ocean is not safe to swim in. The riptide is very dangerous and the water is very deep just off the beach.

Adjacent to the middle pool is the Palapa Bar. They have seating under the largest palapa in Mexico or in the pool at the swim up bar. The food is tasty but they seem to run out of beverages often. The Hotel also has a hilltop restaurant overlooking the property and the Marina. The Blue Marlin is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed the selection and quality of food at the Blue Marlin. Breakfast has a full menu and large buffet available.

Location, location, location. There is no better location for a hotel in Cabo. The scenery is amazing, and the proximity to the Marina is perfect. If you are familiar with Cabo, the driveway to Hotel Finisterra is across the street from the dolphin aquarium. You can easily access the Marina and everything downtown with a short walk.

There is currently a lot of construction and renovation at the Hotel Finisterra. You hear the noise during the day, and starting early in the morning, but it isn't a distraction to your vacation. We really enjoyed the Hotel Finisterra and plan to return again very soon. It is a quick and inexpensive getaway from Southern California. We have stayed in Cabo for the price of similar trips to Palm Springs. The Mexican people are very friendly and make your vacation fun. Don't miss out on an opportunity to visit the Hotel Finisterra.


Thanks for reading. Enjoy!
Your Let's Go To Paradise team
www.letsgotoparadise.org

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Amigos from Lets go to Paradise Team,

Sorry ofr the delayed response. Thank you on behalf of all of us at the Finisterra Hotel, yours is one of the most detailed and best overall experience description of our property in this forum.

We appreciate all reviews, we know that we are not a silver dollar and there will be certain issues here and there, like anywhere else in the world. But we truly try to do our best with what we have and our staff is by far our greatest asset.

To read comments like yours inspire our colleagues to continue to strive for excellence. They know that our clients are out there and they do care. And this is why we value this forum.

Thanks again and hope to see you back very soon in our new era as Sandos Finisterra All Inclusive Resort.

Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My Sailor and I renewed our vows on our 5th anniverary on the beach thank you to Lupita, the absolutely BEST wedding coordinator EVER! The ceremony took place at 5 pm and we received a standing ovation after the ceremony from everyone watching, the love of my live was dressed in his US Navy dressed whites. All the guests at Finisterra thanked my loyal and loving husband for his service. The entire staff at Hotel Finisterra is the BEST! Trust us, you won't be disappointed, the staff, service and food are top notch! See you in October for Sammy Hagar's birthday bash!!!

Room Tip: Please choose the Pacific view in January - March for whale watching and Marina view in the Fall. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you FinisterraLovers!

Thank you for sharing your unique experience, we are certain that this will help others to choose our venue for their wedding.

Your ceremony is still talked about by our staff! What a wonderful event and indeed all our guests that witnessed were impressed and we even received a couple of enquiries for future ceremonies. Lupita and her team is getting a lot of recognition for their superb work for ceremonies.

We look forward to your return in October and by then you will see all the new improvements fully operational.

Gracias from all of us at Finisterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

i Went to this Hotel and is such a beautiful and calm place, so is the people working there. I did stretching and acquagym everyday and i got to meet my favorite staff person known as crazy joel.He totally made my vacations worth it.Thank you everyone for such a beautiful time and special thanks to Joel who always has a smile on his face and look forward too seeing you again in the near future .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you Natalia,

We always appreciate gusts that take a moment to share their experience during their stay with us. Joel is a great asset for the hotel and is an example for the rest of the team. Our goal is to surpass our guest’s expectations with dedicated service, passion and love for what we do.

Looking forward to your prompt return to your home in Cabo, the Finisterra!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel is under renovations with great plans for it. The noise was not a factor. we asked for a king bed and sofa sleeper and got two double beds, we werent happy about that but dealt with it. The fridge didnt work but the concierge gladly got a ice chest. over all its an average place in a great location but they have very big plans and are in the process of renovating. Three pools one warm but thats all that was needed. they will be taking out one pool and putting in an infinity pool and a pool with a water slide. Waters and staff were very friendly. Our pool waiter Abraham was great! Very attentive and friendly. The animation team was great as well, Crazy Joel, Edgar/chocolatay and Bow wow entertained us very well with activities and were also friendly. It's really nice when they take the time to get to know you and be friends. The food was rather expensive but I noticed all of Cabo got that way recently. Food was presented well and tasted wonderful. next to the hotel restaurant you have views of the marina and the pacific. Showers had a steady temperature no problems there. The hotel is in the perfect location to the marina and within walking distance. As always in Cabo you must deal with timeshare people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Laceypony1
Thank you for taking the time to write a very objective review.

We are getting great comments about our entertainment staff and we look forward to more and new improvements all around the public areas as well as rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Bc Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Switched from the hotel from hell to the hotel in paradise!!! Right on the Pacific Ocean with a fabulous view from all rooms and if you want you can just watch the whales from your balcony.
Check in was easy, pools were fabulous with NO fighting for places to sit by the pool or on the beach. Food was great, our was breakfast included and it was all you could ask for. You can get all inclusive for $49 a day per person, make sure your travel agent really stipulates this on the check in forms because some people were having problems when they said they had paid for all inclusive already. The only draw back we saw was pressure with the Time Share People of the new owners, but if you said no thankyou right away to any of it they don't bother you after that. We stayed for 6 nights and would definately come back again to this Hotel. Thank you Eduardo at the front desk for all your help, and Sofia was wonderful also.

Room Tip: All rooms were facing the Ocean and had great views. I would say the higher up the better view, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Canucksrule_13

Thanks for your comments. Whale watching season is a highlight for us and many clients are in amazed when they see the whales jump right in front of the resort
We are trying hard to bring good service and make memorable experiences during your vacation. Regarding the special discounted rate for the Meal Plan that you are describing that is normally offered only to Finisterra Members, so you got a great deal.

About the All Inclusive Plan, it will be in place by May 1 2013. We did have some early bookings that were offered our Deluxe Meal Plan and that is handled directly with their travel agencies.
The popularity of Finisterra is coming back and we see high levels of occupancy and expect more return guests as we continue to improve.

Hope you come back to stay with us for your next Cabo trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury...
#10 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Solmar All Inclusive Resort & Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#15 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. Located in the "Heart and Soul of Cabo"!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.