We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pick for couples and families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
“Good pick for couples and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we just got back from a week family vacation to Cabo and stayed at Playa Grande. If you do not want to me haggled by all the downtown restaurants then the all-inclusive is the way to go. You get everything included and all the restaurants are great! One of the main events that should not be missed is the Mexican Fiesta! It was a great fun night for the whole family and it was our highlight from the hotel. Also be suer to check out Puerto San Lucas for a 5-star dining experience but if you are going with all inclusive be aware that for prime cuts of meat you only get 40% off. For the most part the staff was very friendly there were a few individuals that may have just been having a bad day but all in all everyone was very helpful. If you do not get all inclusive be sure to buy some water bottles at the small convenience store instead of at the bar (you will save 3 dollars!) All the rooms and facilities were kept up great you can not tell that the hotel is about 15 years old. It is in a great location a 5 minute walk down to the marina which offers nightlife and shopping! All in all i would recommend this hotel to others for a great and relaxing cabo vacation!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    443
    109
    68
    49
See reviews for
519
656
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just returned from our wonderful trip to Cabo San Lucas. We LOVED staying at the Playa Grande. I did a TON of research to find the perfect resort and I am so glad that we went with Playa Grande. It's location is PERFECT!! Just a short 5-10 minute walk to many restaurants and the marina. While you cannot swim on the beach, it make for beautiful scenery- our daughter loved walking on the beach every morning watching the fishing boats take off! I figure it is easiest to list my comments in bullet points, so here we go:
* The resort is VERY clean. Every day the staff is doing some kind of up keep- trimming palm trees, mowing the grass, touch up painting, etc. The bathrooms are spotless and so are the rooms. You will be blown away when you walk around the resort- so beautiful with all the landscaping!
* This resort has 3 pools and then a few more in "The Ridge". The Ridge pool has a fun little slide which is great for the kids, and then a couple "adult only" pools. The views at the Ridge are breathtaking! You do need to go to the front desk for a special key to go up to the Ridge. All of the pools are very clean ( although mid day they could use a little more staff poolside to clean up the empty plates/glassware). Fun games throughout the day- Rose and Humberto are AMAZING! We loved water aerobics and the Lazy Games! The service could be a bit slow at times, but I think that is because they weren't staffed enough for the volume.
* Housekeeping does a wodnerful job! We left our cell phones out on the charger one morning and some pesos on the table- she didn't bother them at all. She made very cute towel art as well!
* Make sure to do the MEXICAN FIESTA ( on Monday nights) This was one of the highlights of our trip! The entertainment staff is so fun and really get the crowd going. For $40/pp, you get all you can eat and drink ( 50% off for kids).
* The bellman are wonderful- very helpful getting you a cab ( which is always available- just about $8-$12 for a ride anywhere in town) They will store your luggage no problem if you have a late flight. They brought our groceries up for us when we went to Wal-Mart to stock our fridge :)
* We stayed in a Junior Suite and it was perfect for the 3 of us- it had a huge King size bed with great pillows/bedding and a nice sleeper sofa. Huge patio and nice bathroom. We did have a problem on night 4 with the AC not cooling. It took 2 days to fix but then we were freezing! The staff was very responsive!
* Prices are a little high in the resort shop but I guess it was to be expected. $26 for a bottle of sunscreen!
* WiFi is not included ( which is a bit disappointing) and either is the 9 hole mini golf ( $6/pp) It would be nice to have those ammenities included.

All in All we LOVED this resort. It was clean, safe and perfectly located. The pool area is great and the rooms are very cozy! Look no further because you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view! You will see the ocean too :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Mamaj24,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location.
My entire team and I are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit and really appreciate knowing that you recognize the devotion everyone puts into constantly caring for our guests, so we can provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
Thank you for taking your time sharing your comments with us!
We look forward to having you back at the resort again in the not too distant future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Playa grande hotel is feet from the ocean...great views and the staff is super friendly and make your stay even better. If you want to have fun at the pool or any activities ask for Humberto or like or grouped calls him "San Ochoa" Also, Roberto will make your day aswell. Really recommend this hotel you will leave happy.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Okast,
Thank you so much for sharing such great things about your amazing getaway at Cabo. It sounds like you had a wonderful time from and enjoyed impeccable service throughout your stay
I agree that our entertainment staff is amazing they indeed love what they do and this in turn allows us to provide a friendly, professional service at all times.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I have had a fixed-week time share ownership at Playa Granda going on eight years. We wouldn't dream of trying to sell or upgrade to a bigger, better, faster, more over at Solmar Resort. However, there comes a time when tough love is necessary.

Playa Grande is becoming a little frayed around the edges. Many of the common areas; the front and back of the lobby, many of the walkways, are soiled due to extensive use over the years. I would think a good power wash would be in order. The pools are also in need of refurbishing as many of the tiles have come off and replaced with what appears to be tiles at hand notwithstanding color match. I am still confounded that the primary users of the facility are English-speaking yet, I ran into people in direct contact with the holiday makers who don't speak English! And, there has to be a better way to rent a car from just a single vendor who is either overworked or under motivated. I would still give the resort high marks for overall upkeep, pleasantness of the staff and quality of the food. Alcoholic bevvies during Happy Hour are another sore spot.

If you are looking to trade thru RCI, I would deeply recommend Playa Grande.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a view of the ocean or the palm tree that has grown up only to completely block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Cbs1947,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we highly value your loyalty as a returning guest and it’s always nice to know we have met your expectations. Comments like yours motivate us constantly to do our best to maintain the quality of the service we provide and to improve every day. For us is really important your feedback and is heart warming to realize that our dedication is in the right path, as our goal is not only to make our guests return but to make them feel more comfortable each time and to notice the improvements in our services.
Thank you again for all your kind comments, we all are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Pros: Beautiful resort right on the unswimmable ocean and within close walking distance to the Marina and downtown Cabo San Lucas. We loved the location. Our room was beautifully appointed and kept well cleaned during our stay. Absolutely no bugs at all. Staff very friendly. Activities like the Mexican Fiesta were outstanding. We really enjoyed it and the price was fair $41 pp included unlimited food, drinks and entertainment (which was a lot of fun). Lots of discounts - 2 for one drinks, specials at the hotel's restaurants. So while a little pricey, if you pay attention to the discounts, you could eat there for no more than in the states and the environment was extremely nice. The all inclusive was on sale at $80 something dollars a day. That was high for us since our children don't eat that much and do not drink alcohol. You have to pay for everyone in the room and you have to do three days. So we opted out and that worked well for us. We enjoyed eating at other restaurants in town and also went to San Jose and ate there. We went to WalMart and bought breakfast/lunch and one dinner for the week to make in the condo. The Mexican coffee at WalMart was really good. The Mexican eggs were amazing. Different than in the states and I wish I could get them here. There are lots of coupons you can pick up in Cabo at the various stands, of course, they'll try and sell you a visit with a timeshare seller, but you can pick up these coupons without that hassle. Cons:Wifi is not free and is very slow at 3G. Our kids were ill and we bought Wifi the last couple days for them. The concierge desk seems to only send you to restaurants that the hotel has an interest in, which was a disappointment. We did not use the concierge after that experience. In the main lobby, the hotel has people trying to sell you timeshares. You cannot walk out of the resort without passing them and that is very sad. You should have one place that is safe from that intrusion. Overall Cabo San Lucas just has too many time share hawkers. Yes, you can politely say, "No gracious." But you will be saying it hundreds of times a day. It made enjoying a walk about the marina and town miserable. We visited San Jose, and that was not the case. If we came back, we would not stay in Cabo because of the hunting of tourists for timeshares, you cannot use the beaches except one, which is crowded and overrun with vendors, and all of this detracts from its charm. San Jose is less of this commercialism and much more quaint.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are lovely, but you will also have the noise of the crashing waves. The Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Travel4fun074,
Thank you very much for this detailed and wonderful review, which help all the community to make the right decision when it comes to choosing the ideal resort for your vacation. It’s a pleasure to know that this experience was a very positive one, highlighted by our great service. I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to our team, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future to provide you with the excellent experience and service that you deserve.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

only drawbacks are 1. prices at the restaurants and store and 2. no swimming beach with typical beach activities such as parasailing. the rooms are swell and the staff can't be beat.
i was there with teenagers and they had a good time.

Room Tip: two teenage girls and i found that the studio apt was fine for our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Fritzi R,
I appreciate you in taking the time to share your comments and experiences related to your last stay at our resort.
We are glad that you experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful place!! This vacation exceeded our expectations! The hotel was very clean, service was A+, the location was great. Close to shops, marina, restaurants and very safe. The suite had 2 bathrooms plenty of room for a family of 4, kitchen, table with 4 chairs, 2 balconies, great views of the ocean, staff very friendly. Great pools! Locals are very friendly we visited a public beach, it was very clean and easy to get to with a taxi. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Evans 1988,
We are completely honored to read that your visit was enjoyable and met your expectations. We truly appreciate all the positive remarks about our resort and especially about the service, it’s very important to know that we were able to meet your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your comments to my staff as they continue to improve our personalized service.
We are looking forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.