We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
McKinney, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sensational time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family and I spent spring break in Cabo. We really enjoyed ourselves. I have so many wonderful pictures to share with friends and family. In fact we took our tri-pod and made our family pictures down at lands end rocks. The waves were crashing behind us and made a unique and beautiful family portriat. Upon arrival at the Playa Grande, we were in aww. What a beautiful resort. Our room was not what we reserved on line and overlooked the marina. Which was not a bad view at all, just not the ocean view we expected. But the manager and other hotel staff made quick changes and were able to move us to "B" which was right on the beach and overlooked the pool and faced west. The beach is fairly excluded from the marina side. Absolutely no swimming! Which was a bummer for the kids, but we did visit the other spring break party goers on another beach which we took a very short boat ride to (literally outside the marina) We saw whales, dolphins, and sea lions (on rocks by the arch) in their natural state, which was awesome. The kids enjoyed swimming with the dolphins at the facility by the marina. And we enjoyed the local's and negociating for goodies to bring home. One resteraunt to try is the Hacienda. It is incredible and I am not talking about just the food. The view as it sits on the ocean was breathtaking even at night. We hope to go back again...this time without kids:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from McKinney, Texas:

Thank you for your nice comment “Sensational time” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    443
    109
    68
    49
See reviews for
521
656
27
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewing, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My best friend and i just visited this resort in Cabo! We had a blast! The food was great! Take advantage of the package that includes drinks, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very worth it. Short walk to the marina and shops. The pools are fabulous! And you right on the beach!! The rooms and balcony were clean and relaxing. Everything we wanted and more!!!

Room Tip: Great pics from the marina side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Ewing, Kentucky:
We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Relaxing and Fun!”
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeview
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The best part of our stay, at the Playa Grande, was our time around the pool with Rodrigo, Roberto, Cristina, Miriam, etc. These "kids" really do an awesome job at whatever job they're assigned, and are always very friendly!! We enjoyed the Mexican Fiesta night, as well as the Beach night. The concierge was very helpful as well with helping us plan our excursions. Our room was very nice, and the room service was great. There are people cleaning the resort all day long, which keeps it a very beautiful place to stay. They tried to send us to a timeshare presentation, but we did not waste our time to go. The front desk staff was a little short with us, especially when I asked if they would break down some bills for me for tip money, but we were able to find others to help us when we needed something. Overall, we had a great time!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Lakeview:

Thank you for your nice comments about your last stay for “Spring Break 2013” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments "The best part of our stay, at the Playa Grande, was our time around the pool with Rodrigo, Roberto, Cristina, Miriam, etc. These "kids" really do an awesome job at whatever job they're assigned, and are always very friendly!!" that I will share with pleasure with our entertainment staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room was very nice, with a beautiful view. The location was perfect for us because the marina was within a short walking distance. The entire staff were courteous and professional. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable. However, they do send you to the "event coordinator" to get your towels after your check-in.

There's really no way around the "event coordinator" whose sole purpose there is to get you to go to a timeshare presentation. I just told her that we had only four days to spend there, and i wasn't about to waste a single minute of my vacation listening to a schpiel in which I have absolutely zero interest. I was firm, but polite, and she understood.

The place is clean and very well-maintained. Do stroll along the beach in either direction. Caution: the waters in that area is NOT SAFE FOR SWIMMING. it's in the Pacific side, the waves are large, the undercurrent will take you right out. swim in the pools (they have 4 different ones), but stay out of the ocean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Concord, California:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Playa Grande is everything you could want on vacation. If you want serene views of whales on the ocean you have it. If you are looking for entertainment poolside they accommodate that as well! Put your kids in kids club and get a little of both. Vidi at kids club was so awesome! 3 kids, aged 10, 8, 5 and ALL of them had a blast! Thank you Vidi and Kristina! My kids could never have had the vacation they did without you! The Mexican Fiesta and Beach Party at Playa Grande are fun. Don't miss it... Roberto is amazing!!! If you are lucky enough to get Alberto or Inas at the pool for a waiter you will never find yourself empty handed. Thank you both for tolerating our endless ordering! Ramon at the Brigantine was also super! The entertainment staff, activities center staff, and concierge are also awesome. We even did a complimentary family photo session with Edgar at the Adventure Photo Booth located by the pool and had the best portraits ever taken of our family! (Thanks Edgar!) The marina and restaurants are a 10 minute walk away, the rooms are beautiful, and the entertainment within the resort are spectacular. Go with the all-inclusive.... You won't be disappointed... The theme nights (and kids Shirley temples) cover it. The new restaurant, Puerto San Lucas, was delicious as well. We loved everything about Playa Grande. Thanks to all for making it the best family vacation ever!






  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Minneapolis:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Best family vacation ever!”
Come back anytime to visit us with all your friends and family, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Upon my family of five's arrival to PG, we were impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the overall size of this "little village". Everything you need is on site including the pools, restaurants, entertainment, coffee stand, gift shop and spa. Since my daughter had knee surgery, we quite often took the shuttle which they provided or taxi to the marina that was across the street from the hotel. The only negative experience we encountered was the fact that they tried to stick us somewhere in the ridge which was inconvenient for my daughter since it required a lot of walking. We complained to the front desk about our situation and they accommodated our request and put us in a room across the main pool area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Pelham, New York:

Thank you for choosing “THE LITTLE VILLAGE” at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Location, Location, Location – The Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa’s location is outstanding for everything you want to do in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Whether it is going to a quite private white sand beach or enjoying the Cabo night life, both are just foot steps away from the resort!

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa and we are always extremely impressed. The architecture of the resort and the way it is built around the natural rocks in the area is amazing! The staff is always helpful and attentive without being intrusive, and you can’t beat the location of the resort to downtown Cabo San Lucas and the marina/harbor (within one mile walking distance). The guest rooms are well appointed, the views are great, and amenities are fantastic as everything you need is located at the resort.

Some of the things we enjoyed doing while in Cabo San Lucas included: taking the inexpensive glass-bottom water taxis to the famous natural Arch and secluded beaches; (the taxis will drop you off and pick you up at a predetermined time specified by you). Taking the glass bottom water taxis to fine dining restaurants in downtown Cabo San Lucas, taking a dinner cruise, taking a pirate ship cruise, taking the bicycle taxis into downtown Cabo San Lucas to shop for souvenirs, catching a ride with a horse-drawn carriage to sight-see downtown Cabo San Lucas at a leisurely pace, stroll along the marina sidewalk taking in the sights and sounds of the harbor, enjoying the many swimming pools at the resort, visiting the Playa Grande Thalassotherapy Spa (one of the few and finest in the world) and use their steam rooms and Jacuzzis pools, relaxing each evening on our private balcony and watching the parade of dinner boats, party boats and pirate ships that come out to marvel at the sunset on the Pacific Ocean in front of the resort.

We will definitely be back to stay at this resort on a future vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guests from Hillsboro, Oregon:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Location, Location, Location, Service & Amenities”
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.