We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little home base for touring the area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Ameyal

Save Saved
You added El Ameyal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Ameyal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Transpeninsular Km 3.5 | Colonia El Tezal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Vistazul Suites & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
warrenton, OR
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice little home base for touring the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Not the best place if you want to stay at your hotel all day, but worked quite well for someone who really just wanted a place to sleep in between day trips.

The hotel is not even near the beach, so don't think you will just walk down the street to the sand. To do so you would have to go through the RIU resort which is down the street about a half mile. There are guards there, and with a good story I'm sure you could get through once or twice, but I am not sure if you could get through day after day.

If you are the exploring type however, this is very convenient. Easy access to the highway, like 5 minutes or less to town if you are driving. Very close to Costco and Walmart.

Rooms are clean if basic. I did have some problem with another guest playing music too loud late at night. I went to complain, but noone was in the office that late at night. Apparently they moved the person to another room the next night.

The restaurant/wellness center was not really a factor. In the week I was there, I saw maybe a dozen people eating there, and they may have been employees. Pool was usually deserted too, leaving it for us to enjoy ourselves.

If you do stay here, there is a little taco restaurant about 1/4 mile east of the hotel. Just a little hole in the wall with tables, easy to miss. But probably the best tacos I've ever had. Unfortunately I didn't find it until halfway through the trip, but I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    24
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
18
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in Los Cabos and bought a package with Despegar including the Ameyal hotel. It was a good choice , nice people, clean room but some upgrades would be appreciated , TV, slow internet ..
One bad thing , it's close to the highway and can be noisy. Vegetarian food, spa, temazcal, wellness center, I enjoyed my stay and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Never stay in this place; this is the worse hotel in Cabo San Lucas. After I booked my room with Expedia upon my arrival they told me that Expedia decline my credit card, I showed them my Itinerary and I was told that I has to paid for my room; so I gave them my credit card and they did the charges.
I call Expedia and they told me that the room was paid for already, when I went to the front desk to make a complain and talk to the manager on duty they told me that the manager was out, I explain the guy in the front desk about my double charges and he knew about the situation but was giving me one excuse after another not to refund my money.
Finally they told me that I have to deal with Expedia not with the Hotel.
Everything that went wrong with the hotel and room.
1- Window next to kitchen latch was broken
2- Bites from bed bugs
3- Couch was broken, you sink on it
4- Elevator was disgusting and dirty, broke twice on us
5- Pictures show a nice TV, what you get is a 20” old TV from the stone age
6- Hotel is next to the freeway so We could not sleep all night because of the noise
7- Door was hard to open.
8- Place stinks like motor oil
9- Not even close to the beach, Ghetto area
10- Construction on the roof at 5AM every morning
11- Internet service extremely poor
12- You get a 5 gal. water tank on every room
13- Jacuzzi extremely dirty
And the list will go on and on, for a wellness center this place sucks they have not Idea how to take care of this place or they guest. I paid $80 dollars a day for this “[--]” don’t trust the pictures.
I could add another $30 dollars more and I would stay beachfront at RIU and avoid this place. NOW I KNOW.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro R, Director Comercial at El Ameyal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Huesped, Lamentamos que haya tenido una mala experiencia en su estancia con nosotros! Tomaremos nota de cada uno de los puntos que usted expone en su comentario e intentaremos resolverlos, Le envio un afectuoso saludo y agradezco el tiempo y espacio que ha dedicado para realizar su opinion.

Saludos, J. Alejandro Rivas
Gerente de Mercadotecnia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Wonderful small hotel in the Cabo area. I can't say enough about ALL the good things about this place. The staff in all areas of service that I encountered were just excellent, from the front desk to the housekeeping etc. The room I had (main floor facing pool) was clean and well-maintained with a small useable kitchen and separate bedroom with a large bedroom (comfortable king-size bed, great linens, all washed with "eco-soap") and a great large en-suite bathroom with shower and tub. The restaurant at Ameyal is reason enough to visit this hotel which you should just to have some of the best food I experienced in the Cabo area for the two weeks I visited in early March. It's vegetarian but that hardly matters for non-vegetarians as the food is just so good (fresh,organic, flavourful and unique) it's a non-issue. And the service in the restaurant is outstanding also. My last day ended quickly and I didn't get a chance to say goodbye to many of the staff here who made my stay so great. The grounds are pretty with a small lovely pool and at the back of the property is the Temazcal lodge, fitness centre but also a small Spa and Naturopathic Health Centre & Dispensary. Dr. Antonio & the Spa staff ( i so wish i could recall their names!) are definitely worth a visit to also. They offer a vast array of services in that blend between alternative treatments to standard spa treatments, they definitely know their work! The Temazcal ceremony runs every 3rd Sat? Actually, from my time in Cabos it was the only place I saw where one could experience a Temazcal ceremony. If it's not on their website then the staff speak excellent English should you need to call them to inquire about anything. It would be helpful if they had a full english translation of their website. As for the highway noise, it's there but not so bad. Basically any place along the corridor is going to have traffic noise after spending my 2nd week up near San Jose del Cabo. Ameyal is close enough to walk almost everywhere (you do need to be a little bit brave because of the highway, & always bring a hat!) but in a pinch you could walk all the way to downtown Cabo (30 min & the WalMart & Sam's Club are a mere 10 min walk on the other side of the highway (cross under the retorno on the way to cabo) Just down the street from El Ameyal is the giant "RIU" all-inclusive and if you need a taxi there are many parked here at all times. A wonderful small hotel that I will return to for either just a night or a week of health treatments again. Peace (Shanti)

Room Tip: I stayed in a main floor room facing the pool and thought it was the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks after having to abandon our previously booked hotel which turned out to be a dump [Positano Hotel - half a block away].
We stayed in a suite with a fully stocked kitchen on the second floor.
Lovely pool that was cleaned daily, nice hot tub, well equipped gym and nice restaurant.
Had a great massage. Clean room and extremely friendly staff.
Special shout out and thanks to Diego,Ely Sandy and Manuel. All the other staff where extremely friendly and helpful and worked hard. Just didn't catch everyones name.
English spoke well by Diego and Sandy.
Gracias for a great 2 weeks!!
Oh and the price was right.
A bit loud next to the highway but excellent for catching the fun buses.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

The ONLY downfall to this charming boutique hotel is the proximity to the busy highway, which can be a good thing if you want to walk to Costco 10 minutes away in one direction or Super Walmart 15 minutes in the other direction. If the patio doors are closed and ac fan is turned on the highway can't be heard. All the rooms have balconies overlooking a beautiful pool and garden area, both spotless. It is a short walk to the beach (10 minutes) and even to downtown (25 minutes). There are ocean views from the 3rd and 4th floors. We were here for a week in January and feel this can't be beat for the price. We will definitely be back and recommend El Ameyal to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Cabo

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

An excellent budget choice, clean and safe. A very well maintained property.
After an all inclusive week at the nearby Santa Fe I wanted to spend an extra
week in Cabo to see local things and the El Ayemal proved to be an affordable
and excellent option. (July 20-27, 1st visit to Cabo)

Yes, close to the highway, probably was not always like this as road seems recently
widened, traffic noise goes away after 10 pm and you don't really hear it at other times
with AC running. Keeping bathroom window/door closed cuts it in half. Balconies are not deep with
low railings, watch your balance in the heat.

Not all-inclusive, eat nearby/Walmart, Cabo downtown, San Jose.

Vegetarian restaurant on premises and heavily patronized, but am not vegetarian
so did not try it. Alcoholic beverages not sold on premises but available next door
to put in mini-fridge. Absence of full-tilt drinking came as a relief.
Real non-inclusive Mexicans vacation here for a different feel. Did not use spa options,
but I think packages directly available from Hotel or arranged on web-site.
Two small bottles of water supplied free daily, but you'll probably need to buy extra.
Cantina, grocery, basic Mexican fast food to go, next door.

A good choice after the intensity of the all inclusive, one day spent resting and
reading on very firm mattress. Great!

The honesty, sincerity and helpfulness of the staff cannot be over-emphasized.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for helping with all my questions
and my total lack of Spanish speaking skills. Thank you. Their daily cheerfulness
and professionalism instantly dispelled any doubts about staying on my own at a
non-inclusive. Again thank you.

Bus to San Jose stops right at door so that's convenient, but public beach a 2km walk with no
shade, so save that for evening when the locals go. A good option is the surfing beach before
you get to San Jose. Shade after 4pm between the boulders of One and Only Pamilla: friendly
attitude towards roving security guard means no hassles. Bus drops you off at bottom of hill,
NOT next surfing beach. Climb down stais with the other surfers. (Flat, no shade)

The extra week went by too quickly, but life off the resort is interesting and I am quite
happy with getting to know both sides of Cabo.

AIRPORT TRANSFER TIP:

Taxi $50-65$ US plus tip. Front desk arranged this but still a hassle.
Tip: Pack light with roll along suitcase. The different Cabo buses go to old Terminal 2 but drop you off
500 yards away, you'll have to thread your way through Avis but not if you've got heavy bags
to carry manually. Plan 1 1/2 hour transit for 30 Pesos and save $60 US dollars! Next time I
will make sure this happens!


hmeyer
Cambridge ON
Canada

Room Tip: Floors one and two quiter thatn upper 3 and floor as traffic noise does not carry as much, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Ameyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Ameyal

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 3.5 | Colonia El Tezal, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico (Formerly Vistazul Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Ameyal 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your El Ameyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Ameyal Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Vistazul Hotel Cabo San Lucas
El Ameyal Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Ameyal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.