We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location - Great Amenities - High Prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location - Great Amenities - High Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The property is very nice, located on the Pacific side of Land's End. The beds are comfortable, the room had a refrigerator/freezer; electric stove; blender; microwave; hair dryer; iron + ironing board and great view.

The bathroom has a sunken tub that is a little tricky getting into and out of, but is otherwise great. Good water pressure and nice amenities included in bathroom.

Food on the premises are at least TWICE what you would pay elsewhere. Example. 2 daquiris, 1 bottled water; chips, guacamole and salsa were $50.00. YIKES.

Room Tip: Don't get a ground floor. Get a 5th floor or higher room for excellent views. From our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Los Angeles, CA:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and we thank you for your appreciation “Fabulous Location - Great Amenities - High Prices”.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    501
    119
    74
    53
See reviews for
589
723
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall we had a great trip.. a few notes:

Pros:
-long, wide beach. Much more peaceful than Medano with no peddlers/club music.
-great employees from restaurants to activities- they put in a huge effort!
-very quiet, felt safe
-clean resort and rooms. Landscaping was excellent- there is always someone cleaning or trimming or fixing something.

So-So:
-Food. Breakfast buffet was great, lunch was pretty good. Dinner is so so. We decided to do all inclusive for our first 3 days and overall it was worth it (breakfast buffet is $29 a day, Mexican Fiesta is $40 a person etc). I'm glad we only did 3 days though, as dinner options are limited.

Cons:
-Front desk staff. I knew what to expect from previous reviews but it was even worse! When we checked in they offered us "an upgrade" at the Ridge... I said I preferred Playa Grande and showed them our printed out confirmation at Playa Grande oceanview. Of course this didn't matter... I even filled out the form they sent in about a month before we left, asking what we were celebrating, what room we preferred, etc. I stated several times we did NOT want to be at the Ridge. The woman who checked us in (can't remember her name) was rude and finally gave us a room at the Playa Grande after my protests. Overall it worked out but just sad it took that much of a struggle to get the room we paid for!
-Lobby Bar- HORRIBLE food... we both agreed we had better food at Taco Bell. They messed up my entree (I ordered taco salad and was given fried chicken tacos). Martin, our server, was rude. Other restaurants are good but avoid eating at the lobby bar/restaurant.
-Wifi. We had it free for 3 days with all inclusive package but it was VERY spotty. Only worked if I not only went to balcony but leaned over it. There is always a line in the business center to complain about wifi signal. Not a huge issue but they shouldn't charge for it if it's that spotty. Don't pay and go to lobby or pool... better yet the Marina where there is fast free internet.
-Timeshare battle- typical in Cabo so I won't expand but always frustrating..

Other notes:
-check out the Grand Solmar at Lands End- GOREGOUS!

If we got a good deal, I'd definitely stay here again. A bit more upscale and "couple-ish" versus Playa Grande being more family friendly.

Overall, we would return if we found a good deal. It was a nice, relaxing trip but hopefully they take care of their room requests- seems to be a constant issue of Playa Grande rooms versus Ridge and reservation issues.

Room Tip: Stick to your guns on which side you want... keep in mind they are very seperate resort areas.... th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Columbus, Ohio:

As the General Manager of Playa Grande Resort I would like to extend my most sincere apologies concerning the problems you had to stay at the Ridge, with the food at the Lobby Bar and the WI-FI during your recent stay with us.
Please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us with your concerns as this helps us to constantly strive for improvement and excellence.
I look forward to resolving this matter and hopefully to see you soon again at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! Its absolutely beautiful, the rooms are nice, the food is awesome and the service is the best I've ever had. They always have entertainment going on. They had bracelet making with hector which was awesome. There was tequila volleyball in the pool and beach volleyball with Rodrigo which was a blast! And of course the main entertainment guy Roberto who is halarious. They also have the best bartender ever! Oscar is amazing he's so sweet and funny you could just sit at the bar for hours talking to him. If your going to cabo this is the only place you should stay.:-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “This is the only place you want to stay in cabo!”
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Close to town and marina. Excellent views, food and service. We are owners. We love the ocean side so my wife can watch the whales. On two occasions, we have stayed on the RIDGE side and definitely did not like the city noise and heavy bus and car traffic below the rooms. Our FAVORITE of the three timeshares we own. We stay here and use the other two for trading.

Room Tip: The Ridge Rooms have city/marina view and city noise until 4:00AM. Best for younger generation (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests from Vancouver, Washington:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Playa Grande the last week in January and it has become our new favorite. The Grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are spotless. The staff are so friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to accomodate you.
We own at another property and exchanged it for a week here. We were given a choice of rooms , ocean view at the Playa Grande (the mixed use , timeshare/Hotel property ) and the "Ridges" timeshare exclusive property above the Grande resort. We chose the ocean view room and were given access to the Ridges pools. The Playa Grande pools are spacious and even have an adults only pool. Activities are held daily at these pools and the Happy Hour is great. We spent most of out time at the Ridges as it was more peaceful and we were surrounded by other owners there to relax.
All rooms feature full kitchens with stocked cabinets and drawers . The tip is to stop at the Costco or Walmart (15 minutes away) and stock up the kitchen before getting settled in. Breakfast, lunch and beverages in room. Dinner in town. Speaking of town it is a 10 minute safe walk and one of the best reasons to stay here. No 20-30$ cab rides and its nice to walk off that lobster and margarita dinner. There is an access gate at the bottom of the property marina side that will save you a few minutes to and fro. You can walk on the well lit marina boardwalk into town and back without the risk of the sometimes uneven bumpy streets.
In town ,Maro's shrimp house is one of the best, great combinations and great ambience.You want to eat well ,go where the locals are. Monkey business bar for margaritas. Cabo Wabo for adult entertainment , live music and DJ dancing most nights.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view and all have balconies or patios.Ask for a valet to take you in a golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests from West Hills:

We thank you very much for your well appreciated comment “Wonderful Property and Great location" and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.

We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had so much fun on this trip Roberto, Mayrobi, Hector and Rodrigo made it the best because they made the Beach Party, Asian Night and the Fiesta a blast!!!!!! They are the best!!!!! This trip was so fun they also made the pool time even more fun with the trivia contests. I even won!! GO Team ALASKA!!!! They had the cowboy and Mexican skit and trivia, water aerobics, pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bracelet making, ping pong etc!! THIS TRIP WAS A BLAST WITH YOUR WONDERFUL STAFF AND ACTIVITY STAFF!!! I can't wait for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guests from Eagle River, Alaska:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and that you had a lot of fun!
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness from always sunny Cabo San Lucas,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Playa Grande in January 2013. The facilities and accommodations were pretty much exactly as advertised, with a couple of pleasant surprises (e.g. the hot tubs are huge, the units were well appointed with great daily maid service). We had stayed here this time because we wanted to be closer to CSL for the nightlife than the last time we came when we stayed on the corridor (Sheraton's Hacienda del Mar).

One thing you might want to realize when you book this is how big the Marina actually is, and the long sloping driveway (really long - 5-10 minute walk). While PG is definitely walkable to most destinations, you're definitely in for some real exercise. Walking one afternoon from Medano beach back to the hotel involved at least two refreshment pitstops. ;)

Also, and this will be more or less important to different people - the wifi is definitely spotty. We bought the week for $45, and it was ok, but lots of dropped and slow connections in the room. if you rely on fast wifi you'll want to think about what to do for plan B on certain occasions.

Overall I would say PG was "as advertised."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests from Monmouth County, NJ:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.