We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fifth trip as nice as the first.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Our fifth trip as nice as the first.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011 via mobile

Fun place to stay.. Great pools and bars .. Great views, tile floors, nice balcony for cooling off in the early evening. Air-conditioning works fine .. Someone mentioned in an earlier review. Close to harbor, mall, restaurants, downtown, and on a great private beach. Good Prices

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    442
    141
    82
    61
See reviews for
179
533
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is nice...good view, but you can swim in the ocean there. the rip currents are bad on the pacific side and there is no swimming...(we didn't know this before we book the trip), you have to walk to the marina and around to the other side to swim. The time share peopl were also bad there, constantly trying to get you to go to their time share orientations. Air condition in room was not working great either.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Love the Finisterra, my husband bought a timeshare there in 1986. The greatest asset is the employees. You could not ask for better treatment. Please say hello to Rudolfo at the Whale Watcher Bar. Make a reservation for the tables up on the side with the best view in Cabo San Lucas.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Last year my partner and I stayed at the Villa del Palmar in Los Cabos (see review - July 24, 2010) for his birthday and because he loves it so we went back again this year for his 30th birthday. This year we stayed at the Hotel Finisterra and both loved it. The setting and location is superlative and somewhat away from the bustle of central San Lucas and Medano Beach but offers you quietude and privacy - an ideal place for romance and honeymooners.. In stark contrast to the Villa Del Palmar the staff was overwhelmingly warm, friendly and attentive - they could not do enough for us. It is because of the staff and the hotel's location/privacy that we will go back here again.
There are just a few negatives I do want to mention but as I though please bear in mind that, at least for me, they do not override or cancel out the positives of this hotel. (1) If you need wireless internet service in your room, do not go to this hotel. I am told the service is good if you stay in the luxury, premium rooms but otherwise you are forced to use the wireless service in the hotel lobby whose connection is "slower than molasses in Boston Harbor in February" - the lowest speed dial up is faster; (2) the rooms do not have and need a small, service refrigerator - this is the first hotel room I have stayed in which did not have one; without this you are forced to use copious amounts of ice or rely either on room service or their mini-bar to get cold drinks (non-alcoholic or otherwise); (3) I am severely hearing impaired and the telephones were not hearing-aid compatible so until my partner arrived the following day I was constantly having to walk down to the front desk whenever there was a message (this is a problem throughout Mexico); and lastly, (4) the food at the pool bar/restaurant really needs to be improved muchly - it was quite bad which was very interesting because the food from room service and their "Blue Marlin" restaurant was quite good and in some cases, superlative. But again, these negatives would not prevent us from staying there again, which we will.
One travel tip which I think will be helpful to all: If you do not rent a car and you arrange for shuttle service, at the time you arrange for the shuttle DO book a round-trip otherwise because of contracts the shuttle companies have the taxi service or deals the hotels have with various taxi organizations you will only be able to take a very expensive taxi back to the airport ($15 vs. $60). A shuttle will only take you to the airport if you have made arrangements for round-trip service prior to arrival at the hotel.
Lastly, male same-sex couples must beware, Los Cabos is just not a gay-friendly city. We are "tolerated" (but not accepted). But in STARK contrast to the Villa del Palmar and the city itself, the staff at the Hotel Finisterra was open, accepting and could not do more to make my partner and I feel welcome. Personally I do not like Los Cabos but it is this hotel which makes me want to go back again. It is this hotel and our experience there that made me realize how much I love, need and want my partner and how, as soon as DOMA (Federal "Defense of Marriage act") is repealed I will marry him. How could I ask more from any hotel?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

Great location to the marina with a private hotel beach. Poolside bar was nice. Excellent food at whale watcher bar. Only drawback was noise of front doors slamming throughout night.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Finisterra over the 4th of July weekend with a large group (28 of us) of friends, and it was amazing. They were incredibly accomodating from the moment we checked in to the moment we loaded up the shuttels to head home. The location couldn't have been any better, hidden away, yet walking distance to anywhere you wanted to go. Our room was great, and the view from our room at sunset was stunning with a clear view of the ocean. My husband spent a morning fishing and brought back a huge Tuna and they cooked it up for us so deliciously, that we are all still talking about it. The pool areas were well kept and perfect for lounging, accompanied by pretty great happy hour drink deals at the swim up bar = no complaints here.
Thanks Finisterrra - for a great 4th of July!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is in a great location, 5 mins. to marina. Restaurants within walking distance. Public beach is about 25 mins walking distance, but if you go down the street from the hotel there is a small local beach about 10 mins. There is also a Arts and Crafts market close to the main dock. Watch out for the prices. The hotel staff is great, very helpful. The ice machine in the first floor doesn't work so we had to ask the front desk for the ice whenever we needed it. The food at pool restaurant is expensive, ahhh and the drinks mmmm better stick to beer. Margaritas not great, very watered down. Ohhh before I forget,,,the gym mmmhhh only two stationary bikes, and a machine for weights. Very hot room,, couldn't breath felt so hot in there. Although you do work out trying to find the gym...very far from the main building and several stairs lol I guess that's the workout lol.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

Address: Domicilio Conocido Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Finisterra)
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landmark Resort. Best location in town with Ocean and Bay views. CURRENTLY UNDER RENNOVATIONS IN SOME AREAS AWAY FORM GUESTS TRAFFIC, OPERATING ALL POOLS AND GUESTS ROOMS AND PUBLIC AREAS. Located in the “Heart and Soul of Cabo”!Live the legend of the new SANDOS Finisterra ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT unique architecture overlooking the Bay of San Lucas or enjoy the largest family rooms facing the Pacific sunsets in any of our Jr. Suites. All within a short walk to restaurants, night life, shops, fishing and water sports. Free WiFi in Lobby and Restaurants. Endless beach walks and amazing pools. Embrace the Cabo sun in any of our three amazing pools or have a snack at the largest and tallest Palapa in the Pacific. For the evenings enjoy a margarita at the historical Blue Marlin Bar where Keith Richards and Brooke Shields loved to relax. If you like tennis we have 2 courts for you free of charge. Ideal for Families or Couples that want the best value. The Jr. Suites Ocean View rooms have the largest capacity in Cabo sleeping 3 adults and 2 children with our 2 Queen and Sofa beds. Just perfect for the family that needs best value for their money! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finisterra Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Finisterra Cabo San Lucas
Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.