We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mucho Grande!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnitas El Michoacano

Carnitas El Michoacano
Leona Vicario | Between Carranza and Obregon, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 339 restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Carmichael, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mucho Grande!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Best meal we had in Cabo. It is off the beaten path, but so worth finding. Best carnitas ever. The pork was lean and tasty. The tortilla's were being made fresh while waiting for our lunch. You order the carnitas by the kilo and they come with the most wonderfulful condiments.You could get full on them alone. While waiting for lunch a pleasant bean soup is served. We also ordered guacamole and chips. It was one of the best guacamole we had during our stay, but with so much other food it wasn't really necessary to have. Although the waiters speak very little english, they were quite helpful and the service was great.We would go back in a minute and will do so on our next trip. Check before you go, I think they close early.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    20
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Puerco magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Awesome carnitas and ribs. Very little English spoken and off the beaten path, but the best food I ate in Cabo. Order by the kilo and the accompaniments just keep coming till the table is covered.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“awesome carnitas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It is definitely the best carnitas in Cabo.
Prices are great, food is tasty and service is nice.
When you order you get tasty bean soup, until your food will come, and it comes fast. They are fresh salads on the table to add to the tacos.
Very recommended.
Why only 4 stars? Because as pork it is very greasy (which also makes it so good) but i wouldn't be able to eat there everyday

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best carnitas in Cabo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The carnitas is simply the best and very reasonable. Went with a group of friends and we all enjoyed this of the beaten path find. The street was under construction(major street construction) and not easy to find, but once there we were all happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yeah Man; the Carnitas Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Be a little daring and venture off the beaten path of strip clubs, bars, cigar shops, and vendors to enjoy a side of Cabo that few tourists ever see. El Michoacano is the Rock Star of carnitas and pork of any kind. The sauces and fresh handmade tortillas make the experience even more enjoyable. They also have a place in San Jose del Cabo if you are adventuresome enough to grab a $2 bus. The bus to SJ del Cabo sometimes has a fellow who plays the guitar, sings and sells homemade tamales. Love El Michoacano to death. Order a half kilo of carnitas meat, some freshly made tortillas and make your own. I would rather do that than order their version of a carnitas. Watch the locals; I got the idea from them.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnitas El Michoacano also viewed

Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to Carnitas El Michoacano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnitas El Michoacano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.