We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
new orleans
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Second stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We returned to Playa Grande for our second stay. We stayed here for NYears week in 2008. I prefer smaller quainter hotels, however we enjoyed the accommodations here very much. Both stays were in the same room, which in some ways made the stay. The room we had was first floor. Nice covered balcony with plenty of grassy area for kids to play. We were close to the adult pool and hot tub and within 100 yard of the surf on the beach.

The main attraction for this hotel was convenience and family value. We were close to everything. The resort offered great fun for the kids who roamed the pools and made new friends everyday.

Positives were good restaurant food and service. Spacious and comfortable accommodations. Negatives were the constant hard sell for time share purchases, association rules were smothering.

Room Tip: Try and get ours - 1051!!!! Only rooms better are the bottom floor beach rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guests from New Orleans:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your second stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your second stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    435
    107
    68
    50
See reviews for
501
648
27
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

With all my research I was glad to stay close the beach and close to the town, Playa Grande offered this. Rooms were clean, Initially i was disappointed because we only had the marina view, however once we had spent time at the Ridge Pool, were were really glad that we stayed in this part of the resort. Our only disappointment was deciding to go on the Timeshare breakfast, initially it started out ok, however we had 4 sales people come to us in a succession to try and close us on the sale. they progressively became more rude and we just wanted to get out of there.

Room Tip: we had a 2 bedroom presidential suite on the Marina side, initially we thought we were going to be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Brisbane, Australia:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your Time Share presentation came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide you with an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Playa Grande was the perfect destination vacation for our family, who arrived from Denver, Colorado, Washington, DC and Lugano, Switzerland. Very clean, above-average food, friendly and helpful staff and perfect proximity to the beach. We even managed to escape any sales pitches without really trying too hard. Shout out to Alberto, our pool bar waiter, who remembered us and our room numbers each day. He was easy going and fun to talk to. We saw whales from our balconies and in our pool chairs every day. Being on the Pacific side made for a more peaceful experience but the activities were not too far away when we wanted them. Little down side except the lack of restaurant bar options on weekend nights or even outside after 6 or 7pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room (4 or above). We didn't really ask for anything special and had a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Denver, Colorado:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide you with an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at Ridge Place in a 2 bedroom villa the first week and a one bedroom at Playa Grande facing the ocean. The vila was beautiful but it faced the marina and it was terribly noisy with the bars blasting music until 4 a.m. and the bus traffic. I was extremely happy with the one bedroom and the beautiful furnishings and view. We loved Puerto San Lucas restaurant on the premises and went there 3 times. The internet costs 45.00 per week and it rarely worked at Ridge Place but was a bit better in the one bedroom. Cell phones...same problem.
The worst experence at the resort was on New Years Eve in the Lobby Bar where they allowed children and some of them had party favor horn and kept blowing them for hours and their parents didn't have the decency to know they were annoying adults all dressed up and trying to have a pleasant evening, spending money on food and drinks. It was unbelievably rude!!!!!! I asked a couple kids to please stop blowing the horns so much and their father became confrontational and unglued and thought he was going to punch me. New Years Eve ruined by rude parents allowing their kids to act up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Washington:

Thank you very much for your nice comment “Peaceful and beautiful location and amenities.”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Playa grande for 3 weeks in November 2012. It was wonderful. The location is a short walk from town along the well lighted and patrolled marina. The resort has special events (fiesta, beach party, Asian food and show) almost every night and at the pool all day. The social activities staff are awesome. The rooms are huge and clean with daily maid service. Views from the rooms are spectacular as long as you are above the palm trees. Pool service is great unless you get caught bringing a drink from your room (they ignore you after such indiscretion). If Armondo is serving your area, move to someplace else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I spent our first Christmas as empty nesters! This is a Beautiful resort! Quiet, great facilities, great service, great Whale watching! This resort was clean, and new. We were upgraded from the Solmar Resort. Thank you! This resort is located on the Pacific side of The Arch. We had a couples massage. The Spa was fabulous. A wonderful jewelry store in the resort called Desco should not be missed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Boise, ID:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our original reservation was at the Solmar. We were upgraded to the Playa Grande, to a Presidential Suite at the Ridge. Exceptionally nice! The service in the resort was great, very warm and friendly. The restaurants were excellent and the thematic entertainment was fun.
The ONLY draw back was getting sucked into a time share sales presentation.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade, if possible. We got ours without asking! The Ridge is away from the hustle bustle o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guests from Walnut Creek, California, United States:

You really make us very happy with your lovely comment “Wonderful all inclusive vacation”
We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.