We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall trip with a few quirks...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$75 US Resort Credit
Ranked #15 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good overall trip with a few quirks...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Overall we had a great trip.. a few notes:

Pros:
-long, wide beach. Much more peaceful than Medano with no peddlers/club music.
-great employees from restaurants to activities- they put in a huge effort!
-very quiet, felt safe
-clean resort and rooms. Landscaping was excellent- there is always someone cleaning or trimming or fixing something.

So-So:
-Food. Breakfast buffet was great, lunch was pretty good. Dinner is so so. We decided to do all inclusive for our first 3 days and overall it was worth it (breakfast buffet is $29 a day, Mexican Fiesta is $40 a person etc). I'm glad we only did 3 days though, as dinner options are limited.

Cons:
-Front desk staff. I knew what to expect from previous reviews but it was even worse! When we checked in they offered us "an upgrade" at the Ridge... I said I preferred Playa Grande and showed them our printed out confirmation at Playa Grande oceanview. Of course this didn't matter... I even filled out the form they sent in about a month before we left, asking what we were celebrating, what room we preferred, etc. I stated several times we did NOT want to be at the Ridge. The woman who checked us in (can't remember her name) was rude and finally gave us a room at the Playa Grande after my protests. Overall it worked out but just sad it took that much of a struggle to get the room we paid for!
-Lobby Bar- HORRIBLE food... we both agreed we had better food at Taco Bell. They messed up my entree (I ordered taco salad and was given fried chicken tacos). Martin, our server, was rude. Other restaurants are good but avoid eating at the lobby bar/restaurant.
-Wifi. We had it free for 3 days with all inclusive package but it was VERY spotty. Only worked if I not only went to balcony but leaned over it. There is always a line in the business center to complain about wifi signal. Not a huge issue but they shouldn't charge for it if it's that spotty. Don't pay and go to lobby or pool... better yet the Marina where there is fast free internet.
-Timeshare battle- typical in Cabo so I won't expand but always frustrating..

Other notes:
-check out the Grand Solmar at Lands End- GOREGOUS!

If we got a good deal, I'd definitely stay here again. A bit more upscale and "couple-ish" versus Playa Grande being more family friendly.

Overall, we would return if we found a good deal. It was a nice, relaxing trip but hopefully they take care of their room requests- seems to be a constant issue of Playa Grande rooms versus Ridge and reservation issues.

Room Tip: Stick to your guns on which side you want... keep in mind they are very seperate resort areas.... th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests from Columbus, Ohio:

As the General Manager of Playa Grande Resort I would like to extend my most sincere apologies concerning the problems you had to stay at the Ridge, with the food at the Lobby Bar and the WI-FI during your recent stay with us.
Please rest assured we are taking corrective actions to prevent such things from happening in the future.
We appreciate you taking the time to write to us with your concerns as this helps us to constantly strive for improvement and excellence.
I look forward to resolving this matter and hopefully to see you soon again at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    652
    148
    85
    66
See reviews for
826
914
41
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was amazing! Its absolutely beautiful, the rooms are nice, the food is awesome and the service is the best I've ever had. They always have entertainment going on. They had bracelet making with hector which was awesome. There was tequila volleyball in the pool and beach volleyball with Rodrigo which was a blast! And of course the main entertainment guy Roberto who is halarious. They also have the best bartender ever! Oscar is amazing he's so sweet and funny you could just sit at the bar for hours talking to him. If your going to cabo this is the only place you should stay.:-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “This is the only place you want to stay in cabo!”
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Close to town and marina. Excellent views, food and service. We are owners. We love the ocean side so my wife can watch the whales. On two occasions, we have stayed on the RIDGE side and definitely did not like the city noise and heavy bus and car traffic below the rooms. Our FAVORITE of the three timeshares we own. We stay here and use the other two for trading.

Room Tip: The Ridge Rooms have city/marina view and city noise until 4:00AM. Best for younger generation (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guests from Vancouver, Washington:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Playa Grande the last week in January and it has become our new favorite. The Grounds are beautifully maintained and the rooms are spotless. The staff are so friendly and willing to do whatever it takes to accomodate you.
We own at another property and exchanged it for a week here. We were given a choice of rooms , ocean view at the Playa Grande (the mixed use , timeshare/Hotel property ) and the "Ridges" timeshare exclusive property above the Grande resort. We chose the ocean view room and were given access to the Ridges pools. The Playa Grande pools are spacious and even have an adults only pool. Activities are held daily at these pools and the Happy Hour is great. We spent most of out time at the Ridges as it was more peaceful and we were surrounded by other owners there to relax.
All rooms feature full kitchens with stocked cabinets and drawers . The tip is to stop at the Costco or Walmart (15 minutes away) and stock up the kitchen before getting settled in. Breakfast, lunch and beverages in room. Dinner in town. Speaking of town it is a 10 minute safe walk and one of the best reasons to stay here. No 20-30$ cab rides and its nice to walk off that lobster and margarita dinner. There is an access gate at the bottom of the property marina side that will save you a few minutes to and fro. You can walk on the well lit marina boardwalk into town and back without the risk of the sometimes uneven bumpy streets.
In town ,Maro's shrimp house is one of the best, great combinations and great ambience.You want to eat well ,go where the locals are. Monkey business bar for margaritas. Cabo Wabo for adult entertainment , live music and DJ dancing most nights.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view and all have balconies or patios.Ask for a valet to take you in a golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests from West Hills:

We thank you very much for your well appreciated comment “Wonderful Property and Great location" and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.

We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had so much fun on this trip Roberto, Mayrobi, Hector and Rodrigo made it the best because they made the Beach Party, Asian Night and the Fiesta a blast!!!!!! They are the best!!!!! This trip was so fun they also made the pool time even more fun with the trivia contests. I even won!! GO Team ALASKA!!!! They had the cowboy and Mexican skit and trivia, water aerobics, pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bracelet making, ping pong etc!! THIS TRIP WAS A BLAST WITH YOUR WONDERFUL STAFF AND ACTIVITY STAFF!!! I can't wait for next year!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guests from Eagle River, Alaska:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and that you had a lot of fun!
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness from always sunny Cabo San Lucas,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Playa Grande in January 2013. The facilities and accommodations were pretty much exactly as advertised, with a couple of pleasant surprises (e.g. the hot tubs are huge, the units were well appointed with great daily maid service). We had stayed here this time because we wanted to be closer to CSL for the nightlife than the last time we came when we stayed on the corridor (Sheraton's Hacienda del Mar).

One thing you might want to realize when you book this is how big the Marina actually is, and the long sloping driveway (really long - 5-10 minute walk). While PG is definitely walkable to most destinations, you're definitely in for some real exercise. Walking one afternoon from Medano beach back to the hotel involved at least two refreshment pitstops. ;)

Also, and this will be more or less important to different people - the wifi is definitely spotty. We bought the week for $45, and it was ok, but lots of dropped and slow connections in the room. if you rely on fast wifi you'll want to think about what to do for plan B on certain occasions.

Overall I would say PG was "as advertised."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests from Monmouth County, NJ:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from staying at the Playa Grande in Cabo. Check in was easy and no one hounded us about buying a time share,which was nice! We went to our room which was on the ground floor with absolutely no view of anything. We returned to the desk and after a little bit of negotiating we were given a wonderful room in the P building on the 2nd floor 2252. Rooms have a fully equiped kithchen, family room with sofa bed, 2 balconies although one was too small to sit on comfortably(only drawback balconey is right next to the rooms next to you so no privacey when you are sitting out there), murphy bed in the wall, 2 baths and a nice size bedroom. Love having 2 bathrooms. Rooms were very clean.Service is great! We were by the pool every day and the wait staff got better and better. Only ate breakfast at restaurant by pool and food was great .We had lunch at pool every day and no one in our group had one complaint. Drinks were great and the happy hour specials a bonus!! Love this resort and feel it is great for families.If we have the opportunity to return to Cabo I might want to try another resort catering more to couples but in this area because the location is superb.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guests from Hinckley, Ohio:

We thank you very much for your comment “Great Hotel” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent in Cabo San Lucas.

We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards from always sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
1.1 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#2 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#28 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 5,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
Pueblo Bonito Los Cabos
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.