We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Playa Grande as an owner, but.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
1 review
“We love Playa Grande as an owner, but.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hello Flora,
As stated in the title, we love staying at Playa Grande; that's why we bought a Penthouse unit : ) . The staff is truly amazing on every level and the Resort is always perfectly clean. The rooms and the views are terrific !
The only issue we ever have had is actually trying to book our week. I am not sure if there are too many RCI 'trades' coming in or if weeks are actually oversold. I really need your help please ? We booked & paid for our week coming up 1 year in advance, but are now being told every PH is booked for the week we are coming. Perhaps we can take this offline ? Thank you in advance for your help and assistance. Best Regards, Mike G .

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous, but the room assignments are truly luck of the draw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    499
    119
    74
    53
See reviews for
587
722
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family had a great time. The service and accommodations are top notch. The activity staff was great. The fiesta and beach party are very fun and entertaining. Roberto, Luis, Rose, and Umberto do a fantastic job entertaining and providing activities. The staff definitely adds to the experience. We especially like the volleyball, ping pong, and card games. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jeff N
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you really had a wonderful time. I´m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Okay, first trip to Cabo San Lucas... not my normal place to travel in Latin America, very touristy, but the airfare was cheap and we only had a few days.
Playa Grande was an excellent choice for us. The setting was beautiful, clean, close to downtown, lots of fun activities, and excellent staff.
Activities included, aerobics, water aerobics, pool vollyball w/tequila for everyone afterwards, beach parties, lots of stuff for kids... and the list goes on.
I'm especially writing about a few employees who made our trip extra special.
There is a gentleman working there, Humberto, he was Mr. Activity. He loved his job and really added to the quality of our trip. He would check in on us to make sure we had everything we needed and fill us in on all of the upcoming activities. He really made the activities fun with his high energy and great sense of humor. Kudos to Senor Humberto!
Then there was a gentleman named Luis, he had the same or similar position as Humberto and he was also fantastic. Again, great sense of humor and really committed to making sure everyone had what they needed and were enjoying themselves.
Finally the fantastic Bell Man Andres. He was our first contact when we arrived at the hotel and he made us feel very welcome and offered us some good tips about making the most of our stay. He seemed to be everywhere and always greeting us and offering his assistance. He was also our last contact at the hotel, for a full circle fantastic experience.
I could probably write great things about every employee, but I didn't get to meet or interact with all of them. Overall the staff was amazing, beyond these three gentlemen.. really, all of the staff seemed to enjoy their jobs and really put 100% effort into the patron's enjoyment and comfort.
By the way, if you go, make sure to attend the beach party on Weds or Thurs evenings. So much fun and an amazingly delicious and high quality food selection.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room which we loved, but others may prefer looking down at the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Adele
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the TripAdvisor community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we are looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

You will not be disappointed if you book a vacation stay at this resort! The staff is amazing from the front desk staff and bell boy on your arrival to the maids, waiters, shuttle drivers, concierge workers, etc. The rooms are spacious and well decorated.. We stayed in a studio and it was large, airy with a stove top, refrigerator and kitchen supplies, large bathroom and wonderful balcony. The grounds are very pretty including ponds with turtles and koi. There a some reconstruction and repairs going on since the hurricane but nothing that would spoil your stay. There are active pool areas and then a quiet adult pool area with lots of chairs on the beach and overlooking the beach. The beach is great to walk on and we enjoyed lots of whale sightings. The food is very good at this resort. We did three days all inclusive. We were very impressed that the all inclusive included everything! Our favorite meals were at the restaurant at the bottom of the hill which was the El Galeon and has now reopened. The seafood is the very best here. The service is impeccable. End your meal here with a Mexican coffee made table side. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the Brigatine. Having stayed at a number of resorts in Cabo, one cannot always escape the late night young adults returning from their night on the town or celebrating the night before the resort wedding. We look forward to staying at this resort soon!

Room Tip: I would make sure you were not on the ground level by the active pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Costaricatravel09
Thank you very much for such a positive review, especially for your kind comments about the great service provided by our staff, it's a true pleasure to know that your overall experience with us was enjoyable and met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day.
We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yes there was damage due to the hurricane, they are working hard on the remodel.Please don't let that scare you away.Only one restaurant is all that remains unfinished.The resort is in great shape and fully functional, we opted for the meal plan and felt it was worth every penny... We recommend highly to do the meal plan, if you're here for a week try it for at least the first 3 days.. First we would like to mention Fernando, our poolside waiter! He waited on us hand and foot and memorized our room number and had our drinks coming before we even sat down, he made relaxing by the pool fun exciting every day!.. Second of all, we would like 2 give thanks to Luis our server during breakfast who is outstanding and always had a big smile early in the morning. Alehandria took care of our needs at dinner and did a outstanding job! Leonardo the bartender at the lobby bar did a great job of taking care of us as well. His Mexican coffee is to die for and he now knows how to make Americanized duck farts!
If you are undecided about Cabo, don't worry, the water is fine.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Scottandlaura80817
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed the all inclusive option.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Hoping to see you soon.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpant00
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

No issue from the hurricane, which was a major concern of mine before I left. I did a lot of shopping at the oxxo across the street and at walmart to help keep costs down. Staff was excellent and everything was clean. I would go there again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Dpant00,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others guests.
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Playa Grande is a great place. Great staff...Humberto, Luis...just to name a few! Our room was very comfortable and nice, so nice to have a kitchen. Great views. We went to the beach party on Wed night and it was a lot of fun and great food. Pretty beach but no swimming there, bummer. Water aerobics and Tequila volleyball were a blast. Downtown is close. Snorkeling beach close. They have some damage still from the hurricane but the place looks great overall.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mae710
Thank you so much for sharing such lovely comments. Our staff do indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.