We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Presidential Suite with wrap balcony is the very, very best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas to your Saves list
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Playa Grande 1A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Presidential Suite with wrap balcony is the very, very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our family's 4th trip to the end Presidential Suite on the Ridge. We can not imagine a better room or a better location. The spectacular views of the marina, the Sea of Cortez,and the Pacific are unbeatable. The convenience of being able to walk into the marina at any time make all the difference to our family of widely varying ages. Whale watching at the endless pool is a daily experience we pine for when we get home. But what make the visit the very best is the wonderful concierge service we get from Aldo and from the rest of the Ridge staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Love2Leave
Thank you for your accomplishments. I agree with you, our resort has an amazing location, that allow to discover Cabo in all its different faces.
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please come back soon to give us an opportunity to pamper you!
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    34
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
59
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have a Presidential Penthouse on the Ridge and for the past 2-3 years my frustration level has increased to a point where I'm not sure its worth it to go anymore. The problem is a dog kennel that is across the street from the Naval station and right outside my unit. The constant barking effects our sleep and makes it impossible to enjoy the fantastic wrap around deck with great views. I have tried talking to the management, but nothing can get done. With many other location options, I'm amazed the city government would allow this to continue on this site. So close to the marina and right next door to supposedly a 5 star resort. Things are "not" wonderful on the Ridge. Make sure you avoid these rooms when booking or you too will be very "frustrated" with the noise...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Edward B,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write your experiences regarding your recent stay. Our guests’ comments give us important feedback on our performance and provide us with great ideas on how to improve our service.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for your experiences with us here in our hotel. I am very sorry about the noise issues you have experienced.
Thank you again for you valuable remarks and we hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

pools 10, staff 10 (ernesto, joni, all of the activities staff, I mean all of the activities staff), hotel 10, all inclusive 10, restaurants 9. cleanliness 10. there were staff members painting clean walls. The place was almost flawless. We stayed in the "ridge" wing. I'm not sure how the other rooms were but this place was cool.

Never a problem, never any scams, they were always looking out for the guest. no vendors on the beach (cant swim due to undertow but pretty). Food was a little pricey but since we got all inclusive, who cares. All inclusive meant Wifi (not great), gym, putt putt golf ($16 and really fun) 1/2 off room service, All the nightly dinner parties/shows (40 to 50 bucks), poolside drinks and food, all 3 restaurants. Of course we had a couple bad items from the restaurants but we ate there 3 to 4 times a day for 8 days. Pizza was "kids pizza", no flavor. Drinks were grey goose and crown royal. the all inclusive was a bargain after eating and drinking all day. We went to town a couple of times and then asked ourselves "why?" Service was amazing. Joni and Ernesto had a high chair waiting for our ten month old every night. The entertainment staff was great family fun, they did a great job.

The bad...not much. Loud neighbors upstairs but staff took care of it.

We will be booking again for next time.

jim

Room Tip: ocean side has great ocean views during the day/pool by night, marina side was a little bit of a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jim
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed the all inclusive option as well as the pool, our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been staying here for the past 6 years and truly love the staff, atmosphere and amenities! Although we discovered a trend this year that is not so appealing. The pool bars all closed by 5:30pm, bummer. The restaurants were not all available for meal as in years past limiting the availability to one. Breakfast is only offered at the Brigantine. And on some nights there was only the lobby bar for food or an 'event' buffet at considerable expense when all you want is a good meal and not the entertainment. Not cool. We have stayed on the 'Ridge' which is nice during the day but the sounds of the harbor music continue until early morning hours. Staying on the beach side is more peaceful at night but there is a lot going on around the pools during the day, bingo, volleyball, etc. Still, all in all, we will continue to go back because it is a great place! Most of the staff remain year after year and provide specialized service! This is not all inclusive, which makes it appealing because you can choose to eat at local establishments!

Room Tip: The 'Ridge' can be noisy in the early morning hours (12:30 AM - 4:30 AM) if your doors are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Pamela,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day. For us is really important your feedback and is heart warming to realize that our dedication is in the right path, as our goal is not only to make our guests return but to make them feel more comfortable each time and to notice the improvements in our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a beautiful property with outstanding access to the marina and panoramic views everywhere. But its strongest suit is its customer service. There's nothing the concierge and entire staff won't do for you. We had an unexpected medical emergency, and it was handled quickly and efficiently. Playa Grande always delivers.

Room Tip: Say what you will about the dogs or noise, we LOVE overlooking the marina. The noise level was a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Traveler,
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed on the Ridge,which is up high on the cliff. Two infinity pools looking out over the ocean and the other view overlooking the marina. We had a fantastic time thanks to the staff. Flavio greeted me every morning at the pool. We had breakfast there every morning. The staff was spectacular, Flavio, Luis, Ismial, Fernando and all the other staff were AWESOME

Room Tip: stay on the ridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Dennis C,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Playa Grande is an amazing place to stay and is located in a perfect position to be close to both pools and oceans. The staff is amazing and recognize us each year. We stay at the Ridge, and Fernando took terrific care of us!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views and ground floor rooms allow you to sit on your deck and enjoy pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear KLarson
Thank you for your lovely review, It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I´m glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Your comments will share with pleasure with Fernando who I’m sure will be happy to know that you remember him.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Address: Av Playa Grande 1A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Every stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande comes with a 4 Diamond Resort rating from AAA. It’s easy to see why. The Ridge lives up to its name. It is strategically perched on a nautral rock ridgeline that just happens to offer one of the most stunning views in all of Los Cabos. In one direction is the mighty Pacific Ocean. In the other, the enticingly blue Sea of Cortez. That’s not all. The Ridge is a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the Cabo marina and just minutes from the shopping, dining and nightlife of downtown Cabo. The Ridge is also the perfect starting point for fishing, snorkeling, jet skiing, beachcombing and cruising around El Arco, the world famous arch.If you want to stay close to home, The Ridge offers three infinity-edge pools. One is connected to the children’s pool by a spiral waterslide. Another features a swim-up bar. Doesn’t that sound like heaven? A cool beverage and a tasty appetizer while you relax in an infinity-edge pool.For more formal dining, there are several first-class restaurants in the resort., including The Ridge, a popular choice for all-day dining and Mediterranean dishes. You also have access to the restaurants at the sister properties of Playa Grande and the Solmar Resort. For the ultimate in dining experiences, you can even have your meal prepared in your suite by a private chef.Of course, The Ridge is a full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge At Playa Grande Luxury Villas Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.