We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, free parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Lazaro Cardenas 2709,, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, free parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Within walking distance of downtown Cabo, super easy to find. Free parking, clean / new room, cool bathroom with a large single piece of glass for the shower. No fan in the bathroom, Mexican food fan.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side away from the main street are quieter. Parking and the lobby make up the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
43
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want to visit Cabos but are on a budget, then the Marriott Fairfield Inn is the way to go. I was skeptical at first being that it is only a category 1 hotel. However, it was very clean, the staff was friendly, nice pool area, and within walking distance of the harbor, shops, beach, dining, and night life. If I were to find one negative it would be the breakfast buffet. Choices and taste of food was fine, but there was only one lady trying to handle it all and it became a bit overwhelming at times where the coffee and food trays were empty for awhile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Gerente General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A few months prior had the luxury of going to Cabo for the first time and staying at the RIU Palace, a great all inclusive with wonderful grounds, tremendous service and very bad wine.

Last week my buddies and I decided to take a fishing trip, from Los Angeles and shoot down to Cabo for two day. We had no kids, no wives, and wanted to be near the downtown party area and Marina.

To steal a little from my Palace post there are bascially 3 Cabos:

1) San Jose de Cabo

2) Cabo San Lucas

3) Everything around both of these Cabos.

1) The San Jose de Cabo is where you fly into, the Airport code for all of them is SJD. Cabo San Lucas Libramienta Aeropuerto. Most of the great hotels and massive all inclusives are between San Jose de Cabo and Cabo San Lucas along route 1...Route 1 terminates into San Jose de Cabo and is a great party town, with clubs, bars, and an awesome modern safe Marina.

You want to stay on this stretch on Route 1 (there are many amazing hotels/all inclusives along the road), or if you are feeling adventuous stay in town at some of the dives.

There is a large cluster of very good resorts near downtown Cabo San Lucas and the Marina. That is where you want to stay in my opinion. You can walk along the beach if you are in decent shape to the marina and town, which is awesome and fun for virtually anyone of any age.Plus, this is where a lot of the activiities are if you like adventure/fishing/shopping/eating/etc.

My buddies and I had to be up at 4:30 AM to meet the boats at the Marina and get our fishing licenses, so we wanted something safe, close, yet clean, and quite.

That is is the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos.

The Good:

1. You can walk downtown in 5 minutes
2. It is safe, clean, predictable...for any american/canadian on a budget it is the right hotel even with kids, and will feel familiar. Although I would sayit i better for fishing trip buddies, cost conscious couples, and business people.
3. Parking was awesome and free. We rented a car (the airport is 30 minutes away and there is a grea toll road that is beautiful and scenic.
4. Price was fantastic for the room size, amenities, and service.
5. Free Continental style breakfast, not great but open early and free
6. Super clean and friendly
7. We ate, drank, and stumbled back to the hotel in minutes and it was easy.
8. Hotel was well built and reasonably quiet.
9. The staff was great and helped us with our fishing charter
10. It is new and new is nice. New sheets, new beds, new carpet (not in rooms), new wall paper, etc
11. Great bathrooms, clea, tons of hot water and water pressure.

The Bad:
1. The pool. It is not a resort. Do not come here expecting the 4 Seasons or Secrets...it is a price point hotel in great proximity to downtown. Pool had sun some grass and a 14 foot fence around it for a reason.

2. Day noise from the auto and industrial shops, tolerable.

The Ugly:

1. The views. The Hotel is surrounded by Route 1 (not scenic on this part) an industrial complex, other distant ugly buildings, and a bar next door. All of the views in my opinion were bad and I saw 3 high floor views on 3 sides of the building.

2. My friend who stayed on the bar side said he heard noise. I stayed on the back of the building over the industrial complex and didnt hear a sound.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Route 1 and the mexican Karaoke bar on the right side (facing the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Director General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was mine and my husband's first time in Cabo. We are used to sticking to brands we were familiar with- and The Marriott in Cabo San Lucas was just perfect!

It's a 10 minute walk to the main marina with restaurants, shops and Luxury Avenue. We went to the Marina almost every night to have dinner, except one night we decided to stay in- there is a Domino's and McDonald's nearby (2 minute walk). We did a sunset cruise from the Marina, which we definitely recommend.

The hotel is new and therefore the rooms were modern, clean and just perfect for us. There is safe for you to use, and fridge that we used for drinks we bought. Beds are immaculate and feel like a bed from home. No onsite restaurant but next to a place that offers room service.

We got a breakfast package so from 6:30-10am they served a light breakfast in the lobby. It's eggs, sausage, hotdogs, French toast, fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee and juices- might be minimal but all were well prepared and hearty.

This resort is great for couples who enjoy walking! You could take cabs, but the walks are not that bad, especially when you have great company :)

We also got day beach passes to the lovely Casa Dorada (from The Marriott with a package price), which was right on the beach, and also a 10 minute walk. Once you're there, it's worth staying all day at this beautiful resort- big, clean beautiful pool, an abundance of high quality pool chairs, AND you get $40 to spend on food. We had a delicious lunch everyday and made sure to come during happy hours which was 11-12 and 4-5. We walked on the beach- just be prepared there are vendors everywhere on the beach and they'll come up to you, but a "no gracias" will get them to move on. The sites from this beach is beautiful! It where cruise ships dock, so there are lots of activities- jetskis, water boats, water taxis, and much more.

If we ever come back to Cabo, we'd come back here. Location is perfect here, and the value is very worth it.

Would recommend for any traveler!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Gerente General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please know that it is our biggest pleasure to comply and satisfy all your needs. It is nice to know that you enjoy your stay in couple and the location was convenient for you!
Thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn by Marriott and we hope to host you on your future, hopefully on your next visit in Los Cabos.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'll start by saying that this was our first trip to the Los Cabos area and we are Marriott Rewards Platinum members. We stayed in early January and the town was fairly quiet and appeared to be their low season.

Pros:
- Very affordable
- New, modern, nice design
- Good location to walk everywhere you'd want in Cabo San Lucas
- Free breakfast and internet
- Looked like it had a nice, new gym -- although we didn't use it

Cons:
- Rooms are not sound-proof
- Not a beach hotel, but it's not that bad of a walk (although it is partially up hill)
- If you've never been to Mexico, walking the area may scare you... but it's really actually quite safe -- the same can be said for all of Cabo San Lucas once you leave the beach/marina
- Small, uninviting pool area with nice furniture, but people were using it

This is definitely the best bang for your Marriott points / e-certificates from what we've experienced. Keep in mind, this is a hotel, not a resort.

Very nice, new, modern hotel with a city / commercial location situated about 10 minutes walk to Medano Beach, the Cabo San Lucas Marina, and Cabo San Lucas downtown. We stayed in a king room (fairly firm bed, but comfortable) with a nice view of the Sea of Cortez overlooking the pool (room 406). While the sea view was nice, there is a scrapyard of some sort also within direct view since we were a few blocks from the beach.

Given that some of the best restaurants are in town and away from the beach, this hotel was situated perfectly that we could walk everywhere -- we do like to walk.

Free breakfast was a nice perk -- although some options are limited if you don't eat pork (including the days when chorizo is mixed in with the scrambled eggs). Good variety of pastries, hot food (eggs, hashbrowns, oatmeal, chorizo), salsa, cereals, yogurts, and fresh fruit (cantaloupe, papaya, green apples, and bananas) as well as beverages (milks, Sunny D, apple juice, water, tea, and coffee).

Wireless internet was also included and we seemed to have to keep re-connecting to it from our smart phones, but we used it sparingly (looking up restaurants and locations) so it wasn't a major inconvenience.

While not advertised, there is a form of room service available: there is a menu in the room for the restaurant/bar next door who will deliver meals to your room until 10pm. We did not try this...

As others have mentioned, there is a karaoke bar next door but it was very quiet whenever we walked by at night (again, likely the time of year).

As a Platinum member, we were offered an arrival gift of 500 points or a choice of a beverage (water, juice, wine or beer) and snack from the lobby market.

We took advantage of the Casa Dorada beach pass for 330 pesos each ($25) which got us access to the grounds, pool, and beach area at Medano beach and a $20 food/beverage credit. Between two of us, we got 4 orders of 2x1 drinks and 1 order of 2x1 food during happy hour (they have one food option for happy hour and it changes every day, the drinks have to be the same for 2x1 unless you ask politely for an exception) and still enough left over for a tip.

That said, we only did it one day and found that we could get a better value at the Mango Deck -- although there is a lot more harassment from the beach vendors once in the public areas!

We booked our airport transfer with cabosanlucastours.net and received a discounted transfer with TransCabo. While not advertised, the hotel is able to arrange for airport transfers. This is displayed in the lobby, but we did not inquire about the price since we were already setup.

Area recommendations:
- Hacienda hotel: beautiful hotel with a great restaurant situated on the western stretch of Medano Beach with few-to-none beach vendors. Love their fish tacos and they make excellent mojitos. Great views from the beach and upper restaurants for lunch or dinner. If we could afford it, this would be the place to stay!
- Lovers Beach: catch a water taxi from Medano Beach to see El Arco (the arch) and spend a few hours relaxing and exploring Playa del Amour (Lovers Beach). We paid 250 pesos for two, roundtrip. We brought beers from Oxxo (it's like a 7-11, across the street from the hotel, next to the gas station) and take out lunch from El Huarachazo.
- Medano Beach: relaxing in front of the Hacienda hotel and the ME (Nikki Beach, for the music, at least on Sunday) were our favorite spots

Restaurant recommendations:
- Hacienda Cocina y Cantina - the best fish tacos and tortilla soup we've ever had, great ambience, views, service and quality food/drink
- Chamuyo - I've never tasted beef rib like this, very romantic outdoor Argentinean restaurant (for when you get sick of Mexican food) -- this is very close to the hotel, you'll walk past it on your way to the beach
- Los Tres Gallos - feels like it is situated in a sketchy neighborhood, but the walk is actually very safe and the restaurant is beautiful with excellent, authentic (and somewhat exotic) Mexican cuisine
- Misiones de Kino - located downtown on a quiet street, another excellent, authentic Mexican restaurant serving freshly caught seafood -- apparently they will prepare your catch if you fish!
- El Huarachazo - another off the main path, excellent, authentic Mexican restaurant great for breakfast and lunch. Their carne asada was the perfect meal for a day at Lover's Beach. Very reasonably priced.

Overall, while we did not really care for Cabo San Lucas (the desert landscape, the cheesiness of downtown, and constant harassment from beach vendors, marina restaurants, and downtown bars), this was probably the best hotel to ensure you really experienced the town. We enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it for those on a budget who like to walk a little and explore and not be confined to a beach resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, pool facing room with a view of the Sea of Cortez. These tend to be quieter. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, Gerente General at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to read comments such as yours and it is satisfying to know that we can achieve what we strive for, which is to make you feel more than welcome and to fulfill all your expectations. your comment will help another travelers so thank you for sharing! we hope to host you once again and thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn by Marriott.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel while visiting Cabo San Lucas last month. The check in was slow but the staff made us feel welcome. It is well maintained and the lobby has a warm and inviting feel to it. They offer complimentary internet in the rooms, complimentary breakfast and you have unlimited access to computers in the lobby area. The hotel staff is helpful but can be rude at times. The complimentary breakfast that they offer is great. They have quite a selection to chose from and they keep everything well stocked. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The hotel is walking distance from the Marina District, where there are plenty of great resteraunts. I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott. Please know that it is a pleasure to offer you the best service to make you feel welcome. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again and thank you for choosing us!

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The check-in was a bit slow but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and good for doing office work. There is free internet and parking and you are walking distance from the Marina District (good restaurants). The bathroom was excellent and everything was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. My problem with this hotel is my hotel room faced onto an open air Kareoke bar and I was kept awake ALL night due to TERRIBLE singing. This was a problem given I had to work the next day. This is a good hotel but I won't return as there is the risk of a sleepless night.

Room Tip: Ensure your room doesn't face onto the bar next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesar Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent experience at Fairfield Inn by Marriott. We want to apologize for the noise that disturbed your stay. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where everything exceeds their expectations. We are sorry if that was not the case during your stay. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns. Please stay with us again so that we can demonstrate our commitment.

Cesar Zapata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos

Address: Avenida Lazaro Cardenas 2709,, Cabo San Lucas 23453, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is strategically located at the entrance of Cabo San Lucas, in the main Avenue, and within walking distance to Los Cabos principal beaches, golf courses, malls, restaurants and night clubs. We are also only five minutes away from the Marina and Medano Beach, the only swimmable beach in Cabo San Lucas, and near the main attractions of the city such as the famous Arch, Puerto Paraiso Mall, Cabo Dolphins, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.