We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's not just like coming home…i think it is home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“it's not just like coming home…i think it is home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This resort is stunning…..immaculate rooms, the comfiest beds I have ever slept in, in any resort worldwide and amazing staff continue to make this the resort I return year after year.
In no particular order i would like to thank Galo, Chuy, Cristina, Miriam, Rodrigo and Roberto for their everything they do to make to make all the guest welcome and the stay enjoyable.
thank you so much !! see you again in March.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear papa-gordito;
Thank you for your lovely review, It sounds like you had a wonderful time every year you came back. I´m glad you enjoyed your time with us in your home away home.
Your comments will share with pleasure with the people you mentioned in your review.
We cannot wait for your next
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,386
    588
    133
    80
    59
See reviews for
710
839
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winona, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This resort is for families or couples and you will equally enjoy which ever you decide. Upon arriving, we had a room at The Ridge (which was a ground floor view of a parking lot) and later decided that we would prefer the hotel part near the ocean instead. The staff went above on and beyond to accommodate the room as convenient as possible. We got to keep all of our amenities at The Ridge, which included access to the Infinity pools. We spent everyday at this pool, the service was amazing. Ask for Luis or Chuy, they are two of the best servers I have ever had! We had a great time and we would come back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Aj1825;
We are glad that your experience with us was pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
I will share with pleasure your comments with the people you mentioned in your review.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We've been coming to this resort for 8 years, every year it is wonderful. this year we are here for 2 weeks. It never gets old! The views are stunning a nd the staff and services are 1st class all the way! They go out of their way to please. The location of the resort is very close to the marina area where all the activities are located, an easy walk to shopping, restaurants and tour boats. A must place to visit!

Room Tip: It's all preference. We love to watch the activity of the marina area so we choose the idge are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Trish M,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our property offers a Great location and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We only stayed two nights here but it was immaculate and very impressive looks-wise. Our room was massive with a full kitchen and great view of the pool area and ocean. They had activities by the hour: our favorites were "bingo bingo for happy gringo", tequilla volleyball and beach volleyball. Each night they have a themed party and we went to the Mexican fiesta and were very impressed with the all you can eat buffet prices and the entertainment. Had a bit too much tequilla but it was all great. I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Alexis T,
Thank you for your kind words, I agree that our rooms offers a great view and our staff does the best to provide a friendly and professional service all the time
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

It's a very nice resort and we had a room with beach views. It's pretty amazing to be able to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the waves. The beach however is not for swimming so that was disappointing.

We had 4 people in the luxury suite which had a king bed in the bedroom and a double sofa bed and single fold out bed in the lounge. The sofa bed was not very comfortable at all and we didn't use the single fold out bed as it didn't look like you could have a good night sleep on it. Everything else in the suite was great.

The resort is a bit further from the town centre so it's a good 20mins walk. The staff are friendly but will try to sell you activities and can get annoying if you're not interested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Reeksie;
Just a quick note to thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your room as you mentioned is amazing to fall asleep an wake up with the sounds of the waves, what a relaxing experience.
I would like to emphasize, your feedback is the greatest importance and assistance to me, this will help us to improve our services.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Cabo soon.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deale, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Well located yet easy to spend most of our time at the resort. The multiple infinity pools were fabulous. I liked that the owner's pool was available at night including the hot tub. Normally, the hot tubs aren't that warm; however, I probably would have liked the hot tub more if it had just been a few degrees cooler. The rooms with their views are stunning. It was had to leave the resort with so many amenities so close at hand.

Room Tip: While the pools upstairs are more private, the younger crowd tends to hang out at the main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Cattinaround;
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hot tub; the team is constantly tweaking our service in order to improve and your opinion help us.
As you mentioned, the multiple infinity pools are fabulous. I´m glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have been visiting Cabo San Lucas and staying at Playa Grande for the last ten years. They keep the resort in excellent condition and we have enjoyed each visit. All of the staff go out of there way to ensure your stay is great. The entertainment staff do an excellent job putting on fun activities for all. The supervisior for the entertainmemnt staff Roberto is very talented and one of the funniest people you will ever meet. His assistant christina also does an excellent job making your stay fun and memorable experience. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora C, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Vallott;
I really appreciate you in taking the time posting a review and share your comments with other guest. I am glad that you had staying with us for the last ten years, we keep the resort in excellent conditions and exceed the expectations of our guest to try they came back again.
Our goal is to provide every guest a beautiful and memorable vacation throughout great service and devotion towards our guests.
We cannot wait for your next visit.
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.