We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good time was had by all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal Cabo
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“A good time was had by all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A week spent at this lovely hotel just sped by. While Playa Grande deserves many accolades, the best part is the staff. It seems like their main reason for being there is simply to make one feel special! I look forward to going back next year...and I do not own a timeshare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guests from Albuquerque, New Mexico:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “A good time was had by all!”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    492
    117
    73
    52
See reviews for
572
710
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here three nights on a company retreat. Our room was very spacious with a garden/pool view out to the ocean beyond. Bed was great. Didn't utilize the hotel restaurants at all, but enjoyed the pools/hot tubs. Unfortunately the beaches at the resort, while nice, were not conducive to swimming. Like most places in town, they offer a time-share pitch, but after being made aware of it at check-in they leave you alone. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the marina & cruise ship dock, which means you have to walk past all the hucksters trying to sell you excursions whenever you go into town.

Room Tip: Our room on the fifth floor on the west side offered a fantastic view of the sunrise (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guests from Pleasant Grove, Utah:

Thank you for your kind comment “Nice place, great views” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Wishing you a world of happiness from always sunny Cabo San Lucas!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have came here for the last 10+ yrs. Always relaxing, close to town, excellent service, beautiful pools, private beaches, lots of activities, great bartenders, wonderful maids, lots of sun, private verandas, not too crowded, walk areas, great restaurants close by, welcoming staff, not much turn over in staff so we see the same fabulous staff every year, always smiling and a friendly hola!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guests from Wichita, Kansas:

We thank you very much for your lovely comment “paradise vacation” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.

Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!

We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great resort, with great amenities. We have been going for 11 years and after this many years it still looks fabulous, with a great staff. I have two negative comments (minor). They have a coffee bar that needs to be serviced by two, not one person. Coffee/Espresso in the AM is a must and the process can be slow. Plan on a 10 to 15 minute wait at times. The pools seem to require a little more water and could be a little cleaner. Just an observation that they did not seems as crisp and clear as prior years. These comments are meant more for the organization to pay attention to and not to dissuade anyone from going there as this really is a first class resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Portland, Oregon:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, we need to know the point of view of our guests and we appreciate your comments concerning the service at the coffee cart and the cleanliness of the pools.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A week at this resort and entertainers Myobi and Ricardo were wonderful! Fun, unpretentious and professional all the way around. Great service staff at restaurants and pool areas also. Food at the resort mediocre and some confusion on billing. Overall great resort.

Room Tip: We were in room 1153 overlooking the two pools and business center. Perfectly located, view of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Littleton, Colorado:

Thank you very much for your comment “Wonderful service and entertainment”.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
I personally took note of your comments concerning the quality of the food and I sincerely apologies.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The property is very nice, located on the Pacific side of Land's End. The beds are comfortable, the room had a refrigerator/freezer; electric stove; blender; microwave; hair dryer; iron + ironing board and great view.

The bathroom has a sunken tub that is a little tricky getting into and out of, but is otherwise great. Good water pressure and nice amenities included in bathroom.

Food on the premises are at least TWICE what you would pay elsewhere. Example. 2 daquiris, 1 bottled water; chips, guacamole and salsa were $50.00. YIKES.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor. Get a 5th floor or higher room for excellent views. From our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Los Angeles, CA:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and we thank you for your appreciation “Fabulous Location - Great Amenities - High Prices”.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall we had a great trip.. a few notes:

Pros:
-long, wide beach. Much more peaceful than Medano with no peddlers/club music.
-great employees from restaurants to activities- they put in a huge effort!
-very quiet, felt safe
-clean resort and rooms. Landscaping was excellent- there is always someone cleaning or trimming or fixing something.

So-So:
-Food. Breakfast buffet was great, lunch was pretty good. Dinner is so so. We decided to do all inclusive for our first 3 days and overall it was worth it (breakfast buffet is $29 a day, Mexican Fiesta is $40 a person etc). I'm glad we only did 3 days though, as dinner options are limited.

Cons:
-Front desk staff. I knew what to expect from previous reviews but it was even worse! When we checked in they offered us "an upgrade" at the Ridge... I said I preferred Playa Grande and showed them our printed out confirmation at Playa Grande oceanview. Of course this didn't matter... I even filled out the form they sent in about a month before we left, asking what we were celebrating, what room we preferred, etc. I stated several times we did NOT want to be at the Ridge. The woman who checked us in (can't remember her name) was rude and finally gave us a room at the Playa Grande after my protests. Overall it worked out but just sad it took that much of a struggle to get the room we paid for!
-Lobby Bar- HORRIBLE food... we both agreed we had better food at Taco Bell. They messed up my entree (I ordered taco salad and was given fried chicken tacos). Martin, our server, was rude. Other restaurants are good but avoid eating at the lobby bar/restaurant.
-Wifi. We had it free for 3 days with all inclusive package but it was VERY spotty. Only worked if I not only went to balcony but leaned over it. There is always a line in the business center to complain about wifi signal. Not a huge issue but they shouldn't charge for it if it's that spotty. Don't pay and go to lobby or pool... better yet the Marina where there is fast free internet.
-Timeshare battle- typical in Cabo so I won't expand but always frustrating..

Other notes:
-check out the Grand Solmar at Lands End- GOREGOUS!

If we got a good deal, I'd definitely stay here again. A bit more upscale and "couple-ish" versus Playa Grande being more family friendly.

Overall, we would return if we found a good deal. It was a nice, relaxing trip but hopefully they take care of their room requests- seems to be a constant issue of Playa Grande rooms versus Ridge and reservation issues.

Room Tip: Stick to your guns on which side you want... keep in mind they are very seperate resort areas.... th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Columbus, Ohio:

As the General Manager of Playa Grande Resort I would like to extend my most sincere apologies concerning the problems you had to stay at the Ridge, with the food at the Lobby Bar and the WI-FI during your recent stay with us.
Please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us with your concerns as this helps us to constantly strive for improvement and excellence.
I look forward to resolving this matter and hopefully to see you soon again at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.