We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“owners lament” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
idaho
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“owners lament”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been owners at the Finisterra since 1997, but didn't go last year.
After reading some of these reviews I have tried several times to contact the new management to reserve a unit for next year or at least get some information.
No response whatsoever.
It appeqars they are more interested in selling to all inclusive buyer than taking care of the existing owners

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Member,
We understand that as a Finisterra Member you feel a little confused in regards to all the changes that are going on in the hotel and we assure you that we are doing our best to improve all of the hotel's areas and units to provide you with the best service when you come visit us. We are sorry that you feel like there has been s lack of communication and for this reason we would like to provide you with the correct contact information which is: "asist_timeshare@finisterra.com" and as soon as they get your e-mail you will immediately receive a response.

Best wishes for this Holiday Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    442
    141
    82
    61
See reviews for
179
533
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

As a long time owner at the Finisterra, I have enjoyed many wonderful stays here. For those former stays I would give the hotel an excellent rating. However, not only have I just now found out through this venue, that there are changes coming to my ownership, but I have no idea what they are. I have emailed the timeshare area 4 times in the last month (to Flor, Sandra, and Kim) and have yet to receive a response from anyone! I have not paid my maintenance dues for 2013 and am concerned about doing so. I have also attempted to make reservations for next year and heard nothing from my repeated emails. Wake up Finisterra! Your owners are talking and listening for a response. For those of us that have been trading in our weeks to RCI and have not visited for a while, your need to send out a communication package and respond to your emails!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently visited Finisterra and have been a guest there over many years (although, I was not staying as a guest at this time) After, reading reviews I was curious to see the "improvements" mentioned in the TA responses from the "new" mgr. over the last 7 months.

Except, for the on-going demolition in the original sections, the hotel's general atmosphere appeared very quiet (which I have always appreciated). All the restaurants were either empty or maybe 1 table occupied. During, the late morning to late afternoon I saw approx. 10 guests at the pool and no where else. You can only access towels with a "towel card". (I didn't use the pool or hot tubs, so I can't comment on their "heat" status). There is a security guard at the entrance to the lower parking garage. The only current improvements that I noticed, were the re-painting of the 7th floor bridge wrought iron railings and "new" pool loungers that are the same design as the prior ones.

The "most visible" areas of hotel structure, design and views are still awesome, the gardens beautifully maintained, common areas appear clean, Whale Watcher bar and Blue Marlin looked exactly the same to me as far as memory serves. But, the "less visible" areas of floor to floor stairs, hallways (still broken or missing tiles) elevators/ ice machines are still "hit or miss", a broken hall door just pushed into the frame (umm.....same broken door from a prior review on 10-20... ?)

The most obvious activity I noticed, was while I was sitting in the lobby. I observed 2 "Concierge" staff as they approached everyone.....as soon as guests step from their cabs, at the reception check-in and even folks just walking through the lobby area. There were not many people so the "concierge" seemed desperate in their attempt to gain guests attention, in order to give an invitation to a "presentation". It is apparent that efforts to promote tours and sell vacation club-timeshare packages is a major focus of the new management.

I will stay as a "guest" soon and then I will have a better perspective from an "on the inside" viewpoint.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Marie K,
We thank you kindly for your non bias comments and for dedicating part of your Cabos stay to come over and “see it for yourself” approach.
As you well state in your review, we are working in the common areas, we currently have now 4 Jacuzzis operating and with hot water. This was a major pet peeve point for our regular guests and now with our Palapa pool heated our winter clientele will have the opportunity to enhance their pool experience. Along with new towels and with our new lounge chairs that even though they are form the same manufacturer our previous ones had many years of service and the plastic frame and canvas obviously show the wear and tear.
Aside from that, regarding the door on the 4th floor we have to change the entire frame that was eaten by termite and is a part of the pending list with a lower priority but now will be looked at and worked on. We have already ordered new Ice Machines that will be a part of the conversion to All Inclusive by March 1 2013.
AS far as the Lobby activity and our Concierge staff we are trying to invite our regular guests to know firsthand the upcoming changes, the new plans, areas and clear out any questions they may have in regards to the property.
We hope that during your next visit you will be able to compare and share the improvements and enhancements made to the legendary Finisterra Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, WA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had a recent stay at the Hotel Finisterra in Cabo. We DO NOT recommend that people stay there. If you have the opportunity to change your reservations, do so.

The staff are extremely nice, they just don’t have anything to work with. This review is not a reflection on them. These issues are management issues.

It is hard to figure out whether this, once grand, property is failing on life support or dead with someone trying to revive it. The issue range from the property being a ghost town, availability of food and beverage, the price of the food once it is available, lack of maintenance in the guest rooms and deterioration of the facilities to the extent that sliding doors in the room take all the strength and weight one can muster to get them open. Another challenge is, once you cut your rates to the level they have, you attract a clientele that might not even be able to afford the trip, were it not for these cut rates. Listening to drunks fight in a room was an interesting experience, followed shortly by the sound of projectile vomiting. Not your average Cabo Resort experience…

Of particular note our experiences were:

- In a pool area that could easily seat 500, the most ever observed was 11.

- In a restaurant that could seat 200 we were often the only guests. On one occasion, there was another couple there.

- No coffee (or food) is available before 8 AM and there are no coffee makers in the rooms.

- When you do find coffee it will cost you $5 USD per cup in the bar at 8 AM. However they serve no food until 10 AM and then it is only a limited lunch menu. To get breakfast you have to go up 7 stories, cross a bride, go up several more stories and then you can find a good tasting breakfast, albeit quite expensive.

- Have your wallet ready if you go to dinner - a simple dinner of local Mexican food and an ice tea for 2 people cost $62 USD before tip. This is about double what it would cost at any other resort in Cabo.

- This facility has not been maintained in years. Light fixtures are rusting in the rooms, the shower curtain bar was barely staying mounted, there are electrical grounding issues in some of the fixtures – you can feel current flow when you touch the metal fixture and the linens were not of Motel 6 standards.

- The lack of maintenance has lead to corrosion issues that present a danger. The sliding doors serve as a secondary exit to the room. That said, the door was initially corroded shut. Once I was able to get it to open, it took all my strength to open it again. It was on the track, just simply corroded to the point of failure.

All or a significant part of this property needs to be shut down until it can be brought up to reasonable safety and maintenance standards.

We booked through Expedia. We were shocked that they would list this property, in its current condition. Interestingly enough, we posted a review of our stay on Expedia, at their request, and they have yet to post our review.

If you value your vacation time, do not stay at this property. It is not a place to go and enjoy your time away.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by going to another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear AnnKen58,
We thank you indeed for your comments. As you well state in your detailed description we do have several issues regarding refurbishments, updates, remodeling, more food and beverage options, better hours of service and menu variety and pricing.
This are all the reasons why Sandos Hotels and Resorts saw a property that regardless of the legendary status and great location was in need of help in order to bring out all the potential that it has and that many happy guests have shared in this forum.
It is not an easy task and this is why we have extended our conversion date to March 1, 2013. We will have a total of 5 restaurants 5 bars and new and improved rooms and facilities.
During your stay we were running at close to 50% occupancy on the Ocean View Section that has 190 rooms (Our remaining 98 rooms from the original section and our Bay View rooms are closed due to the remodeling) With 3 pools, private beach and walking distance to town you were witness to the relaxed and peaceful ambiance Finisterra is famous for.
If you are a Cabo regular and have an opportunity to stay at some of the Marina hotels that have similar price range you will be able to notice the difference in our facility and grounds as well as ample spaces and dedicated staff. If you can make some time during your next visit to stop by and see for yourselves the improvements made, maybe you will be able to share them here as well.
Best regards and thank you kindly again, we value your time for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not because it is bad, but because the new owners are making it something that we do not want. For 20 years, we have faithfully traveled to this hotel - and we are grateful that we have had the opportunity. Hands down, this is the best location in Cabo. You can walk the quiet Pacific beaches without interruption from vendors or you can walk into town to visit the many restaurants around the marina and beyond. This trip, we were coerced into a timeshare presentation - which takes 3 hrs rather than the promised 90 min. It is sad to see that the new owners are so disconnected to what Cabo fanatics love. We do not travel to Cabo for fancy restaurants that require formal attire, nor do we want activity directors (we would take a cruise instead). Our family could care less about yoga classes and water aerobics - we want to lay by the pool and enjoy a beer. Our timeshare guy went on and on about how upset the current hotel timeshare owners are and he just did not seem to get it. They would have liked the hotel to keep current - new linens/decor and general maintenance - they did not want it to be gutted, changed to a private 5 star and the price increased dramatically with the soon to be mandatory all inclusive. They offer "members" wait staff, and advise that hotel guests won't have them - what?! Even if the hotel guest is paying top dollar for the all-inclusive plan. Cabo is a place to get away from the rules of "home" - changing Finisterra to be so upscale that you have to carry formal wear and take out a small loan to visit, is not what we have in mind. Besides, we love to visit the restaurants in town - that's half of the fun. Sorry to see these changes - we will miss it here tremendously.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Eims4gsds,
We truly thank you for sharing a very warm and candid opinion of your experience during your recent stay with us.
As you well state, the Hotel Finisterra has a unique location and has established a casual “Cabo Home” feel that made us popular for many decades.
Regarding the presentation that you had; the timing depends greatly on the level of interest as well as the questions and details our representative’s share during your time together. Since the Sandos concept is new to the area we brought along some of our best staff from Playa del Carmen where we have very successful operations at Sandos Caracol and Sandos Playacar (that you can check in our web at sandos.com
Part of the presentation is to share some of the benefits that the new members will enjoy, but maybe your impression that our hotel guests that come for an All Inclusive Vacation will not have waiters to attend them might be mistaken. You may be referring to the new Whale Watchers Lounge that is located above the famous Whale Watcher Bar that will be exclusive for members.
Cabo is a destination with many faces: casual, relaxed as well as formal and classy. As you know Los Cabos is famous from having some of the most expensive resorts and restaurants in all of Latin America that will rival any world known destination. This is why we are offering several options for dining that will range from our casual beach ware Tortuga Beach Restaurant & Bar or the new Don Diego Lounge that will offer casual Buffet breakfast ambiance overlooking the Bay and featuring Themed a la carte dinners with our new open air kitchen. The famous Palapa Restaurant and Pool Bar will continue to feature snacks, Mexican and seafood. Maybe what you recall from the presentation was the formal Blue Marlin restaurant for a new gourmet experience.
Regarding the upcoming activities like Yoga classes and water aerobics we have 3 pools where space will be respected for those who do not want to participate in the activities, but you must agree with us that there are many other families that will like to have them.
Regarding the comments from current members we are trying to “get it”. We will try our best to balance the Finisterra feel with the new and improved Sandos experience.
We hope that you give us the opportunity during your next visit to Cabo to see what we have accomplished from listening to comments like yours and others.
Best regards and best wishes for this Holiday Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We selected Hotel Finisterra based on a package deal with US Airways. The location was good, just a short walk to the Marina down the hill. We were given a large clean room on the second floor. Unfortunately for us, there was a massive generator for the nearby property 50 yards from us the hummed all day and night. The property is on a lovely private beach, but water is unswimable due to the bad rip tide. This did not bother us as we walked to Madano beach daily. We did attempt to have a relaxing day by the pool, but had to cut it short due to a number of inconveniences. 1. drinks were overpriced and poorly made. 2. We could not charge the drinks to our room since they had no record of anyone staying in our room. 3. Although there are 3 pools, one with a swim up bar, the pools were taken over by 10-12 children. I would recommend having 1 pool designated for either adults or children only. Our room was first cleaned only after requesting it be cleaned after 2 days.

Other inconveniences experienced during our stay included, although our room was recently renovated, the light next to the bed did not work, we could not take a shower since the metal shower pull on the spickot (?) was bent and unable to pull up. After reporting these items to the front desk, they were repaired same day. The most aggrevating part of our trip was the nonstop barrage from Sophia trying to get us to attend a timeshare presentation.We heard every sob story, and told us by going would help her with her boss (blah..blah...blah). Each time we said no, she would ask why. She could not take no for an answer. They call her a Conciege, however, this is far from it. Conciege are supposed to assist and help clients, not the other way around. We arranged several activities in Cabo, but arranged for them outside the hotel.

Our fondest memory regarding service during our trip at Hotel Finisterra was the superb sincere service provided by Miguel at the security gate booth. He was outstanding. So helpful, and friendly. He deserves a raise!
Although our first experience at the hotel was not ideal, it has potential, and we may return.

Room Tip: Our room on the 2nd flr on the western side are closest to a large generator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sibs_Travels
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay. It is helpful and we have taken action regarding Miguel and Sofia as far as sharing your comments with them.
Miguel was very pleased and has always been very attentive and will have a great future with the company. Regarding Sophia she had a meeting with management and will be monitored.
Our intent is to have as many guests hear from themselves and on a firsthand basis all the things that Sandos has to offer with the Royal Elite program and have a fair opportunity to be some of the first to take advantage of all the pre opening specials.
We are taking action regarding the Kids pool and we are reviewing our no cash policy for the wait staff by preparing a document upon check in to advice guests of this fact. Also we are looking at ways to have a functional form to charge to the room or open a “tab” by the pool.
We sincerely hope to have you visit us again in the near future so you can share with all of us your “before and after” experience.
Best wishes for you and yours during this Holiday Season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

After visiting the Finisterra on our recent visit to Cabo, we have found that the "new sales associates" are very courteous but in a nice way tell the current Finisterra owners like second class citizens. If you do not elect to trade in your current ownership to Finisterra for Sandos, they offer you no maintenance fees for the remainder of your ownership. However, you will not be able to use the full facilities and if you elect to use the pool while you are staying there you will have to bring your own beverages and food to the pool as you can not purchase any drink or food at the resort. Makes me want to stay there! Oh and you can not use any of the restraunts while you stay there. If you elect to stay there and pay their all inclusive fees, because you are not a Sandos member they double the fees which would range from $120.00 to $240.00 a day per person and you must buy for the entire time you stay there. Not my cup of tea . . . . they can have there ALL INCLUSIVE. They also will not give you anything for your ownership so guess it's my loss their gain. They just will not get any possitive feedback from me, on the contrary, I will tell everyone I can to stay away. To bad Finisterra is one of the best locations in Cabo for access to the city and many fine reastraunts for dinning.Sandos may have good intentions but should treat the remaining Finistera owners with better respect. Mark from Oregon

Room Tip: Stay next door at the Playa Grande they treat you like royalty
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VentasFinisterra, Director of Sales at Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mark F,

First of all we would like to thank you for the review as our clients’ opinion is what matters most to us as a growing company.
Since Sandos took over the operation of the Finisterra Hotel, one of our main priorities was to ensure the satisfaction of our Finisterra Members, given that we understand the fondness that you have towards the hotel after coming back every year and for that reason our goal is to provide you with the warmest welcome.
We are very sorry that you got the idea that the Finisterra Members were going to be treated as second class citizens, but sadly, this information could not be further away from the reality and on the contrary, as the serious company that we are, we are respecting your inventory under the terms and conditions that you had before, improving and remodeling the hotel’s facilities and common areas to be sure that not only our Sandos guests, but our Finisterra Members as well, get the service they deserve.
On top of this, we would like to clarify that as a Finisterra Member you are always welcome to use the restaurants and bars in the hotel as long as you cover the corresponding consumption cost like it has always been done. In case you want to take an advantage of the complete All Inclusive Services which not only includes food and drinks but also includes waiter services, access to the gym, access to the Spa, and entertainment activities in the hotel along with others you can feel more than welcome to cover the All Inclusive Rate which will be a fair competitive price for the market.
We would like to invite you; in case you have any questions regarding the hotel services and all the changes that are being made, to please contact the same Finisterra members customer service e-mail that you have always used , so that this way it is not posted on the website and confuses other Members and we will be also able to give you a more personalized attention service.

We will keep working to improve your experiences so that next time you visit us, you will feel fully satisfied and more.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. CURRENTLY UNDER RENNOVATIONS IN SOME AREAS AWAY FORM GUESTS TRAFFIC, OPERATING ALL POOLS AND GUESTS ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS. Located in the “Heart and Soul of Cabo”!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.