We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property that almost delivers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful property that almost delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our whole family stayed at this property when celebrating my wife's birthday. The rooms, property and location are beautiful with great support from the concierge staff. The location is within easy walking distance to town and restaurants. The major negatives are the incessant hustle by locals trying to sell you virtually anything that will separate you from your money and the carefully orchestrated efforts by the timeshare operation to induce you to buy their product. If you can ignore that and the fact that they charge for spotty Internet access, Playa Grande can be a relatively good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear BelizeSunrise;

I want to thank you for your recent comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. I am please that your family have a wonderful stay with us celebrating your wife birthday in paradise!
It is truth that our complete staff is really committed to provide the best service and comfort to our guest. We also share all the suggestions or opportunity areas to the different departments so that they can take action immediatly. That you enjoy our location, property and service is something we treasure.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the next few months, with your family.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,378
    585
    132
    79
    58
See reviews for
707
832
35
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I can't say enough about this resort. We were scheduled to stay at Solmar, but because of the construction they upgraded us. The resort is first class. The grounds are well maintained, rooms are clean and beautiful, food was excellent and servers were wonderful. Here are some names to remember - Oscar - great bartender, Mauricio - captain, Alejandro and Florencio and Yonni - super. Jesus at the front desk was great. Sergio was at Solmar and made sure we got checked in OK at Playa Grande. We can't wait to go back. Thank you all for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. We were in 1104 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Crackers1, from Arizona

On behalf of our captain MAuricio, Alejandro, Yonni, Florencio and Oscar from our restaurant, Sergio and Jesus at check in, our maintenance, housekeeping, servers, order and cleaning staff, we want to say thank you!
For your nice comments, for letting us pamper you, for enjoy your visit, for such attention to detail, for smile with us, and for can not wait to be back with us...
Than you to you for a wonderful experience, and we will love to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic resort . . clean, friendly with wonderful food and amenities. Our waiter at the pool everyday was Alberto and he has to be the best!! Jesus and Chewy at the bell station are amazing at remembering everyone and be attentive. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Tjklf;

When one of our dear guest mention that they have a fabtastic stay enjoying our food, amenities and the attentives of our waiters and bellboys, it means a lot to me.
I will share your comment with Chuy, Jesus, Luis ALberto and all the staff.

Hoping to welcome you back for your next vacation,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My daughter and I visted Playa Grande Resort from May 11-16th. Had a truly remarkable, relaxing time. This was a vacation to relax, no sightseeing, just poolside and drinks and that's just what we did. The grounds upkeep were impeccable and the staff was always friendly. Enjoyed the water aerobics and particularly loved Mexican Fiesta night and Beach night. Great entertainment. Roberto was a hoot and we loved him. The front staff was also helpful and friendly. A little disappointed that we could not swim in the ocean, but the view was magnificent.

Th all inclusive is a must if you plan on staying at the resort. Great food and the presentation was always to die for.

Maid service in our room daily was also a plus. Loved the towel art left in our room daily.

We will definitely come back and bring more friends with us.

Thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Mr klsvobod


Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort.
All our staff is delighted to hear (and read) that your experience was a remarkable one, enjoying our grounds, the pools, the drinks, the front desk service, our housekeeping service, and the mexican fiesta, where our MC Roberto always make for an unforgettable experience.
Thank you also for the recommendations on our programs and plans, and i can tell you that our chefs bring their best on their food .

We hope to welcome you back with your daughter and the rest of the family as soon as possible,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff who was responsible for entertainment was amazing. The shows were very high quality. The gentleman named Roberto was hilarious and very talented. There were a few ladies who also did the kid's camp - Miriam,Cristina, and Ulridiana. They went out of their way to make my daughter's 9th birthday very special with birthday cake and a piñata party. Also, a big thank you to Eric for getting the piñatas for all of the kids! These great people deserve a raise!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Louann G:

On behalf of our resort, i want to thank you for share this comments with the rest of the people that read this website. It is truth that we have the best entertainment staff of the Baja. His leading man Roberto is always creating new adventures and situations to improve his performances, and all his staff, beginning with the ladies, Cristina, Miriam, MAyrobi, Viri, and last but not least Rodrigo and Hector, really want to take care sincerely of all the people. From birthdays, to aerobics, from theme nights entertainment, to surprises at the pool, they are one of the greatest assest of our resort. I am also glad your daughter enjoy her piñata party. We are here for you and your family, always.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We traded to Playa Grande as an RCI owner in April 2013. Playa Grande is a beautiful and accommodating resort where you can relax, take advantage of the sights nearby (the marina is within walking distance where you can go out in the Sea of Cortez or the Pacific), and enjoy all the amenities the resort offers. The food was great, and they have theme nights at the restaurants nightly with entertainment, I highly recommend them.

We’d like to especially thank Cirilo who was our server at the Brigantine Restaurant. He was always very polite, pleasant, and accommodating. We looked forward to seeing him at our meals. I also highly recommend the all-inclusive plan which was reasonably priced and made our vacation more enjoyable. I also enjoyed the spa and pool areas, and the whole resort is a feast for the eyes! Beautiful colors, comfortable and well-appointed suites (we stayed in a 1-bedroom), friendly staff, and we felt very comfortable and welcomed. The view of the Pacific and resort from the deck of our unit was stunning. Bravo to Playa Grande’s staff in providing a top-notch resort, we were happy guests and would like to return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear P C from Virginia,

On behalf of our resort, i want to thank you for this post, as it describe your wonderful time with us. From the food, the theme nights, the service at our restaurants, the entertainment, the spa, the pools..It is really great to hear this from one of our guest. That you love our colors, our suites, and most of all, our friendly and attentive staff, is beyond.

The big "bravo" is for you, for your kindness, your lovely words, and for share your experience with all the people, and of course, to our staff, to make it possible.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Cabo for our one year anniversary and picked the Playa Grande as our destination. They had a shuttle that cost a fraction of a price than a cab from the airport. As soon as you arrived at the hotel it was obvious that the service was their top priority. We were greeted immediately by the professional staff and their manager even assisted us with a check in. We were supposed to stay in the more reserved rooms but since they were located on the side of the resort where you could hear the construction noise from the building of their new resort, the manager upgraded us to their most exclusive part of the resort. We got a special keycard that let only select few access to that part of the resort, with its own pools, restaurants and two infinity pools overlooking either the pacific ocean or the city. We had the all inclusive package for food and drinks and their food was to die for. We had a variety of choices to choose from such as sushi, mexican or american food items. I am vegetarian while my husband is a full on carnivore and we had easy choice of foods. They also had planned parties. We attended the Spanish Fiesta, where the entertainment staff: Roberto, Rodrigo, Hector, Mayrobi, Miriam and Cristina made it super fun and entertaining. The resort is very close to the downtown clubs as well as the lovers beach and many other fun events. From the gorgeous lobby to the most beautiful rooms with views and delicious food we had the most relaxing and amazing vacation. I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The staff in the lobby can book all the extra trips such as scuba diving, spa services and swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Yuliya;

I want to thank you for deciding to stay on your one year anniversary at our resort. We always love to have special anniversarys at our resort, so that we can provide a few surprises for our guest. It is truth that service is our top priority. And to assist our guest in all their needs.I am glad you decide to have the meal plan package and enjoy our sushi, mexican food etc. I will share with our entertainment staff (Rodrigo, Roberto, HEctor, MAyrobi, Cris, Miriam) and all our chefs, wauters, and musicians that you love our fiesta night. Each one is different, and we want to provide our guest with fun options on their vacation.
To mention that we are your only option for vacation, is priceless to me.

I hope to meet you next time. It will be my pleasure.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.