We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esperanza - An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rediscover Esperanza
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from spending a week in a villa with another couple. We had a 3 BR villa, which was nice because it came with a jacuzzi. We thought the accommodations were just great. My husband and the wife of the couple are great cooks, so they put together five nights of meals, and we went massive food shopping at Costco and Mega. This meant we ate very well, and didn't have to spend as much as we would otherwise have at the good, but very expensive restaurants. We did eat one dinner at Cocina del Mar. We ultimately preferred eating lunches there. We thought the dinner menu a bit too ambitious, but the dinner itself was very enjoyable. Beautifully situated, great service. Our favorite restaurant meal was "Fish Night" at La Palapa. Highly recommend that meal. Our waiter (Culberto, or some such thing) was fantastic. This was the only time I added additional tip to the included gratuity.

Some thoughts/suggestions:

We rented a car from Hertz to use for one day for our shopping expedition. This was the only bad part of the trip. Hertz was just awful. I won't go into the horrible details, but strongly suggest that if you decide to rent, you should probably do so from Alamo, which is the company the hotel works with. However, given that there is no compelling reason to the leave the resort more than once or twice, if we return, we would just hire a taxi for the few hours that we need to do our food shopping. There is absolutely no reaon to spend any time in Cabo itself.

We did go on one of the snorkel excursions. This is my second time to Cabo, and the second time on a snorkel excursion, and even though this one was better than the last, it still was heavily a "booze cruise". Of the four hour trip, 3 hours were spent cruising and drinking (by others) and only one hour was spent snorkeling. The fish were nice, but I wouldn't recommend the excursion. There are other ways to get to the same beaches, by driving, and while the boat is okay, the coast line is really quite ugly.

If you are a swimmer, excerciser, tennis player, you never need to leave the resort. There are plenty of places to wander, hang out, sit and read. It is true that the beach is rocky and not that accessible, so if you are craving a sandy beach with easy access to the ocean water, this will not satisfy. If you like looking at a beautiful ocean view, and hanging out in lovely pools etc., then you will be very happy.

If there is a wedding while you are there, expect some disruption to your ability to enjoy the hotel pool, as they will take away chairs and the like to make way for the wedding. These seem to happen on the weekends, and are quite active in May and June, so keep that in mind.

The spa is lovely. The massages are executed with great expertise. A nice treat is that the massage therapists roam around the pools offering complimentary shoulder/neck or foot massages. And, a nice benefit is that you can go hang out in the spa without booking a service. A restful place to spend some time out of the hot sun.

The scene at the airport: first, a taxi to the hotels toward Cabo will cost around $80.00. Find one of the shuttles, that charge $16.00 per person. Walk past all the time share folks.

Money: cash some dollars so you have pesos for gratuities. I was surprised by how many people were not tipping the people who set up chairs/umbrellas, offer massage, etc. While service is included in meals and spa services, the people doing these other chores deserve to be tipped as well. I cashed $200.00, which was sufficient for the week.

Conclusion: A really wonderful vacation. If I return to Cabo, I will certainly hope to return to Esperanza. We have great memories of our time at the resort.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Brauna,

Thanks for sharing your “perfect vacation” at Esperanza’s Residence Club! I’m delighted that you and your friends had a great time and took a moment to share your experience.

It sounds like you enjoyed our “Fish Night” at La Palapa as well as our spa! We appreciate your feedback regarding weekend events as well as activities and rental car information.

Once again, I’m delighted to hear you had a really wonderful vacation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    52
    17
    13
    10
See reviews for
79
314
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at a villa that we purchased through a charity auction. It came with a private butler for the week. Talk about luxury. The accommodations for four couples were amazing. We all had our own space and plenty of room to spread out. The daily happy hour of margaritas and guacamole made fresh was a real treat. We enjoyed all of the restaurants at the resort and even had dinner catered into our villa one night. The fitness classes were wonderful and attendance gave us discounts at the spa. The massage and facial were both top notch and the spa facilities were a great place to relax and unwind. We really enjoyed the tequila tasting class we took - ended up only the two of us signed up so it was a private event! The chef offered a cooking class and that was a lot of fun as well. Came home with some great recipes and spent the day eating and drinking. What could be better?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Alandmichelle,

Wow! So glad that you both got some rest and relaxation during your fall visit to Esperanza! I’m delighted that you got to spend time at our Spa as well as our ongoing fitness program.
Our tequila tasting and cooking classes are a huge hit and it’s great to hear that you had a chance to enjoy both while here.

We would love to have you all back. Please come for a visit in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My family and I stayed at Esperanza last week in one of the 3 bdrm villas. I have some general impressions and one very bad experience that unfortunately defined our stay.

General Impressions: Overall I/we were underwhelmed by this property. It is a nice resort, well maintained, with numerous pools scattered around the grounds. However for the price, it is fairly unremarkable. The view from our villa was primarily the back of the villa in front of us (which was being renovated most of the week, which means power tools, hammers, etc.) with a bit of an ocean view to the side. The villa itself was good, but not great, and it didn't have much character, Mexican or otherwise. The restaurants offered very good cuisine and some of the settings are spectacular, but all at a pretty steep price. The beach is fairly limited and, given the rocky setting, not really appropriate for swimming. The resort is certainly not high density, but also not limited enough to feel truly 'exclusive', so it wasn't clear what they're trying to be. Obviously many truly love this resort, but I just didn't get it.

Bad Experience: Early in our stay, the fan in the master suite's bathroom failed. Maintenance repaired it, but the next day we noticed a burning smell and called the resort operator to report it. After a 10 minute wait no one had yet to show up, and by this time the room was filled with thick smoke. It took two more frantic calls (with mention of smoke and fire) and another 10 minutes before someone -- one man -- finally came to our door - over 20 minutes from the time of our initial call!! This was and is totally inexcusable! There was clearly an emergency situation at hand that could have easily escalated into a catastrophe. And, as it turns out, the previous repair was not done properly - live wires were left exposed and were shorting, so the risk of a full blown electrical fire was very real. Yet the lack of urgency by the staff was nothing short of astounding! Once maintenance did show up, we ended up with three young men casually hanging around chatting in our dressing area for over an hour, and it appeared they weren't doing much of anything except wasting our time.

Based on our experience I can't imagine returning to this resort - there are just too many other higher quality properties - and I certainly cannot recommend it to others. The electrical/maintenance fiasco was an important test of this resort's management, and it failed miserably.

ps Esperanza management: If you choose to respond to this review, please do not thank me for complimenting your food. This is not a positive review.

Room Tip: Confirm that your room/villa is not next to a unit undergoing renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear JDL Travel,

Thank you for your recent visit to Esperanza and for the time you have taken in sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you were underwhelmed by our property and just didn’t get it. Your honest feedback is much appreciated.

I regret your bad experience was handled poorly by our Team and following your feedback, I have met with my Senior Managers to ensure we never have a repeat experience similar to yours.

We would dearly love the opportunity to have you and your family back again sometime.

Sincerely,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is my first review on Trip Advisor and includes a recent stay at the Esperanza Hotel. We were looking forward to vacationing there after hearing so many wonderful comments about the hotel. While the hotel property was nice, the services provided by the hotel was not up to the level of quality provided by other hotels in the area and especially for the price charged for the rooms. We had arranged a car with the hotel to pick us up at the airport however upon leaving the terminal, there was no rep in front of the airport while other luxury hotels had their reps in front. We had to ask the Palmilla staff member where Esperanza's rep might be and upon calling the hotel, they let us know they were running behind. We finally saw Esperanza staff member escorting another guest and we caught up to them before they finally directed us to the car. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the management which was nice. Our room was on the top floor of the building which had an amazing view along with a great outdoor hot tub. We noticed however that whenever we used the shower, a strange mold smell over took the bathroom. We eventually told hotel management about this and they promised to look in to it. When we returned to the room, the smell was still there and there was no follow up from the hotel. When we checked out, the hotel staff member mentioned that they looked into it but couldn't find anything so instead of mentioning this to us further, they just dropped the issue which was disappointing. The biggest disappointment of the hotel though was the services provided by the pool. Over the weekend from the day we checked in to the day we checked out, there were never enough towels throughout the day. Several attempts to get a towel each day was met with a response that they were coming however no towels ever arrived and if they did, the staff never followed up on the repeated requests. What was disturbing too was that new guests were being directed to lounge on chairs with towels that were never changed by the attendant from guests earlier in the day. I am not sure how a luxury hotel considers it appropriate to seat hotel guests on towels that might look clean but were in fact used earlier in the day. Management also seemed unresponsive to these concerns when we checked out which was disappointing. I must say one positive side of the hotel included the views and the consistently good food provided by all of the restaurants and a great happy hour between 4pm - 6pm each day. All in all, based on the price and comparable luxury hotels in the area, this hotel does not provide the level of services that should have been provided and I would recommend staying at other luxury hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear M L,

Thank you for sharing your candid and thorough assessment from your recent stay at Esperanza, an Auberge Resort.

I was sad to learn about the service incidents that took place during your visit and want to assure you this is not a typical guest stay that is offered here at Esperanza. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed Esperanza’s spectacular ocean views and great food as well as happy hour at our Lounge Bar!

We hope you will consider staying with us again as we’d love another opportunity to show you what makes Esperanza truly special!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Cabo's Esperanza resort took 5* to another level.

My partner and I have never had such faultless service anywhere in the world we have travelled to - simply perfect. Nothing was too much effort for the staff, everyone greeted us with a smile, people were friendly and happy to chat away to us at the bar etc.

The resort itself is stunning, breathtaking...and bigger than i first thought. We had only stayed in the adults area but after walkin around the grounds we discovered the other side has a family area and pool, it was so well hidden and produced NO noice, we didnt even know it existed until we went walking far!!

The rooms are to die for...we had an infinity jacuzzi on our terrace which was lush, proper luxury and worth every penny! The room has EVERYTHING you need and what i loved was the in-room dining service where you placed your order from the rooms iPad, a very nice and convienent touch.

We are currently planning to come back here to have our wedding :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Rokkid,

Thank you sharing such a wonderful review from your recent visit to Esperanza! I’m thrilled that you and your partner enjoyed a flawless visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your suite with infinity Jacuzzi as well as our new Ipad menu system.

We look forward to helping you plan the perfect wedding celebration for you both!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My girlfriends and I traveled to Esperanza for a long weekend vacation. Having had the opportunity to travel extensively, as well as stay at other Auberge properties, our expectations were completely exceeded during our trip. The attention to detail, the level of hospitality, and authentic charm was something that none of us had experienced to the degree we did at Esperanza during our travels elsewhere.
To reiterate what many others have already noted; the welcome is exceptional, the property and its amenities are gorgeous and well cared for, and the experience of staying at Esperanzaa is truly only understood after being a guest there.
Of all of the notable attributes for the resort, the staff is what elevated our stay to phenomenal.
Each staff member was so knowledgeable, gracious and welcoming. The excellent staff of Esperanza was what solidified our trip as being one of the best experiences any of us have ever had.
Elena and Fernando were our concierges and attended to our every need. They were professional, and extremely attentive with everything from handling car and taxi services, to getting a coveted reservation during sunset --not an easy feat!
Gregorio, the restaurant and bar manager was helpful in every way possible, greeting us by name anytime he saw us (as did all staff), sending a specialty cocktail he thought we may like, and best of all he made sure our cliff-dining experience at Cocina Del Mar was the most memorable and special in all ways.
Juan Jose and Leonardo from the Cocina Del Mar and El Bar were sincere, kind and helpful, as was Jervais the pool attendant.
We whole heartedly recommend this hotel to everyone wanting to be pampered and experience an environment catered to their guests complete relaxation...Thank you Esperanza!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear L J,

We loved hearing about your girlfriends’ vacation to Esperanza! I am delighted that as avid travellers you found Esperanza’s service and staff to exceed your expectations in all aspects.
I have shared your wonderful news with our Concierge and Food & Beverage teams as well.

We would be delighted to have you and your friends back again for another special getaway!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I planned a last minute vacation to Esperanza for Memeorial Day weekend and oh my is it amazing!! We were picked up as planned at the airport by a very friendly driver from the resort. Our suite was beyond gorgeous that included a private hot tub on the balcony which allowed for enjoying the unbelieveable views of the Sea of Cortez. Even the HUGE bathroom had incredible views from the shower. The grounds are beautifully manicured and the service throughout the resort from the concierge who met us upon arrival from the airport, to the wait staff, bartenders and especially the pool staff who keep cold water flowing and accomodate anything else a guest could possible want. The negative edge pool is GORGEOUS and the placement is the smartest I've seen. While sipping one of the resorts specialty margaritas in the pool you can watch the assorted boats pass by while the turquoise water crashes against the rocks off the shore. The Spa we were told was fabulous however we unfortunately did not utilize the facility due to our very short time frame (3 nights) at the resort. This of course means we will be coming back to enjoy that luxury.There are truly not enough words to express how incredible this Auberge resort is except to say I HIGHLY RECOMMEND and can't wait to return!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Amy S,

Happy Memorial Day! We are glad that you decided to visit Esperanza for an amazing last minute weekend getaway. It was a pleasure to have you and your husband with us and we look forward to a return visit very soon! We’ll be sure to have a margarita waiting for you at the pool.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.