We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our week at PG” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed our week at PG”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The resort is beautiful and well maintained, and the food is excellent in the restaurants. We actually very much liked the "Mexican Night" dinner and show featuring Mariachis, folkloric dance, and a singer named Monica Rojas who sang Mexican standards.

Our hostess at the front, Ericka, was always on hand to help us planning the few outings we took. Snorkeling in Chileno Bay was a nice day out and I highly recommend it. We also took advantage of a sport fishing trip early in the morning (5:30AM). It was just the two of us and the Captain: Juan. Just seeing the sunrise from the boat was great, but the fact that we caught some big Dorado (that we ate for Thanksgiving) was even better.

If it's your first time there, you'll find that it's just a short (10-15 minute) walk down to town and the harbor.

One of our neighbors gave us some great restaurant recommendations while there: Villa Serena, Marisco Mocombo, and Salvatore's for Itailian. All fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Tomas S,
We are delighted that you enjoyed an amazing stay during your recent visit; I am glad that you enjoyed our services.
Come back anytime to visit us. We will be very pleased to serve you again.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    587
    133
    80
    59
See reviews for
710
838
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Beautiful resort and location, had a lot of fun here. Everything is overpriced, but that is the way resorts are. The pools are all great, and the rooms are nice and large. Chuey works at the resort, and he makes your stay that much better. Everyone is very nice and well mannered, and I had an overall great experience staying there.

Room Tip: If possible, stay at the ridge because it is much quieter and the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Megan N,
I´m glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Your comments will share with pleasure with Chuy who I’m sure will be happy to know that you remember him.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We 100% loved our stay here. The pools were beautiful. The rooms are spacious. The staff is super helpful. It is very nice to have a sort walk to the city. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to Cabo.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear KittyBarrow
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
I agree that our property offers a great location. I look forward to welcoming you back as our guest soon.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

If you are looking for luxury this would not be the place to stay. I think it is a great place for families. We stayed in a 1 bedroom , 2 bath directly on the beach. While the view was to die for it wasn't very private. People walking by early in the morning I felt like we couldn't sleep with door open.
The room was very clean but again just didn't feel luxurious.

I was disappointed by the pools. There is a gorgeous ocean with private beach but none of the pools took advantage of the view.

Service was exceptional. A+. We tried all of the restaurants and while the food good the service was always first rate.

To sum up. If you are the traveler that likes the Ritz or Four Seasons then check out the Grand Solamar. This is where we would stay next time. But if you have a family this is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a second or third floor directly on the ocean. Corner rooms have better views and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Fanny O,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others guests. You thoughtful remarks are very helpful in allowing us to continue to deliver the most excellent experience.
I hope to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future to provide you with the excellent experience and service that you deserve.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Playa Grande has two sections:Pg itself facing the Pacific and the Ridge facing the harbor. We stayed in PG this year and had a wonderful time. Things we enjoyed included: pool servers, five pools, balcony views of sunrises and fishing fleet passing by, daily maid service, gym, and nice staff. The Mexican fiesta was a fantastic show (led by Roberto who belongs in Hollywood). The show was great, the food was acceptable but the drinks were sorry.

Grill night at the Calima was convenient being on site. The service was good but the food was marginal and pricy. Next time we will go to town where you can get steak and lobster for the price of a kabob here.

We have stayed at the Ridge in the past and have a strong preference for the PG side even though the Ridge claims to be an upscale property. Too much music from harbor bars and noise from the bus stop. The view is, however, awesome.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Jackrcpa ,
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed our services . We appreciate your feedback regarding the drink at the Mexican Fiesta. Our team here is constantly tweaking our restaurant’s service and food to in order to improve. Once again, thanks.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The staff is the best! They have great programs. I really enjoyed the bracelet making class and the Spanish classes. The teachers, Hector & Cristina do a great job! They make it fun and it's amazing how much you learn in a week.
Everyone is so friendly. The housekeeping service is tops. The gardens and grounds are spotless. Best of all I enjoy just pulling a cot down on the sand and enjoying the sun and a cool breeze off the water and the sound of the waves and reading a book with no vendors to bother you.

Room Tip: I prefer the west side of the building away from the pools where you get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Dolores,
Thank you for your kind words. Your recent getaway sounds truly splendid. I agree that our property offers lots of fun activities such as our popular bracelet making class and the Spanish lessons. Many do prefer to stay with our entertainment staff their entire stay. Never needing to leave at all. We cannot wait for your next visit
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We enjoyed our first stay at this property though not new to staying in the Cabo area! Had a one bedroom condo, end cap ocean/pool facing. Unit was spacious and really enjoyed two full bathrooms! May sound silly but we truly appreciated the strong water pressure and plentiful hot water for showers! Missed a dishwasher but was happy we brought some dish soap along for the nights we cooked in. We fished 4 days and were delighted with the safe, quick walk to the Marina area. If you politely decline the post check in time share pitch no one will bother you after that. Only dined in the lobby bar one night, eating sushi. Was OK for the price. Housekeeping and Bell staff were pleasant and helpful! This is large property that required a lot of walking! Beach facing rooms can be loud on theme nights! One tip for the housekeeping staff....clean the rugs (brown long shag) more frequently! No infinity pool but pool was nicely maintained. If you have a lot of electronic gadgets it will be challenging to re-charge. This like many older properties has minimal electrical outlets.

Room Tip: always work with the front desk staff to see what's available! Tips are always appreciated to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest;
Thank you for your lovely review. It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I am glad you enjoyed our services . We appreciate your feedback regarding Housekeeping. Our team here is constantly tweaking our service in order to improve.
Once again thanks, we look forward to hosting you again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.