We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Lazaro Cardenas 2709,, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Comfy & Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I took my teenage daughters to this nearly new and modern hotel for 3 days, 2 nights over spring break. We were given a room with 2 double beds on the top (4th) floor overlooking the pool and distant ocean views. With the AC on low, we heard nothing at night and slept well on the comfortable beds. I'm a bit of a germaphobe and was relieved at the smooth tile floors and the blanket being wrapped in a crisp white sheet. No traditional bedspread, just a decorative band at the bottom of the bed. Bathroom has shampoo/conditioner, soap and hairdryer and is roomy enough for 2 girls to get ready in the AM. You will need to walk about 10 minutes down Boulevard Reforma to the locals beach or take a left out of the hotel to the marina to take a water taxi to the tourist beaches (Lovers, Divorce, etc.).
The reception staff has enough good english to direct you or book a tour.

The only negative is the cab ride from the airport, which is a set rate of $80 for a 20 minute ride. This is not any fault of the hotel, it is the rate all tourists pay to go to any of the hotels. There are car rentals you can book in advance from travelocity or others, and they are only $10/day with $15/day insurance (CDW is carried by most credit cards, so don't take this). We will do this if we ever visit again as it is an easy drive and the hotel has free parking.
The breakfast is basic - scrambled eggs, toast, muffins, bananas, apples, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee.

Room Tip: Top floor facing pool will get you an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again!

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
43
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Marriott Los Cabos in Cabo San Lucas is a new and well maintained hotel just a few blocks from main part of town: restaurants, night clubs and marina. Nice breakfast included. Was impressed with the fresh fruit and hot eggs in a free hotel breakfast. Alejandra the front desk girl always seemed so inconvenienced every time you ask a question or need assistance with something. She gives you the attitude, "I'm not paid enough to do anything but stand behind this desk, so don't ask me." The look on her face says it all.

The most upsetting and absolutely unacceptable event was when on day #2 of my 4 day stay in the Los Cabos Marriott is when all of sudden I couldn't get any internet connect. I need internet to run several internet companies I manage, not to play on Facebook or something trivial. The only reason I could go on a short vacation was because I connect to my employees and work.

After talking alerting Alejandra to the problem she said someone would fix it. Then hours went by. Called Alejandra again. She said a technical should be resetting the router soon. What? How many hours to turn on and off a router. After waiting most of the day for that enormous feat, the internet still did not work. Finally, after 6 hours they connected me to technical support which was obviously in India. After 20 minutes on the phone and the getting assigned a new IP address that didn't work. They said someone would call me back in 10 minutes to troubleshoot it, but nobody ever contacted me.

Nobody in the hotel could assist in anyway and either had dumb explanations which showed they didn't know anything about internet connections, servers or router or just gave me a blank look. I had to give up because nobody on any level could help in anyway or provide a solution.

I've been at the Marriott in the U.S. many times and this is the only time I've seen truly incompetent employees and people who don't have any place working with the public much less the front desk of a Marriott hotel.

It really tarnishes the reputation of Marriott. They should monitor these satellite foreign hotels more closely.

Room Tip: Get 2 double beds for an automatically larger room. The one king covers the entire room and you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family had to spend an extra night in Cabo before we could check in to our resort and chose this hotel because I could use minimal Marriott points. Looking at the pictures and location, I wasn't expecting too much but this is a real nice hotel. It's is really new. Rooms aren't the largest, but the bathrooms are big. The pool area and workout area are really nice. It was very quiet and walking distance to beaches. Overall a very nice stay.

The only complaint is their room service comes from the bar next door and all their breaded items tasted like fish. The kids did not enjoy their chicken strips but my chips and guacamole were good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos.
It is nice to know you liked the hotel as well as the service provided.
Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome and he hope to host you again!

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this hotel originally because I am a Marriott Gold and wanted to use points for our first trip to Mexico. We are delighted with our choice! The hotel is only a few years old, but is built better than many US hotels I have stayed in on my business travels. The sound insulation is excellent! We have been here 5 days so far and have never heard any of our immediate neighbors. It is very quiet. We have a view of the Sea of Cortez and a couple of the beach-side resorts from our 4th floor room. We can even see the rocks at Lands End.

Breakfast is included in the price and it is a very decent breakfast. There is always hot coffee available in the lobby area. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The internet speed has been quite satisfactory, unless you are trying to do a large download.

This is great value if you just want a very decent place to stay within an easy walk to Medano Beach, the Marina, and downtown Cabo.

There is a bus stop right by the hotel if you want to take the Inter-Baja to San Jose del Cabo (27 pesos) or, for a fun adventure, one the older white busses (same price) which are used by many of the locals.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room on the side toward the Sea of Cortez. You will not hear street noise anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

It is rewarding to read comments such as yours and it is satisfying to know that we can achieve what we strive for, which is to make you feel more than welcome and to fulfill all your expectations. . We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for taking the time to write us.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was my first visit to Cabo San Lucas and it was pretty great. This hotel is exactly like any Marriott in the states except you pay in pesos.
Things I liked: Clean, safe, free parking, 24 hour coffee available, walking distance to beach and marina, much cheaper than the beach front resorts. Also a small workout room!

Things that could have been better: Breakfast is included, but not a full breakfast as they claim. Expect croissants, toast, cereal, yogurt, some fruit...and then they have scrambled eggs and some terrible bean casserole thing. But since I like coffee and toast, it was pretty good. Pool was closed for about 24 hours right in the middle of our trip, which was kind of annoying.

All in all, if you are looking for an affordable but reliable place to stay, this is a great option.

Room Tip: The hotel has a "beach club" for an extra fee. I did not try it, but if your looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos. thanks for the comment that help us to provide good service ,Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First this is a clean American Style Hotel and most Americans will feel at home here.....BUT!

1. There is a Karoke bar on the west side of the hotel that operates until 3:30-4:00 AM and is VERY loud......the kind of loud that prevents sleep. Considering that only Stay in EVEN numbered rooms as they are away from the noise. (please...dont ignore this advice!)
2. The showers are lukewarm. they work ...but dont expect hot water.
3. The breakfast is sparse. there is no cereal of any kind. The baked good are stale and they dont offer meat. Eggs are actually good and they do keep the warm food at a reasonable temperature. the staff doesnt restock the food so it is first come first and only serve.
4. Wifi is FAST and reliable. Skype works flawlessly.
5. Staff: they are very nice but totally incompetent. If you ask for something they will be agreeable but they only follow thru about 50% of the time.....you can tell they want to help but have no idea of how.
6. Your charge card will be charges the full amount at the time of arrival...this isnt aproblem unless you want to change the charge card later.
7.. If you want to charge to your room ask ahead of time or you wont be able to.
If you arrive as a large group be prepared to wait for check in as the staff seems confused aand unfocused as to how to actually check folks in.
8. The staff is very honest. They held and returned thechange I forgot at the front desk.
9. the hotel is a 1/4 of a mile from downtown. and you do not need a taxi or other transport.
10. The hotel has a shuttle for airport trips.

As a aircrew we get to lots of places that are vacation spots. If you want a excellent reasonably priced vacation La Romana in the Dominican republic beats ANY of the Mexican resorts and is very safe. The beaches are pritine. The staffs are professional. The booze is top shelf. The grounds immaculate and the rooms are clean.
Why anyone would vacation in Cabo is beyond me but if Whoring, drinking, drugging and fishing is your game Cabo is the place.

Room Tip: ONLY! ONLY ONLY accept EVEN numbered rooms!!!!! this is NS!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn By Marriott Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a week in Cabo. So relaxing and warm and welcoming. This was our second stay at the Fairfield Inn there. It still looks new and clean. We had partial ocean view rooms on the even side. The staff is helpful, the wifi works well and the free breakfast is enough to tide you over (although a bit more variety would be nice). There is a safe and a refrigerator in the room which is nice. Of course this is not a deluxe resort with ocean-front views or concierge and spa services, but for less than $100/night (or very few Marriott Reward points per night) it is worth the 10 minute walk to the beach. We always rent a car for flexibility and the parking is free and right outside the door at this hotel. I would recommend and I would return to this hotel (although I did hear they are building a JW Marriott in San Jose that I might be tempted to try in 2015!)

Room Tip: High floor on the even side will give you a peek of the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn by Mariott to host your trip while in Los Cabos. We are glad that you like the hotel and the location was convenient for you to enjoy your stay. Thank you for your comment and we hope to host you again.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos

Address: Avenida Lazaro Cardenas 2709,, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is strategically located at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas, in the main Avenue, and within walking distance to Los Cabos principal beaches, golf courses, malls, restaurants and night clubs. We are also only five minutes away from the Marina and Medano Beach, the only swimmable beach in Cabo San Lucas, and near the main attractions of the city such as the famous Arch, Puerto Paraiso Mall, Cabo Dolphins, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.