We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic week and wedding at Playa Grande!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal Cabo
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week and wedding at Playa Grande!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Playa Grande several times over the years, so we decided it would be the perfect spot for our wedding. All of our guests booked rooms at the Playa Grande and we enjoyed activities at the resort during the week which made it easy for all of us to be together. The staff was fabulous and entertaining and we did a group dinner at the Mexican Fiesta and the rehearsal dinner was at the Beach Party. Abigail did a great job as our wedding planner and everything came together smoothly. The spa was friendly and did a fantastic job on hair and nails. Last minute requests were accomodated and all of the guests raved about the set up, DJ and the food. The only thing I can say I was slightly disappointed in was my bouquet, which I had picked lilies and and very few were actually open. Very minor thing in an otherwise fantastic wedding and I couldn't have asked for it to be any different! For all my guests that had never been to Cabo before, I think it was a great first time experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guests from Wasilla, Alaska:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Fantastic week and wedding at Playa Grande!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time and wedding with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again with all your friends and fulfill your expectations!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with Abigail and all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards from always sunny Cabo San Lucas.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,128
    475
    114
    72
    52
See reviews for
558
692
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a super great time at Playa Grande during the first week of February 2013. We enjoyed the great facilities and obviously the beach and the weather. But what made the week truly enjoyable was the staff. The entertainment staff deserves special mention. Roberto from Mexico City was an excellent master of ceremonies at the Mexican Fiesta, Beach Party and the Carnival. Considering that his wife was pregnant and due to deliver at any moment his performance was extraordinary. Also extremely enjoyable was Mayrobi from Acapulco who danced at the Mexican Fiesta as well taught water aerobics. We particularly enjoyed Christina, ( water aerobics) and Miriam from the Canary Islands in Spain. Both are extremely warn and a pleasure to know. Not to be outdone was Rodrigo who tolerated my feeble performance as he attempted to teach my wife Michelle and myself Salsa dancing. What was remarkable about the staff in addition to their great personalities was their ability to remember our first names. Every time we encountered the staff they unfailingly called us by name. They sure know how to make a person feel good. Also deserving special mention was Hugo from the consigliere staff who was very helpful with our traveling arrangements. Also last, but not least, was Arturo from Calima Restaurant.

Can't wait to return!

Keith & Michelle

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Sacramento, California:

You really make us very happy with your great comment “Extraordinary staff”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our activities staff, Concierge and Calima wait staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We looked for a good deal at a quality hotel for many weeks and looked at reviews closely. We got a good deal for 6 nights though Orbitz but it wasn't an all-inclusive deal. The restaurants were a bit expensive without the inclusive but the food was great. We also didn't get the full view of the property because we weren't able to go to the Ridge without doing the timeshare deal. When I return I will do an all inclusive package. Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was very friendly but without inclusive you have to pay for everything. Hope to get back for fall fishing and another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Albany, New York, United States:

Thank you for your nice comment “Beautiful resort” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with our staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo and we chose La Playa Grande at a whim. We were wonderfully surprised! The resort was fantastic. Great place for families too. We had room #2052, which was ground level, near the pool and restaurants, and steps from the beach. It was a one-bedroom suite with a kitchen, two bathrooms, and a cute patio overlooking the water. WOW! Walmart and Costco are only a $20 cab ride away, if you are interested. We chose not to go with the all-inclusive package since we wanted to eat in town and also eat from our kitchen. The town of Cabo was a very short walk away, so it was great to get to for shopping, restaurants, and the night life. Starbucks was not too far (just past the Hard Rock). Nice morning walk. I felt fairly safe in the town since there were always people around. Just avoid alleys and such. The resort grounds were impeccable, the staff was so polite, and the beach was gorgeous. Be aware that this is the "no swim" side of Cabo. But we saw whales everyday. The only reason I rated this hotel down one star is because immediately after you check in (mind you, this is after a long flight when we were tired and hungry), the concierge hits you up for a timeshare! They want you to obligate to a morning breakfast/90-minute 'shpeal' about their timeshare and they are difficult to say not, but we managed to decline. Once you manage to get away, though, they won't hit you up again, thank goodness. Pool was not heated, but that doesn't seem to stop most people. Nice way to cool off. Anyhow, despite that, it was a great resort. Overall, we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Seattle, Washington, United States:

Thank you for your nice comments and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Hoping to see you again soon we send you our best regards from Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed a week in a condo (huge, clean, well-maintained) on The Ridge, via a time-share
exchange. We bought the $75 all inclusive option, as we were not willing to shop or look for
restaurants. Well worth it. Breakfast by the beach, whales most days. Good food, buffet or a la
carte. Service seemed slow to start (how long should it take to grab bottles of water and wine
to get things going?). Then the pace picked up and the staff were attentive but not oppressive.
The place has a factory feel. The Ridge area and adults only pool was quiet. This pool is big enough for laps. The main pools are perhaps smaller, and busier. Plenty of places away from
others. The gym is almost as well equipped as my local rec. centre.
On the The Ridge, my wife found the town noise a nuisance at night (I'm deaf). No naval-yard dog. First thing, whilst calm, fuel smells from town were noted; later the wind blew away the fumes.
The all-inclusive includes WiFi. Connection in our suite was excellent.
Included is a restaurant built into the lowest level of the complex, just above the street. It has a
sweeping view of the naval yard, signs for Subway, and other chains, in the mall across the way.
The pretensions around the wine unnerved us, and then the piano player started, amplified.
We left.
Overall, a competent place for a relaxed week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Calgary:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our All Inclusive Program.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We spent a week here at a colleague's timeshare unit and were very comfortable. We were able to cook when we wanted and walk into town other times.

The resort is very attractive with comfy beds, good drinks and friendly staff. The beach is gorgeous but you cannot swin here. The pools are great although given how cool it was in January they could have been warmer.

The only downside I can think of is that F&B is very pricey here. 60 Pesos for a beer that costs 9-10 retail is one heck of a markup. The 2 for 1 Happy hours helped out but a 1/2 price happy hour would have been better given that I didn't always want 2 drinks at once.

As this is a time share resort there is a moment at check-in where they try and rope you into the "Free Breakfast Tour" but just say NO and they won't continue to try and sell you.

Overall I enjoyed my stay quite a bit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Victoria:

Thank you very much for your kind comment “Very Nice Resort”

We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande.
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The weather was perfect, the staff are very helpful and always willing to help and the beach is so peaceful and relaxing. We ate breakfast 3 times at the hotel. Fantastic variety of foods. They make awesome omelettes and the coffee is great. There are all kinds of activities during the week. One day I went to towel folding and Hector taught me how to make a swan, he was a very good instructor. One night we went to the beach party. It was a fun experiance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guests from Oskaloosa, Iowa, United States:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Fabulous” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa in Cabo San Lucas.
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.