We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a heavenly escape this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Esperanza - An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Escape Save 35%
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
scottsdale
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a heavenly escape this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with two other couples for his 40th birthday. The service at this resort is impeccable! From your arrival with Margaritas to your departure, they don't miss a beat. The ocean side dining is beyond beautiful and the food is yummy as well. Wish we couldve stayed longer than 4 days. It is very expensive so be prepared (a mimosa $17) other than that it was phenomenal. I wouldn't take my kids here as I think that they would be bored. If you are traveling with your significant other or friends this is a great spot! Only 10 minutes from town. If you can get to the spa do! We went back twice. The best massage you will ever have for $150!!!
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear 3redhedz,

Happy 40th birthday to your husband! We are thrilled that you and your friends had a phenomenal celebration at Esperanza.
It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our restaurants and spa as well.

Please come see us again soon for another heavenly escape to paradise!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    46
    15
    12
    9
See reviews for
69
278
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Well--Esperanza is awesome, if you want to splurge on a great vacation. From the Times each morning on your doorknob, to the foot massages by the pool, to the ice cream servers throughout the day, to the great service and best rooms you will ever occupy (especially the top floor, ocean view, palapa spa rooms!), it is a place to behold but at a price... While it is truly remarkable, it does have some annoyances--you are 200-dollared to death, as that is what most things cost (dinner, masssages, car rental, etc.). Second carafes of coffee at breakfast was an additional charge! And the residential section is less resort and more second beach home oriented... But the service, location, and discreet and private respect is remarkable. If you are a social person who enjoys meeting new people whicle travelling, this place may not be idea...a Hollywood star might be sunning right next to you but protocol would dictate that you not speak to them...it is that private and exclusive, which will seem distant to some travelers. Still, it is a great property and is more unlike its depiction in Heartbreak Kid than similar!

Room Tip: top floor, ocean view rooms are best, the palapa spa especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Dejol,

We loved reading your wonderful feedback from your visit last summer to Esperanza!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your awesome experience. It sounds like you enjoyed a relaxing stay.

We trust you will return to Esperanza again in the not too distant future!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first time to Cabo San Lucas and Esperanza. We stayed for 6 nights and only left the property once for paddle boarding arranged by our personal concierge - nice touch. We are typically very active travelers who enjoy being on the go and experiencing many things but our goal for this trip was downtime so we spent most of the trip at the "adults only" hotel pool or on the beach in one of the cabanas reading, enjoying watching the waves crash over the rocks and being spoiled by the pool side staff.

Favorite things: Cabo Green Margaritas (frozen); complimentary foot or head and shoulders massages at the pool; dinners at Cocina del Mar (only to be rivaled by a private beach dinner with a fire pit); the weather; really healthy and delicious breakfasts; the staff and the AMAZING service.

Helpful hints:
Rooms -- We stayed in an Oceanview Palapa Casita - these are on top floors and have thatched vaulted ceilings ("palapa"). The view was breathtaking and no one is above you which makes their terraces a little nicer I think. Some of the beachfront casitas looked nice too but didn't seem to have as much privacy. So if you're not going for a suite or villa - these upper floor "palapa" accommodations are lovely.

Pools/Beach -- If you want privacy and total relaxation - choose one of the cabanas down on the beach below the adults only hotel pool. You can order beverages/lunch snacks here too. When we were there a small crowd of salespeople were in for a conference so having this option was nice to separate ourselves.

Food -- There were plenty of options/venues for us to stay "on campus" for meals with a lot of variety. Have dinner at least one night though at Cocina del Mar and if there's availability schedule a private romantic dinner on the beach.

Activities - Familiarize yourself with all the hotel amenities and offerings on the supplied in-room iPad so you don't miss anything (like a tequila tasting). We highly recommend the beach boot camp class with Modu if he's teaching when you're there. And the spa is world class.

Kids vs. No Kids - We only saw children when walking by the other pool that's closer to the residences, a few at breakfast and then one night having dinner at the fiesta night at LaPalapa - however even there they had most of the families on one side and adults/couples on the other. So Esperanza seems to work for both families or adults traveling without children.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Zooeybear,

We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful property on your first visit to Cabo San Lucas! It’s great to hear that you both enjoyed a relaxing getaway and much needed down time and that our team provided exceptional service.

We enjoyed hearing about your favorite things and helpful hints as an Esperanza guest! Very nice comments and we are glad that you had a wonderful visit.

We look forward to saying hi again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was our second visit to Esperanza in two years, and it was as spectacular as ever. From the moment we landed and were picked up in a brand new Escalade to the final day of our four night stay, everything was flawless. On our first trip, we stayed in a beautiful palapa casita; this time, we upgraded to a terrace spa junior suite, right on the beach and steps from the gorgeous pool. One of the best things about Esperanza is the attention to detail. From the frozen fruit treats and foot massages by the pool, to the near instant response to requests from our personal "butler," they did not miss a beat. Every single staff member knew our name, which suite we were in, and what our likes/preferences were.

Breakfast each day was delicious and healthy, with a difference fresh fruit juice and homemade pastries and jams offered in addition to an extensive menu every morning; lunch was always light and easy by the pool or beach; and dinner at Cocina del Mar was terrific and gorgeous. We dined several times in our room at night, on the patio overlooking the sea of Cortez, and I highly recommend it.

We had decided to make this trip a "spa visit," and had three services each at the beautiful and serene spa. Sitting in the tranquil common area afterwards, listening to the waterfall and birds chirping, we had never felt so relaxed. Definitely try the aloe wrap and massage. The gym is perfectly adequate; not huge, but with plenty of cardio options, including spin bikes, and lots of free weights and Cybex machines.

All in all, we are counting the days until our next visit. While very expensive, Esperanza is worth every penny!

Room Tip: Rooms on second or third floor have great views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jill P,

Hi from Sunny Cabo! We’re glad that you enjoyed a second “Spa visit” to Esperanza.

Our beachfront suites are very relaxing indeed and I’m delighted that you were pampered and spoiled throughout your stay by our entire staff.

Please let us know when you will return so we can ensure a perfect third visit to Esperanza!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

There was no other choice for us to choose Esperanza for our wedding and this time we invited our friends. Each visit has been better than the last. If you want to feel special and welcomed, every day, this is your place! The staff, I consider friends. I wanted an intimate wedding and Claudia helped to arrange with attention to every detail. She is an angel! I showed up to my fairytale and enjoyed a week with dear friends. "Absolutely", Right Away and "Of Course" are terms that I heard all week Salvador was amazing,I'm still trying to figure out how to steal him away! Food, service, poolside/beach side foot massages; all exceptional! If you are a workaholic (guilty) and need a vacation or to celebrate something special-this is one stop shopping!
I love Esperanza!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Angela D,

Thank you for sharing such special memories at Esperanza! We enjoyed being a part of your fairytale wedding and ensuring every moment was magical. We are thrilled that Claudia and Salvador were able to cater to your every need and that you and your friends had a wonderful celebration!

We’d love to help with a special anniversary romantic getaway or hopefully a visit even sooner!

Congratulations again on behalf of the Esperanza Team!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days last summer with the family. The hotel is very private and was beautiful! The rooms were nicely decorated and very spacious. We stayed at the 4 bedroom Suite with an extra guestroom seperated from the main room. The suite has its own pool and jacuzzi! Perfect view by the cliff, to die for. My friends looking at some of our photos thought it was fake! Plus, you have a full on kitchen. Could not ask for more, my friends looking at some of our photos thought it was fake!

The food at the resort was good, although we cooked mostly so we made food on our own as walmart is 5-10 minutes drive.

The location was very convinient, not far from the airport and close to mostly everything.

Security is tight, our son leaves our villa at 8am and doesnt come back till 7pm! He just plays around with other kids at the resort with out worrying about safety. Theres a nice kids area, infinity pool and beach. We are planning on coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Khlyfzy,

Thank you for sharing a wonderful review from your family’s summer visit!
I loved reading that you enjoyed total relaxation and luxury. Our goal is that you will go home feeling relaxed and happy from Esperanza.

We hope your whole family is already planning a return visit!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the minute we arrived at Esperanza, we felt welcomed by everyone at the resort! The service is excellent by every level employee, they leave you wanting for nothing! We had several meals on the property and the food at each venue was delicious and views that make you want to stay forever! The villas are well stocked to make for easy food and drink preparation, if you decide to cook in. Nothing beats waking in the morning to the sound of the waves crashing and being able to walk down to the beach or choose one of the many amazing pools on the property to lounge by. The worst part of the vacation was having to say good-bye to Esperanza! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Cheryl M,

We enjoyed hearing about your fabulous trip to Esperanza! It is great to hear that you enjoyed excellent service by our team and delicious food as well. Thank you for your comments.

We hope you will all return very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.