We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Save Saved
You added Esperanza - An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ultimate Escape Save 35%
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

3 nights in a villa with wall to wall sliding doors opening to deck and private hot tub. Bed and settee were very comfortable. Grounds are immaculate; pool and beach nice and private. Restaurants were varied, all very comfortable, with good food and views. We did yoga each morning with Blanca, then had a great, full (un-yogalike) breakfast following. The beach was not a great swimming beach - a little rocky, but swimmable and pretty, and private. Spa was first class. The staff was very attentive, very courteous, and very plentiful. Made us feel special - and celebrated my wife's birthday in a memorable way. Resort is 10 minutes from downtown Cabo, perfectly apart from the crowds, but easy to get to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am delighted that you experienced an "outstanding" visit to Esperanza, an Auberge Resort!
Our staff was thrilled to hear that your wife enjoyed a memorable birthday celebration.

We hope to have you both back at Esperanza very soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    46
    15
    12
    8
See reviews for
69
277
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is my third trip to Esperanza in 18 months and I'm already reserving the next one! Where else can you watch the sun both rise and set on a perfect day with the most unspoiled of views? Nestled just between Old San Juan and Cabo the resort is stunningly beautiful and incredibly well appointed and maintained. The food is fresh and relevant, the tequila is abundant and the Staff could not be more gracious and accomodating no matter what area of the resort you are using.
The Spa is an oasis within the oasis and the fitness center is large, modern, and fully equipped. There is a jewel of a pool that goes on forever above a strip of beach.(And is totally seperate from the family pool.)
Lastly, the rooms alone are worth the trip. Wake up in your suite to views of the ocean and your own "inifinity" hot tub which can be seem from the picture window inside your mile wide walk-in shower for two and giant tub.
Esperanza is yet another gem in the Auberge family of jewels...

Room Tip: Ocean view Junior Suites are worth the extra dollars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Wow, what a great review! We love to hear from some of our biggest Auberge Resorts fans!

Our entire team here at Esperanza was delighted to receive your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends at Esperanza in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed last week for our second time at Esperanza. First time was in January and now in November. Everything at Esperanza is top notch. Everyone is there to assist you in anything you need. I had planned on proposing to my girlfriend and wanted to make is special. Mr Diego Weiss helped me make it unbelievable. He suggested I do it on Thursday night, as they have fireworks those nights. He arranged for a private table overlooking the ocean at the Concina del Mar. He had the executive chef Gonzolo prepare some dorado that we had caught the day before. The table area was all lit up with candles. It was so romantic. All of the staff was aware of what was going on, all except for my girlfriend. As dessert was brought, I proposed as fireworks went off over our heads.They even had a heart shaped firework. Couldn't have been any better. Diego and his staff went above and beyond. I couldn't thank them enough. A day we will never forget. If you have a special night coming up, ask for Diego. He will take care of you.
Thank you everyone at Esperanza for making our stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I'm delighted you enjoyed our "over the top service" here at Esperanza! I'm glad that Diego, Gonzalo and our entire team helped to make your engagement proposal an unbelievable occasion!
We would love to have the opportunity to help plan a spectacular wedding as well! Please come see us soon.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we stayed there for 4 nights in, we did not stay in the hotel but in the private villas. We had a 2 bedroom with our own private pool. It was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The beds were big and comfy, and the bathrooms huge and spacious. We had a bit of a problem with our sliding door and they came right away to fix the problem. Immaculate grounds and gorgeous pools. Yes the prices are up there, especially with the food and drinks, but since we had our own kitchen, we hired a driver who took us to Costco nearby and stocked up on drinks and food. There are outdoor BBQS so we grilled our fish and meats there. We went out to dinner once and lunch once at the hotel, and it was expensive, line NYC prices. A couple of margaritas and some fish tacos set us back $60. Beautiful resort though!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I'm thrilled that you enjoyed a "beautiful and very romantic" stay here at our Esperanza villas!
Yes, our spacious villas do include a nice state of the art kitchen and BBQ grill for grilling your steak or "catch of the day".

We hope you will return very soon!

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went with my wife for a romantic get together. Hotel car service was 40 minutes late. Ground floor rooms have your upstairs neighbor's balcony above your bed. If they're on their balcony, smoking and moving furniture - you're not sleeping. Asked to move rooms and we're told the hotel is 100% occupied. Called again 2 hours later and said we're not paying for the night. Somehow, they found a completely vacant 3 unit villa right across the walkway from us - and did eventually move us.

Now call me cheap, but for 900 a night and another 350 in food and beverage - I kind of expect something great. We met some friends at Las Ventanas for lunch; and we were so disappointed we didn't stay there instead. Beware, however. Las Ventanas lunch was 200 per couple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments from your recent stay at Esperanza, an Auberge Resort. I am concerned by your comments and I’m very sorry that your experience was not what you expected. All the same, I am working with our new Rooms Director to ensure that your experience is not duplicated. We aim to “wow” all our guests during their visit to Esperanza and while we enjoy a very good success rate at doing this, we really did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
We would love for you to give Esperanza another opportunity during your next visit to Los Cabos. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back at a future stage and provide you with a closer to perfect experience as your original visit should have been.

Yours Sincerely,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Top of the line resort and service to match. A great place for adults or kids. The grounds, rooms and villas are all amazing.

The staff are friendly and professional and the Esperanza is a place I would definitely return to. You almost do not want to leave the resort, you have everything here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you consider us to be "One of the top resorts in Cabo". We hope you will return soon in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my second trip to Esperanza in the same year. I could not have imagined that my first perfect trip would improve over the first trip, BUT IT DID! The hospitality and service was over the top! Everyone from the service staff (at all levels) greets you at all times of the day as well as management. I was unaware of my upcoming engagement and was BLOWN AWAY- management (Diego Weiss) worked with my fiance to make evening perfect. We had a private, candle lit table over looking the ocean at Cocina del Mar, the service and food impecable! Additionally prior to, I attended a wine dinner on property where Chef Gonzolo Cerda paired fabulous dishes with boutique wines from Napa Valley. I can't imagine going any where else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperanza_Manager, General Manager at Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
It is wonderful to hear about your 2nd visit to Esperanza! Congratulations on your engagement and I am delighted that Diego, Gonzalo and our entire team helped to create such a romantic evening.

Please come see us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Marc Rodriguez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esperanza - An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperanza - An Auberge Resort

Address: Carr. Transpeninsular Km 7 | Punta Ballena, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#2 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Esperanza - An Auberge Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the tip of the Baja Peninsula, Esperanza is located within the private enclave of Punta Ballena in Cabo San Lucas Mexico. Overlooking the Sea of Cortez, this highly acclaimed luxury resort offers an incomparable natural setting on 17 lushly landscaped acres. Fifty-seven guest casitas and suites cascade down a gentle hill affording spectacular ocean views from every room. Resort amenities include an oceanfront infinity-edge pool, private beach, award-wining spa, yoga studio, fitness center, art gallery and world-class dining—all with spectacular 180-degree vistas of sky and sea, for a perfectly private resort escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Esperanza - An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperanza - An Auberge Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Esperanza An Auberge
Esperanza Resort
Esperanza - An Auberge Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperanza - An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.