We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Esperanza - An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose Esperanza primarily because of our past positive experiences at Auberge du Soleil in Napa over a number of years. In general it met or exceeded our expectations, especially in terms of the services, maintenance of the grounds and quality of the resort amenities. We rented a comfortable villa with our adult daughter and son-in-law. The dining options were solid, but not outstanding. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, but perhaps a little short on advice for activities beyound the usual. In total a very safe choice for premium accomodations for Cabo.
No surprises and very relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I'm delighted that we were able to meet your expectations and exceed them in terms of our Esperanza service! We love to receive feedback from our Auberge Resorts fans.

We hope you'll return for another relaxing stay!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    51
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
74
307
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We go here every year. Yes, it is expensive -- but it doesn't pretend otherwise. If you can afford it though, it is relaxing, gorgeous, and friendly. I have never had anything but the most excellent service. An excellent trip for couples, families, friends . . .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It is wonderful to hear from some of our dearest Esperanza fans!!!

Our Auberge Family loves seeing both of you each year and appreciate your feedback.

See you soon for another relaxing visit.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is our fourth time; we have always stayed at least 5 days, this time we extended our stay to 8 days. Unfailingly, the rooms have been clean, well-appointed, and well-maintained. The breakfast (included in our rate) is a pleasure: we can choose from a selection of Mexican and European/American fare--all delicious and plentiful (you may chose anything you like, and we often select two breakfast dishes per person because it is difficult to chose among the many yummy options). Our personal concierge has been friendly and attentive and arranged for all of our dinner outings. The common areas and pools are beautiful and, again, well-maintained. The resort offers various themed nights ("burger night;" "fish night" Mexicana with fireworks, etc), giving guests a number of diversions. This year for the first time the resort also offers the opportunity to roast your own marsh mellows over an open pit which we did one night (beware: the cost is $ 10 and is justified by the very generous portion of marsh mellows, crackers, three kinds of chocolate, large additional cookies and some bits of fruit (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries)--you may have to loosen your belt! Anyway, the entire facility is beautiful and the hotel restaurant overlooks the oceans where daily we see at a distances whales frolicking in the waves (rooms provide binoculars). Finally, the free exercise program offers a range of options. Even if you are not "into" yoga, take a class with Blanca--she is utterly amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a casita on the second or third floor (or if you want to spring for the extra cost, on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments from your fantastic stay! I am delighted that you decided to extend your stay this time.

Our team enjoys getting to know our dearest Esperanza fans and we thank you for your loyalty.

Come see us soon!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to have a family vacation first week of January 2013 couldn't think of a better place to start the new year off. The service is top notch everything you would expect from a hotel of this caliber. The spa is beautiful and the services are amazing. Would love to return every January !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Happy 2013 to you from the entire Esperanza family!

Esperanza is truly a beautiful property and I am delighted that you found our service to be amazing.

We hope that you will make this a family tradition and return every January with your family.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Esperenza for a "2nd Honeymoon" get away and Esperenza did NOT disappoint us. We originally booked a garden ocean front casita, which was wonderful. It had a great view of the adult pool, palm trees, and ocean. However, on our 2nd night there was leaking from spa upstairs at around 9pm - the downside, was that we had to stay in another room for the night - upside they let us keep our other room and then upgraded us to a Jr. Ocean Front suite with private spa the next day, which was worth the wait. The concierge, Elena was wonderful. Professional and kind - even when I became frustrated by the "inconveinence" of having to stay in another room for the night. She was gracious and the staff moved all our stuff to the new room and managed to place everything in the same spots which I had them??? Wonderful service!
The food was also delicious, spa was to die for, and ultimately we just relaxed and felt so pampered the entire time. We highly recommend for an adult only get-away or you can also bring kids, as they cater to them, as well.
Thank you Elena and the rest of the staff for making our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: As to be close to adult pool. Junior Suite 65 was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you from the entire team at Esperanza! We are so glad that your 2nd honeymoon at Esperanza was the luxurious and romantic getaway that you had hoped for!

Our beachfront casita #65 is one of our nicest suites and I am delighted that we were able meet your expectations.

Elena and our entire team hope you will be back very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a repeat trip to Esperanza in Cabo, Mexico, with the entire family (all the children and grandchildren). As previously, a wonderful experience with absolutely no "glitches" or downsides. Although obviously not inexpensive, did not feel at any point that the charges were not well worth it. Attentive staff to the point of complete pampering. Excellent restaurants, great concierge staff. Will obviously return again in spite of the long trip from the East Coast.

Room Tip: The villas are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed another visit to Esperanza!
Our entire team LOVES to pamper and spoil our guests and I'm delighted that you and your family wil be back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I meet my cousin and his wife here for a get away. We had a great time and the staff was over the top helpful.The rooms were very nice and the food was great. I have been all over the Carribean and Mexico. This resort is one of the nicest resorts I have been too. I just went back to Cobo for xmas with the wife and kids for xmas and new yrs. but stayed in a different hotel because there is not a lot for the kids at Esperanza. While the resort was very nice i cant wait till July to go back to Esperanza to meet my cousine, on our now, annual Esperanza trip.Thanks to Mark at Esperanza,

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It is wonderful to hear from you! I am delighted that you had a great time on your visit to Esperanza.

This holiday season our Residence Club Team organized daily children's activities such as Zip Line Adventures, Dolphin Encounter, Piñata Party, T-Shirt Painting, Horseback Riding and many more.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife and cousin in July and hope the whole family will visit again soon as well!

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.