We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabo Fun in the Sun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cabo Fun in the Sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Enjoy the excellent service and hospitality at Playa Grande. We are RCI members and exchanged to this property. We were treated graciously and with much respect. The Playa Grande staff is second to none. Our one bedroom suite was nicely appointed and we had an excellent view of the ocean, pool area and grounds. There are themed nights and an optional all inclusive plan. The all inclusive plan can be purchased for as few as 3 days to the length of your entire stay. We did the 3 day plan and we were very happy. It allowed to take advantage of the resort amenities and great food without us missing out on the other great restaurants in and around Cabo. Overall and excellent stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear JWS279

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments regarding your most recent stay at our resort. All our guest deserve to be treated with respect and we always talk with our staff about this and they really have the attitude to fullfill this.
I am glad you like your room, grounds, pools and that you enjoyed our meal plan package that includes the theme nights.

Thank you again for all your recommendations, we will love to welcome you back on your next vacation to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    587
    132
    80
    59
See reviews for
709
837
35
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to all the friends we have made at Playa Grande. Special recognition to Fernando on The Ridge. He is a great new addition He is works hard and is very friendly. Thanks to Alejandro the bellman, who we always ask for. He is truly a friend. Thanks to Christian at the front desk. He is also a great new addition to the staff. Thanks to Leticia in the salon for doing a great job on my hair. Thanks also to Maria and Aldo for helping us.We really appreciate the great service by all the staff. We will miss you, The Glover's

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Glovers Family;

I want to thank you for your comments about some members of our staff. It is always pleasant to hear such nice things about people like Fernando our waiter, or Alejandro our bellboy, along with Christian at the front desk, Leti at the spa, and MAria and Aldo from the concierge staff. They all work very hard each day with one simple goal; Provide the best experience possible to all our guest.

We will love to welcome you back for your next vacation time;

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we had such a amazing time at the playa grande! there are so many things going on during the day, games, water aerobics and at night there's theme night like fiesta night and beach party! truly the entertainers help to make your stay fun and full of laughs! thank you roberto, mayrobi , rodrigo, christina, hector, and miriam you all are so talented! also a big shout out to all the hotel staff for going over and beyond to make our stay so comfortable and easy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Burbidge family,

Thank you very much for your amazing comments about your most recent stay. I am specially delighted just to read about how special the crew from activities was from you. Rodrigo, Mayrobi, Miriam, Cristina, Hector and Roberto will love to read this.
I am very satisfied that your time with us was a pleasant one during the day or on the theme nights. I will share with all our staff your feelings, and we will love to receive again the complete Burbidge family.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When you step into the lobby and what a gorgeous lobby it is, you are greeted with a "welcome home, we've been waiting for you" Check in was a breeze, Noe was very helpful getting us our room, and had us on our way in no time. Ten minute meeting with Jenifer to go over the resort layout and offer us the presentation and we were on our way. We declined the presentation and in no way felt pressured into it again. We got in late so didn't do the all inclusive upon arrival but waited until the next morning. There were no food options open other then room service, which we did the special a bucket of 6 beers on ice and a large pizza for $32, very reasonable.

For the all inclusive its a no brainer, it more then paid for itself for my wife and I, $78 per person. If you like to have breakfast, drinks by the pool and then a nice lunch its paid for before you even think about dinner. plus it includes theme dinners, fiesta night, beach party night and dinner at their own restaurant Peurto San Lucas, which was amazing, I had the catch of the day Red Snapper, service was very good here, had a nice romantic dinner, very, very close walking distance, or they'll shuttle you over to. We ate some of the best shrimp, lobster and steak all week and some top shelf cocktails as well.

We really liked how close this resort was to the Marina, plenty to do and see there. It is very safe to walk around and explore, we hiked over to Medano Beach from the resort and took the water taxi back.

Rooms were cleaned to the highest of standards each day promptly, wish I would of gotten their names so I could give them credit, the towel sculptures each day were fun to come back to. We were served by Juan and Miguel all week at the pool, along with Marco the waiter, very hard workers and drinks never went dry, they would even run and get you dry towels once they saw you heading that way. We were served by Victor and Alexandria at the Calima restaurant throughout the week for lunch and dinners very professional, friendly individuals, a nice place to get out of the sun for an hour during the day.

Breakfast was my wife's favorite meal of the day down at Brigatines, the French toast is like no other, our waiter Ramon greeted us each morning with a smile, coffee and mimosas. He works all day, goes to school at night and still smiles ear to ear when you see him all on three hours sleep.

We ended each night in the lobby bar sipping on martinis or Don Julio, all inclusive remember haha. Jorge the manager would check on you often to see if he could be of assistance or to make sure you were enjoying yourself. Martin and I think it was Hector made the best sangrita to go along with the tequila, very pleasant workers and a perfect way to end an evening in Cabo.

If you are having trouble deciding where to stay, look no further, book it here now, we'll be back for sure, made a lot of new friends from members of week 22, hoping to see them again someday. Perfect location, close to everything, beautiful grounds, clean rooms, very comfortable beds absolutely couldn't find a negative thing to say about this resort.

Cannot believe I almost forgot to mention the entertainment staff, this group goes above and beyond on trying to make your stay very entertaining and you can tell they truly do love going to work each day, my wife and I laughed so hard at the fiesta show our side ached.

Feel free to email me with any questions, I am no expert, this was my first trip to Cabo but will give you honest opinions of our travels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dexter

I want to thank you again, for having the opportunity to enjoy our resort while you were here in Cabo. And i am really satisfied when your comments reflects a beautiful and amazing experience. As i mention to you in the other review you post, it means a lot to us when a guest remember our names. That make us feel really happy and is something that we always show in our meetings.

We will be honor to have you back again to our resort.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Michigan, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Beautiful resort,very clean and friendly staff. Lots of activities. I would say its more for families or couples...not singles. I do have to say they charge for everything here, even internet. Quiet a walking distance from downtown night life area. This resort is almost too big,to get from one room or location to another. Ohh awesome swim up bar,love happy hour. Id go to Mexico again,but id stay at an all-inclusive thou.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valarie

On behalf of all our staff, i want to thank you for your beautiful comments regarding your stay with us. Your comments about our resort being clean, beautiful, and about our activities and staff, are something to treasure. And i will share them with our staff.

Our wifi connection at the moment is much better than in the past. We listen to every custumer suggestion and we will continue to do so. That is why we have a great package in our all inclusive that includes theme nights, internet and a lot more things.

Thank you again, we will be honor to welcome you back for your next vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We travel to Cabo every year and own at Playa Grande. The resort is beautiful and the grounds are kept very clean. I have to give a huge 'shout out' to the activities/entertainment group--Miriam, Cristina, Hector, Roberto, Rodrigo, and Mayrobi--what a great variety of activities you had for us. And the energy and talent you all have is unbelievable. I would recommend going to some of the theme nights to see their talents, especially the Mexican Fiesta. Can't wait to see you all next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Cathy

We are very satisfied to welcome you back to our resort every year. And we are proud of your comments. It is always a pleasure to hear from a guest good things about our services, grounds and food.

I will definetly share your experience with Roberto, Rodrigo, GEctor, Miriam, Mayrobi, and Cristina from our entertainment staff. They are very talented indeed.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again to our resort next year.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with this property. The pools are really nice and the pool side service and food was excellent. During happy hour (2 pm - 4 pm) drinks are two for one, and the food prices were very reasonable. The staff was very friendly and the grounds are kept extremely clean. Our room had two full baths and a king size bed. My only complaint relates to the extra bedding. One extra bed, which folded out from the closet, was a single and didn't look too comfortable. The other extra bed was the sofa which converted to a bed by folding the large seat cushion outward with no bottom support (we had to place cushions and a suitcase on the floor to prop-up the fold out cushion to make the bed level). The air-conditioning was great and it had a full kitchen with exception of a stove.

Location was good. It has a private beach and its located near a convenience store, starbucks, and shopping. There are several restaurants on the property, which the food was good, or you can eat in nearby restaurants in downtown Cabo; getting to nearby restaurants from Playa Grande can be accomplished with a 15 minute walk along the marina or you can take an $8 taxi ride. The Playa Grande is nice, but teenagers and those in their 20's would probably prefer a resort on Medano Beach. Medano Beach has all the water and beach activities, beach front restaurants, and activities more suited for teens and college kids. All in all, for adults I would stay at the Playa Grande, but if kids were included, I would stay at a resort on Medano Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Joel

On behalf of our resort, we want to thank you for sharing your experience about your most recent vacations with us. For me is very important to notice all our guest suggestions in order to improve our general services. That your experience was a pleasant one is priceless to me.

I am glad you enjoyed our pools, the happy hour, the room (we take note of your observation), the food from our restaurants etc.

It will be our honor to welcome you back again to our resort. We are really close from all the activities and downtown. I am sure you will have a great vacation again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.