We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$75 US Resort Credit
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Playa Grande is a tremendous resort. We loved the Mexican Fiesta and the Beach Party. The resort staff was attentive and very helpful. The whole experience was wonderful. The real stand outs were Roberto, Umberto, Luiz, Rose and the rest of the entertainment staff. Totally professional and personable. A vacation of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,418
    600
    138
    80
    59
See reviews for
724
860
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful resort! We had a penthouse suite which could have fit 10 people. amazing rooms! Our back veranda overlooked the marina and a bus stop. It was interesting to watch the cruise ships and boats early in the morning and in the evening. However, that side can be rather noisy. We were near the adult pool which was fabulous! Great breakfast service and food which is where we ate every morning. There is a coffee cart outside the lobby if you are looking for specialty coffee but its not included in the all inclusive. The walk to the lobby, main pools and restaurants is a long walk. If your not into exercise, you may not want to stay up at The Ridge where the adult pool is. We were never pushed into any timeshare presentation which was great! The food at every restaurant is very, very good! We were not disappointed. The beach party and buffet on Wed. Nights was a lot of fun! I would definately stay here again. My only word of advice would be if you are exchanging through RCI to stay here- DONT forget your RCI certificate/reservation. That caused me a bit of grief upon check-in.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Twp., Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Personally can't say enough about the staff, Juan, Daniel,Ramon and the house keeping staff. Every year, their hospitality makes the trip worth the long distance travel.
A point that needs to be made as our family see's it that things take place that shouldn't because of the lack of security. Ex. Pool behavior i.e jumping off Walls to another pool putting young children at risk. Also noted this year was a lack of service support and clean up. All things considered we made it through but disappointed with Management consideration with safety.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There were some things I really liked and some things I didn't...
LIKED:
1)Pool activities and entertainment people were great. I loved tequila volleyball, ping-pong, lazy games, etc.
2) The lobster restaurant was awesome! I think it was called puerto san lucas
3) Beach Party night was very fun
4) The 2 room/2 bathroom suite was great. It was nice to have all that space and the balcony.
5) Nice to be close to town. Probably not walkable if you have kids under 10.
6) The pool food was pretty good. They had great sushi available poolside.
DISLIKED:
1) The fact that you had to sign for everything. We had the all-inclusive for 3 days and it was a pain to sign everything. I have been to all-inclusives (club med, rui) and you didn't have to do this. My kids were unable to order anything for themselves..including water or soda. Every single thing had to be signed for!!1 WHY??? We have the bracelets on.
2) We were expecting to stay in the hotel and for some reason we were put at "The Ridge". While the view of the marina was nice, it was way toooooooooo long of a walk to the main pool.
3) The service at the Ridge restaurant was beyond slow and they weren't crowded. I ordered easy things 3 different times and it took 30 mins each time (it was for snack items not dinner).
4) There are no jacuzzi's for kids.
5) The bathroom water in the room on one night was yellow. They said it was sulfer??? Yikes.
6) The swim-up bar service took forever- even when you were the only one there.

I think this place is great for many people and we did enjoy our time there but we will not come back and got to a place where you don't have to sign for everything if it's all inclusive. We visited Rui Palace 2 years ago and would go back there.

Room Tip: Don't go to "the ridge" area unless you don't plan on going to the main pool. Way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemon Grove, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I always love my stay while at the Playa Grande Resort because it offers everything that I want in a vacation. When the hurricane hit Cabo San Lucas last year, I had to ask myself what sets PG over any other place to be because you can always get pools, beach, activities anywhere but by far it is their employees that push it to the top. In my lifetime, I will return year after year knowing that I will be taking care of and that I am safe.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Ivywestmoreland
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time. I´m glad you enjoyed your stay.
I agree that our staff are amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward keep welcoming you for many years to come.
Best wishes from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Playa Grande last week and it was fantastic! The staff makes everyone feel at home and everyone we met was friendly and fun to spend time with. We are not owners here, but traded through the RCI exchange, and wow what a find. Mexican fiesta and beach party are a must to do. Roberto and his staff (Umberto, Rose, Luis, and others) are the best at entertaining the crowd. Pools were excellent and the attendants were very good. The pool drinks and food was also very good.
Our unit was a 2 bedroom and 3 bath penthouse suite. It was fantastic and spacious. Our friends that came with us could not believe the unit and resort was so clean and well maintained for being so large.
We walked to town and ate at various restaurants during the week, however we did utilize in the "all inclusive" for three days. It was a nice feature and we enjoyed the convenience.
We have been to Cabo 3 times before, but can't wait to return on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Chiefpowhatan
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
I agree our Mexican Fiesta & Beach Party as you mentioned are a Must to Do! Definitely our guests had a great time!
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found Playa Grande while visiting Cabo San Lucas in 2007 on our honeymoon. We fell in love and started staying there each April for our anniversary. In 2010 we decided to buy which we did and now we stay 2 weeks each April-May. The views are amazing and we can stay at The Ridge which overlooks the Sea of Cortez or on the Pacific side. We prefer the Pacific side because we love falling asleep to the sounds of the waves crashing against the shore. El Arco (Lands end) is just down the beach from Playa Grande. Grand Solmar is next door and both are owned by Solmar Enterprises and share the same beach. You can go between the two resorts via shuttles for free. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The food is very good and there are several excellent restaurants owned by Solmar on the properties. The valets are wonderful and most have worked there more than 10 years. They know us by name each year when we arrive and are like family. Daniel, Chuy, German, Manuel, Jose' and many others are the best! They will do anything for you. All you need to do is ask. Before we leave each year we buy the valets (the guys) a case or two of beer and bottle of tequila to share amongst themselves to enjoy after their shifts end. I would highly recommend Playa Grande to anyone looking for a beautiful resort with large-sized condos and fantastic views from almost every room. I would also recommend renting a car in the states before leaving and pick it up at the airport. It's much cheaper and you can go wherever you wish whenever you wish. You drop it off at the airport when you leave. Playa Grande is also very close to the marina, shopping, water sports, the clubs and downtown.

Room Tip: We personally like the rooms that are on the higher floors so that you get a better view of the ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Marti B,
Congratulations on your anniversary!
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations with our outstanding service. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home next may!
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.