We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Beautiful setting. Warm,friendly and accommodating staff. Good food and wonderful entertainment. The entertainment staff work very hard to please everyone and make your vacation experience an enjoyable one. Very family friendly. We have been coming to Cabo for seven years It is always rewarding to see the same staff and they recognize you and are so welcoming and happy to see you again..

Room Tip: Main building all rooms have a view of the ocean and central pool areas. The Ridge overlooks the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Bill

I am beyond happy that we exceed your expectations for a 7th year in a row. That you consider us a warm and friendly staff, that prepare excellent food and have wonderful entertainment, means a lot to us.
Our staff really loves what they are doing and you can see it in their faces, since they arrive, until they leave to their houses. I personally feel proud of all of them and really enjoy when a guest feels the same thing about them. I will share your comments with them.

Thanks again for your encourage comments.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,058
    440
    109
    68
    49
See reviews for
517
655
27
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have owned at Playa Grande since '96 and have watched it grow and develop. Since then we have only missed a couple of years. In the past few years we have gotten to feel that the resort has taken a back seat to the Grand Solmar, sister property next door. With all the push to sell there and complete that resort, things at the Playa Grande have been deteriorating. Overall the resort is still beautiful, but the repairs of things have slacked and the repairs that have been made are done, in some cases, cheaply and not conforming with the overall quality of the resort. The management needs to realize that we picked Playa Grande for a reason. Even when we were offered a great deal to move to the Solmar in ownership, many of us chose to stay and upgrade at the Playa Grande. It is the atmosphere of the bright colors and the Mexican decor that we enjoy. The relaxed atmosphere, the fun events and the friendly staff. The Solmar is beautiful, but it is just like anything you can find in California, Scottsdale or Florida. Playa Grande is the definition of Old Mexico. Please keep this beautiful resort fresh and in good repair. Protect our investment in our home away from home. We look forward to our time there in 2014 and hope that the things that have been allowed to deteriorate are brought back to the level of the Gold Crown resort that we fell in love with. Thank you to all our staff friends at Playa Grande, who welcome us each year and work hard to be sure that our stay is worry free.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in the winter, the south side will give you the warm sun on the deck in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr Matt

I want to thank you for this post; i am definetly satisfied to read what you thing about us; i share with you that the atmosphere of the bright colors and the Mexican decor along the fun events and friendly staff, is the real definition of Playa Grande. I want to promise to you that we will keep that and more.
We are working every day to bring new ideas dfor the people to really enjoy their home away from home. We are getting new loung chairs and many stuff that will be arribving in the nest few months. We are not forgetting our guest, we are in the process to adquire new things that i am sure all our guest will love. We are here for you, remember always. Thank you for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

MANAGEMENT: Are you listening.....
We've been coming here for more than 10 years, on the 5th floor...understand???
You have forgotten those who built this place and instead are catering to the All Inclusive crowd. It is now Spring Break versus Disneyland. There is blasting music all afternoon (parents: you cannot put the kids down for a nap) and blasting noise at the Theme Parties, with drunks screaming at 2am. Gone are the days of a relaxing vacation, reading a book by the pool. Guests have gotten trashy, loud, and obnoxious. Don't even think about ordering off a menu because staff doesn't have a clue...they cater to the Buffet Crowd now. The quality of the service has digressed. Get this: A young, female pool staff member pranced into the men's restroom, passing the urinating males to retrieve poker chops from a closet!
Playa Grande used to be something special...No more. Pathetic!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear HHS71

On behalf of all our staff we want to thank you for your comments and we would like to offer the most sincere apology regarding your most recent experience with us. I have read in your past reviews that your experience with us have been a pleasant one. And we want to keep that.
It is important to mention that we are very restrict on the times of our events. All our theme nights close at 9pm, and at that moment we have security in the areas to check the people that sometimes made some noise at the public areas. And we act in consecuence always with respect.

Actually a lot of people is enyojing our all inclusive package, but this is something you can adquire at check in time and is a great option for families that want to spend their time with us at the pool..

You can trust in us that we will really consider your opinions and work on the process. For us the most important thing is to listen to our guest, and if they say that they love what they are seeing, we continue on that way to provide the most amazing vacation time.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Excellent beach party tonight, food,drinks and entrainment was out of this whole....so happy we went...the entertainment people are so much fun and they enter act with the crowd and stop by daily and say hello to us....we fell very welcome and included in the activities at this resort....cant wait until tomorrow to play tequila volleyball....super fun and love the belly flops they make you do....so thankful they are here making people do things together and meet one another...they are so personal and fun to be around....

Room Tip: owners dogs bark every morning and its annoying for the guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Kelly

On behalf of all our staff, i want to thank you for your comments about your most recent visit to our resort. I am glad that you enjoyed our beach party, and that the entertainment people fullfill your expectations and surpass them.
Our main priority is to make everybody feel welcome and part of our big family.

I will share your comments with everybody especially, Roberto, Miriam, Cirstina, Mayrobi, Hector and Rodrigo.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I booked our honeymoon at Solmar resort, but due to their current construction, we were moved to their sister resort: Playa Grande. Our all-inclusive setup was still honored at this resort, too, for no extra fee. Upon first walking in to the resort, we were blown away by how gorgeous it was. The staff was above and beyond friendly and truly took pride in making our vacation everything we wanted.

We asked to stay at The Ridge, their VIP area, but the employee checking us in recommended we keep our room at the regular part of the resort because of the fantastic view, and gave us an access pass to use The Ridge pool, bar and restaurant. It was the best of everything. Our room was fantastic and the view of the resort pools and the ocean was stunning. The food was unbelievable, especially considering we had done the all inclusive package. Mexican breakfast at The Ridge or huge buffet at Brigantine, perfectly refreshing drinks by the pool that were replaced before we even finished our last ones, wait staff that truly went out of their way to make sure we were happy, tons of pools and hot tubs, bars and restaurants to not get bored... we couldn't have asked for anything more.

We also booked zip-lining, snorkeling and get skiing adventures through companies that the resort specifically works with (cabo adventures and baja tours) and we were blown away by the experiences and the service with those companies as well. We took advantage of the themed dinners and the putt-putt course, too.

We just returned yesterday and are already planning when we can go back and how we can convince friends and family to join us at this fantastic resort! Why risk trying another resort when we are guaranteed a perfect vacation at this one?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Mykie

Thank you for your prompt post about your most recent vacation. I am really satisfied that your stay with us was a pleasant one, and i have no words to express how happy i am when someone write that they were blown away by how gorgeous our resort is.

I will share your comments about our staff with them, and also your views about our rooms, the food in general, the drinks, the restaurants, the activities, the theme nights etc.

Thank you for that last comment you mention.

We will be delighted to welcome you back and bring your family and friends to enjoy paradise.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Long review!!!

We are owners at the Playa Grande. We were former owners at their new and fabulous resort Grand Solmar but with small children this resort is more family orientated and ended up making a switch. This was our first time staying at Playa Grande and I was initially a bit skeptical since technically we "downgraded" a bit. By the end of the trip I was pleasantly surprised and happy about our decision.

Airport - For those of you who have traveled to Mexico you are probably already aware of the timeshare pitch as soon as you pick up your bags and try to exit the airport. My only advice is to, as politely as you can, just keep walking until you reach the outside of the airport. They will try to trick you and trap you into thinking that they are part of the shuttle or taxi service you are looking for, but they are NOT. HOWEVER, if you want to get great excursions for discounted prices then by all means, stop and talk to them, see what they have to offer and decide. Just know that it will mean 2 to 3 hours of your time touring a property somewhere else, and if you have NO intention of buying then it should work out for you but you have to be very good at saying NO, NO, NO!

Shuttle Service: We arranged through Playa Grande about 2 weeks before our visit for a private SUV (with a stop to walmart) to the resort, and a Taxi/shuttle on the return for 4 adults. The total was $170US....well worth it! Travel time to resort is easily 30/40 mins.

Playa Grande - from the minute you step into the resort and take a view out to the ocean you are wowed. Although this property is a bit older now, it is still VERY well maintained, very clean, nice pools, kid friendly pools and activities. There is a great Lobby bar near the Concierge area. This is a timeshare property so we were invited to the Owners Update which we politely declined. As long as you know this, you can easily dodge them, but you will have to do it each day as they do not give up the pursuit. We did tour another property outside the resort and left early in the morning one day and they knew what we were up to and promised us the sky and the moon if we just toured the Grand Solmar with them instead. We still politely declined and they pretty much left us alone after that. Overall the service/staff are very friendly!

Rooms: We are owners of a 2 bedroom penthouse and we are NEVER disappointed with the accommodations. The rooms are VERY large, very well decorated, kitchens are fully stocked with almost everything you need (plates, utensils, pots and pans). The balconies and views are TERRIFIC. However, I am a fan of the resort and the ocean views. Originally when we checked in we were placed in the Ridge with a view of the Marina, Cabo and part of the Ocean. I do not care for this view as it is very loud since the Ridge is close to the street and a Naval Training base. While the rooms in the Ridge are also very nice, and it has a terrific infinity pool area set high up on the cliff, it is not my first choice and I will be sure to request that we do not stay there for future stays. I did ask for a room change and was accommodated the next day. So we spent 1 night in the Ridge and then the Bell staff completely moved our things into our new room the next day while we were out (we had to pack it all up which was a bit of a pain since we had so many groceries and bags, but it worked out beautifully).

The next room we received was beyond our imagination. It was in the farthest building on the resort facing the beach/ocean. It was a 2 story penthouse with 2 master bedrooms on separate levels (great for us since we were traveling with another couple this time) and LARGE living area and 4 different balconies. While we were away from the resort activity sights and sounds the ocean view made up for it. Listening the waves crash all night was terrific (although they are very loud at times and even woke me up out of a deep sleep, it was a small inconvenience, I almost feel silly mentioning it). The front desk staff was very accommodating and tried very hard to help us get to a better room and gave us a few options, we were glad we waited 1 day for the ocean front room. The room was cleaned on time each day and we did not have to request anything additional the entire week.

Restaurants/Room Service: As mentioned above we typically get a private car service/taxi from the airport and then stop at Costco or Walmart which is on the way to the resort (for a great tip the driver will wait for you if you can get in and out of there in about 30 mins). We like to make our own breakfasts and have plenty of fruit, snacks, water and alcohol in the room ourselves. Then we eat at the pool occasionally for lunch and usually walk to the Marina for dinners. The walk to the marina is about 15 mins depending on what part of the Marina you want to dine.There are great restaurants at the Marina where you can get a good surf and turf for about $25us. At the far end of the Marina which is a long walk, you can get a bike taxi or take a water taxi for about $5 including tip. The Marina activity is a nice diversion from the resort, lots of people watching and bargaining to be done if you are in the market. You will be approached by many on your trip through so be prepared again to say "No Gracias". Then a trip over to Cabo Wabo or whatever bar/night club suits your need. We did not eat at the resort restaurants but did order room service several nights which was pretty fast, very good, and surprisingly very reasonable.

Spa - I only visited the spa once but thoroughly enjoyed the service I received, and heard good things about other services from other guests.

Pools - several very large pools. You can usually find seating even in the afternoon, and plenty of pool activities and music. Service at the pool is somewhat slow so we just ordered several drinks at a time. Make use of the happy hour specials they are worth it! We also enjoyed time in the Jaccuzzi each day as the sun was setting and met a lot of fun people. The adults only area is closest to the ocean so the views are very nice there.

The resort does put a $500 room hold on your card, but it dropped off after a few days of our return. I did not have any issues with our bill whatsoever and the only thing that I had a little trouble with was our shuttle service back to the airport which they quickly sorted out the day before we left.

If you are looking for a resort with a great beach this is probably not the place. There is very little shade/trees and seating is sporadic on the water (I think there are chairs out there but I did not notice them), and you can NOT swim on the pacific side whatsoever. The water is very dangerous at this location. Probably why the rooms and balconies are so large and the resort is so nice because of the ocean situation? We also own another timeshare at another Cabo resort on Medano beach and while that resort is newer than Playa Grande, you can swim in the Ocean there and the beach scene is very happening, it still pales in comparison in the rooms, size and grandeur of this resort. Plus the location to the Marina for us is key.

Overall, we are very happy with our visit and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms of the main part of the resort (not The Ridge) face the pool and the ocean, so unle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Kertrina

We really appreciated for taking a moment in order to express your feelings about your most recent stay with us. And we are more than happy, that at the end of your trip you were pleasantly surprise by our services.

Thank you for your comments about our property, being well maintained, clean, with nice pools and activities, rooms well decorated and fully stocked kitchens. I am happy that you were satisfied with your room change, and that you get to see the professional service of our bell staff and front desk.

I will share your comments with our Room service manager, and the Spa manager. They will be delighted to hear your coments.

We will be honor to welcome you back to our resort, and provide you again with an unforgettable experience,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Enjoy the excellent service and hospitality at Playa Grande. We are RCI members and exchanged to this property. We were treated graciously and with much respect. The Playa Grande staff is second to none. Our one bedroom suite was nicely appointed and we had an excellent view of the ocean, pool area and grounds. There are themed nights and an optional all inclusive plan. The all inclusive plan can be purchased for as few as 3 days to the length of your entire stay. We did the 3 day plan and we were very happy. It allowed to take advantage of the resort amenities and great food without us missing out on the other great restaurants in and around Cabo. Overall and excellent stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear JWS279

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments regarding your most recent stay at our resort. All our guest deserve to be treated with respect and we always talk with our staff about this and they really have the attitude to fullfill this.
I am glad you like your room, grounds, pools and that you enjoyed our meal plan package that includes the theme nights.

Thank you again for all your recommendations, we will love to welcome you back on your next vacation to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.