We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Timeshare Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
La Verne, Calif.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Timeshare Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have been going here for almost 14 years now. It is our Home Base in Cabo. We were there during "Hurricane Norbert" and just missed "Hurricane Odile". Playa Grande has it's own water system, and Power supply ect. and made it through this without too much damage.
All of the help there are friendly and very helpful at all times!
I want to mention "Chuy" the Bellman, and also "Fernando" in the Lobby Bar area. They made our trip better then expected with all that was going on.
It is one of the most Beautiful places to spend a Vacation. Right on the tip of Baja on the Pacific Ocean side. Even tho the Hurricanes came and left, Playa Grande will keep this place in great condition and a place that you will love for all of time! Lynn & Sharon Ellingson

Room Tip: Our Timeshare is right on the Pacific side with a view of the Ocean that is so Beautiful. We are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    473
    113
    71
    52
See reviews for
556
687
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am a timeshare owner and I have been here a few times.I LOVE THIS PLACE.
Mainly, the location. It is right across from La Marina, walking distance, which I love since I dont mind walking. There are so many restaurants, stores, the Paraiso Mall, which has a lot of different stores in it. I really dont like those resorts where there is nothing around to go see and do.
The staff. Starting from bell staff (I have seen Eduardo almost every time I go there), the check in desk, concierge, restaurants, pool services, all are great. I like staying at The Ridge. Juanito is the best there. And this year Jose Gomez, which was working there until one of the restaurants was being remodeled. They were great.The service is great. The place is always clean. The pools are always kept cleaned and water is the right temperature.
Food is always great. I have tried a lot of things from the menus and different restaurants and everything has been great so far.
After hearing the news about the hurricane, which i just missed since i left the day before it went through there, I hope they can rebuild and be the great Cabos San Lucas they have been.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful vacation at Playa Grande Resort in September 2013, but due to the recent hurricane are not able to go this year. Looking forward to next year! Absolutely had the vacation of a lifetime!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love this place, it was nice and quiet while we were there, except for the occasions when we were near the pool that was being redone. The people that work there were really nice and accommodating. The place was nice and clean and we had everything we needed in the room. We like it because of the location, just walk down to the marina or being able to walk along the beach. We stayed in a one bedroom and it was very roomy. We left right before a hurricane was coming in, the streets had water running over the tops, but glad we made it out then. Was so sorry to see all of the news of the latest hurricane.
My husband also found a turtle nest and they came and dug up the eggs, moved them to a safe location just in time. It was very interesting to see all of the eggs, just less than 100!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort has everything going for it. It lies between the Pacific Ocean and Cabo San Lucas Marina. The grounds are impeccable and the staff is the most outstanding group we have encountered. The resort has evening events for the guests. We attended the Mexican Fiesta. It included a delicious and plentiful Mexican buffet dinner, drinks and entertainment. The show starts with a large Mariachi band and concludes with entertainment by Roberto, Humberto and Rose. An evening not to be missed. The resort's condition is beautiful. We had a 1 BR, 2 BA unit facing the marina in The Ridge. There are 2 infinity pools and another pool with a giant slide. The units facing the ocean have 2 pools but you can use any pool that you want. The infinity pools at The Ridge are adult only. The housekeeping staff services the room daily and the staff is very well trained and service is very detailed. We will definitely return to this resort in the future. Although at arrival the staff asks you to attend a vacation seminar (timeshare sales) we declined and we were NOT hammered to change our mind as other resorts have been known to do. The complex is very large but easy walking to the marina and to all of the downtown restaurants and bars. Location, staff, accommodations are all top notch. The resort offers daily activities such a water aerobics, blackjack, crafts and exercise classes. Playa Grande has it all.

Room Tip: If you have an option to select a room the front units facing the ocean all have an ocean view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are timeshare owners at playa grande since 2003, we just love Cabo, its our home away from home. Jose was an amazing server-cabana boy for all of us, we are sure glad he was working at the ridge pool while the restaurant was being remodel, he provided superior service . Thank you Jose for making our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The view and the staff made our stay at Playa one to remember. Luis provided the best water games and made exercise fun. The roar of the ocean and the beauty of the property will be with me forever. I love Playa Grande!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.