We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Family of 5” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Jose, CA
1 review
“Great Value for Family of 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Zaira for breakfast at the Brigantine Restaurant & Miguel and Julio for pool side service. Roberto was terrific as the resort's in-house lead entertainer. My 3 children had a great time at the pools - each pool has a different depth for little ones to enjoy. Our 1 BDRM Master Suite was great but the master bath floor drainage - adjacent to the shower/tub - had a noticeable odor. The hotel lobby had a citrus scent and an inviting feel. All-inclusive meal plan was worth it if you don't plan on leaving the property. For the most part, food was well-prepared and delicious.

Room Tip: If you want morning sun in your balcony during breakfast, request for rooms on the right side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodrigo G, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest from San Jose California;

I personally want to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are doing our very best to make the people feel at home away from home.
I will share your comments with the staff from Brigantine, pool waiters, activities, public areas and all of our Chefs. I have talk with Zaira, Miguel, Julio and the charismatic Roberto, and all what they want is to create unforgettable moments for all of our guest with their daily activities. The scent that you feel at our Lobby is a combination of white tea and bamboo and the people can get an elegant bottle with this scent with our friendly staff at the front desk.
We will be more tha happy to welcome you back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,099
    460
    113
    71
    52
See reviews for
549
676
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our 1 bedroom Master sute was in excellent condition and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking supplies. We did have one minor problem for two nights which was lack of hot water to take a shower. After notifying the management, the problem was solved by the next night. The food is slighly overpriced if you do not buy the $75 per person per day all-inclusive package which includes drinks which we did not purcase and ate in-town instead. Also, the adult pool needed to be cleaned due to an oily slick over the water. All other pools were in excellent condition. Outside of these problems, we really did enjoy staying here and the staff was remarkable. Also, whale watching was excellent from the pool area. We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Guests from Santa Fe, New Mexico:

On behalf of the hotel mamagement we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience.
Please accept my apologies due to the minor problem you had for two nights which was the lack of hot water to take a shower.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve and we hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Enjoyable friendly staff with great service, very clean, great entertainment, yummy food, wonderful pools, spacious rooms, and close to downtown. All inclusive option is a good deal. the spa is very nice. A great vacay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests from Cheyenne, Wyoming:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetrista, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First and foremost, Viridiana is exceptional in her role at Kid's club. We adore her! My kids LOVE going to Kid's club. What a treat for parents to have the trust in her, and this feature, in order for us to have some free time!

Secondly, Roberto was OUTSTANDING at the beach party. Playa Grande is extremely lucky to have such talent for the entertainment. We had a terrific night! Hang on to him because I believe he's going places!

Hector was super fun for the entertainment around the pool. I really enjoyed the trivia games and aqua aerobics! He was a great motivator and you are lucky to have him as well.

Room Tip: If you have more than 4 people, get a two bedroom for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests from Minnetrista, Minnesota:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Tremendous Resort”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our activities staff Viridiana, Roberto and Hector.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Playa Grande has multiple big pools, great beach, and nice rooms. Also has a roof top pool that over looks both the city of Cabo and the ocean. Our family has owned a time share at Playa grande for a few years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guests from Seattle, Washington:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay and for your kind comment “Amazing Place”.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was an excellent place for couples. Could not swim at the beach but hike to swim-able beach was only 30 mins. We had a good time and the food was amazing, but kind of on the expensive side. Very close to downtown and amenities. Rooms were big and clean. The entertainment staff was exceptionable and we would recommend going to the shows in the evening. Overall great experience and would recommend to couples/family's.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guests from Calgary, Alberta, Canada:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Playa Grande Resort March 16th - 22th. This is a 5 star resort in every way. We were celebrating our anniversary and my birthday and was fortunately to be put in a beautiful ocean view studio room. The studio room had plenty of room. The only thing lacking was a full size kitchen. We were not planning on doing any cooking. We did the all inclusive. The only complaint I have is that the portions were toooo big. Now I have to loose 10 lbs. The food was excelent. We really enjoyed theme night. We only saw 1 whale from our balcony on the first day. That was a little disappointing. The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The location was very close to downtown. If you didn't want to walk you could catch the city bus for $1.00. The time share presentation was not pressured as I read on many reviews. Avoid the sharks at the airport. They will lie to you to get your attention.

Room Tip: 2601- studio room - facing the ocean!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guests from Tuscaloosa, Alabama:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “PARIDISE”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.