We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely fantastic!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas to your Saves list
The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Playa Grande 1A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“absolutely fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been coming to Playa Grande since 2006 and have always had a great experience.The staff are friendly and very attentive.if you want something just ask , and if it can be done they will try to make it happen. We caught fish during this trip and brought it to chef Jesus on the Ridge,where we were staying,and asked him to prepare it for us.Well he totally blew us away! The fish was blackened, grilled, tempura, sashimi, sushi with several delicious dipping sauces and salsas and the presentation was beautful. The best part was having it all delivered to our room.I would like to thank Juan, who was our waiter and helped to facilitate our wonderful dinners for nine people on two different nights.And a big thankyou to Jesus, our chef, for an outstanding experience. You really made our vacation special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guests from Carmel, New York:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “absolutely fantastic!!!!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at The Ridge Luxury Villas Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    35
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
64
67
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first stay at The Ridge at Playa Granda. For those new to this location, the Playa Granda is the resort that is built on the Pacific Ocean side and the "Ridge" is a resort that is part of the same resort, but literally attached at the lobby and then constructed and connected by elevators and buildings to the top of the "ridge". From the infinity pools located atop of the "ridge" you can see both the Pacific Ocean and the harbor. This is an amazing view from any angle. The maid did an outstanding job with the room every day. The pools were clean and just the right temp. There was always open chairs by the pools at the ridge which was different then where we have had to get out early to reserve chairs with towels. The service from everyone was outstanding; in particualr Miguel the host at the restaurant at the ridge which is poolside. We stayed in a one bedroom and brought our 5 and 7 year old boys; they simply loved the waterslide and pool at the "ridge". One day we went down to the Playa Grande main resort to check out the pools; they were fine, had many more people in them, but no water slides there for the kids. The food poolside was good; not great, not bad, but doable. You might want to make a run into Cabo to get waters and other snacks for the room. There are many places to eat and everyone will have their favorites. It is a short walk into town for food or to catch a water taxi out to lover's beach. There are plenty of activities if you want to keep busy. You have to pay extra for internet access; for access to the exercise room, for access to the mini-golf area, and the full breakfast we bought in our package was literally the same (eggs anyway you want them) everyday. We suspect this was intended to get us to upgrade to the all inclusive meal plan; which we did not do, and likely is only a good value if you drink a lot of alcohol which we don't. This was our third time to Cabo San Lucas and the nicest place we have stayed in terms of room, view, pools, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top of the "ridge" near the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests from Lynnwood, Washington:

Thank you for your comment “The Ridge at Playa Granda, January 2013”““Great stay!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at the Ridge at Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the balcony, we overlooked the marina. Out the front door, we could watch whales in the Pacific or the Sea of Cortez while soaking in a hot tub and drinking margaritas. Our room was clean, spacious and had one of the best views we've ever had!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guests from Westerville, Ohio:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and for your comment “Wonderful view!"
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from spending Christmas week at The Ridge at Playa Grande. Our family of four enjoyed a wonderful stay. The hotel is perfectly located on the pacific ocean directly across from the marina. Of our many trips to Cabo, this is the best location we have found.

The rooms are large and offer separate bedrooms and bathrooms for families. Our one bedroom suite was plenty of space for our family. Our kids quickly made friends at the waterslide pool and were asking if they could go to kids club every day with their friends. They had a great time and did not want to leave.

I really have no complaints at all about the room, facilities, service, or food. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. Perhaps my only critical feedback is they do charge you for nearly everything. WiFi. Internet. Towel Cards. Exercise Room. etc. Each carry a minimal fee. On the plus side, the exercise room is very nice and has new equipment that works flawlessly.

I would definitely return to this resort and recommend it to everyone -- it is a great place.

Pro Tip: directly across the street at the marina is a catamaran tour operated by PEZ GATO. we took the whale watching trip and had a blast. The ride was rough so if you get seasick you may not enjoy -- but if you enjoy getting splashed on a catamaran this is a great time.

Room Tip: our room 3010 faced the marina and we all slept fine. no barking dogs. some music in the distance bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Colorado:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “perfect for families with kids” and for choosing The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Hoping to see you soon again we send you our best regards from sunny Cabo San Lucas!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend the whole Thanksgiving week (partly because we both had 2 days off work anyway) at Playa Grande in Cabo San Lucas, through an RCI vacation exchange.
The resort is immaculate with fabulous views, one afternoon we even saw a pod of 3 whales in the ocean right from the pool! The appetizers at the Ridge Restaurant & Bar, such as shrimp nachos or shrimp quesadillas were piled high with succulent fresh shrimp - delicious! and just one order was often enough for a light lunch for the two of us (trying to save our appetite for a great dinner at the resort or at one of many great, inexpensive restaurants at a walking distance from the resort. We were also mindful of not gaining too much weight on vacation, yet we each gained ~ 5 lb's; but it was all worth it). Of note, they have 2 for 1 drinks every day 2-4 pm. Teo at the Ridge restaurant & Ana Karen at the reception desk are deserving of special mention for their superb and gracious service!

Room Tip: higher floors have grander views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guests from Corpus Christi, Texas:
You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “fabulous view, food & exceptional service”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My first stay at The Ridge. I have stayed at Playa Grande and Grand Solmar on several occasions. We were not disappointed. Our 2 bedroom suite overlooked the marina. One unique part of the suite was the dome in the master. We were on the top floor.

Saturday night was not loud at all. You do have to hike a bit. You will have your share of excerise by the end of the week. Overall, not a bad experience at over looking the marina, but I enjoy the beach vista more. On a return trip will have to try the beach view at The Ridge.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guests from Austin, Texas:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Our best regards from sunny Puerto San Lucas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Ridge in building E, Rm 3421. Our balcony overlooked the Marina, the Naval facility, the Grand Solmar construction entrance and the infamous barking dogs protecting the Land's End property. The two bedroom Presidential Suite was nicely appointed and the view of the Marina at night was nice. However, if you do not like walking and are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. The clubs across the Marina boom electronic music until 5AM which is when the dogs start barking. We figured out that if we kept the AC on all night, we could overcome the partyfest with white noise. After that we were OK. We are runners and very fit, but the constant up and down to get to our unit from the lobby was even tiring for us. BIG TIP: The street door to the Marina from units D & E at the Ridge is open only from 12PM to 12AM. Keep your visists to downtown and the Marina and you can save a lot of hoofing. Outside of that, you walk all the way around. Adds 15 minutes. Also, if you are OK with a rock scramble and some beach hiking, you can get to Divorce Beach, Lovers Beach and El Arco from Solmar Beach. Also, if you rent a car, you can self park, you do not need to valet.

Room Tip: Stay away fro buildings D&E if you are a light sleeper. Get into one of the higher units near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guests from Long Island, NY:

On behalf of The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide with you an even better experience at The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas

Address: Av Playa Grande 1A, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
: Every stay at The Ridge Luxury Villas at Playa Grande comes with a 4 Diamond Resort rating from AAA. It’s easy to see why. The Ridge lives up to its name. It is strategically perched on a nautral rock ridgeline that just happens to offer one of the most stunning views in all of Los Cabos. In one direction is the mighty Pacific Ocean. In the other, the enticingly blue Sea of Cortez. That’s not all. The Ridge is a stone’s throw from the hustle and bustle of the Cabo marina and just minutes from the shopping, dining and nightlife of downtown Cabo. The Ridge is also the perfect starting point for fishing, snorkeling, jet skiing, beachcombing and cruising around El Arco, the world famous arch.If you want to stay close to home, The Ridge offers three infinity-edge pools. One is connected to the children’s pool by a spiral waterslide. Another features a swim-up bar. Doesn’t that sound like heaven? A cool beverage and a tasty appetizer while you relax in an infinity-edge pool.For more formal dining, there are several first-class restaurants in the resort., including The Ridge, a popular choice for all-day dining and Mediterranean dishes. You also have access to the restaurants at the sister properties of Playa Grande and the Solmar Resort. For the ultimate in dining experiences, you can even have your meal prepared in your suite by a private chef.Of course, The Ridge is a full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge At Playa Grande Luxury Villas Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge at Playa Grande Luxury Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.