We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience at Playa Grande” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #8 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Bakersfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience at Playa Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just returned from our trip to Playa Grande and had a great week. We traded using our RCI exchange and was very happy with the resort. Originally booked in on the third floor with not a great view and they happily changed our room the next day to the fifth floor with a gorgeous view. Every employee from the housekeeper to the pools guys and waiters and bell men were very nice and friendly and ready to help. Enjoyed the pool drinks and food and had meals at Brigantine that were very good. It was very quiet when we were there but really enjoyed the location and the grounds of the resort. The pools were excellent too. Would be more than happy to stay there again some time. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guests from Bakersfield:

You really make us very happy with your kind comment “Great Experience at Playa Grande”

We are glad to know that you had a great time with us at Playa Grande your home away from home!
Please let us know in advance when you will come back to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!
We are all very happy to know that your experience with us was a very pleasant one.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
On behalf of my entire staff we want to wish you the best and we all send you our warm regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    925
    405
    97
    66
    46
See reviews for
452
589
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Awesome resort. The staff is always kind and helpful and the entertainment staff ROCKS!!!!! Vividiunu, Crisitina, Hector, Miriam, Mayrobi, Rodrigo, Veri, and Roberto do an Awesome job all week keeping you entertained.

Thank You

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guests from Buckley, Washington:

Thank you for your great comment “Quality Resort” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience during your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you had a great time!

For the whole team It was truly our pleasure to serve you.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay that I will share with our entertainment staff Vividiunu, Crisitina, Hector, Miriam, Mayrobi, Rodrigo, Veri, and Roberto.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande and Sunny Cabo San Lucas.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a BEAUTIFUL resort with 95% employees who are so nice, helpful, and considerate. I, unfortunately, met one of the people in the 5%. She is the Front Desk Manager, Ana. I needed to get into our family hotel room because our food for the week and my little sisters' clothes were in there and our parents were out on the fishing boat all day. My parents woke up early for the trip, and forgot to leave a room key. My name is on the family account for the rooms (I was staying in another one of our family hotel rooms and am in my twenties) so I thought it would be no problem to get a key. Boy, was I wrong! Ana kept saying "I understand" when she had no clue what she was talking about. She caused us a lot of trouble that day, and had poor customer service. The other people who we worked with at the front desk had been wonderful all week, but their manager needs to show more kindness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests from San Diego, California:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa we thank you very much for taking the time to express your experience.

The comments you have made describing the experience you encountered during your stay with us have come to our attention.

We really appreciate the time you are taking to write us with your concern as this will help us improve and we hope you give us an opportunity to demonstrate to you how important your comments are and how seriously we took action.

It will be a great honor if you will choose to visit us again in the near future and a great opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My two little girls LOVED the Kids Club, especially their teacher Vividiunu (Ms. Bede). They couldn't wait to go each day. Every day filled with crafts, games and kids their own age. We loved it too as it gave my husband and I time to do the things we can't do with small children, Go Karts, relaxing breakfasts and shopping.
The resort itself was fine as usual, the food is a little spendy but the all inclusive package helped. The service and food was great at the Brigantine but we wouldn't eat at the Calima again. The service and food was not up to the standards it should be. I was given the wrong drink and after asking three different waiters, including my own, and waiting 20 minutes I was finally given the right drink. The wrong drink was a margarita placed in front of my 7 year old who took a drink without me stopping her in time and ended up throwing up very soon afterward. No apology or comped drink from the staff.
The spa was fantastic, highly recommended.
As a whole the Playa Grande is a great place to stay in Cabo. Great location, beautiful setting. Would definitely do the all inclusive next time and love love love the Kids Club.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guests from Carson City, Nevada, United States :

The comments you have made describing the experience you have encountered during your stay at Playa Grande Resort and Grand Spa, came to my attention. Please accept my apologies.

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, we need to know when problems occur so the appropriate action can be taken.

Concerning your comments with the service and food that were not up to the standards it should be I held a meeting with the staff involved in this situation and measures have been taken to avoid this situation happen again in the future.

We value your patronage and hope that you will give us the opportunity to demonstrate that your past experience with Playa Grande is not characteristic of our performance, but an unpleasant exception.

As an attempt to regain your trust, we would like to ask you to please visit us again in the near future and allow us the opportunity to pamper you as intended.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Playa Grande is a beautiful resort with a ton of amenities. It is a huge property with many things to do.

We had my handicapped mother on the trip and the help shuttling her on the carts was very attentive and fast.

My son did Kids Club one day and enjoyed it.

The Mexican Fiesta show was good but in my opinion not really the best for kids. The food is geared toward adults and an open bar atmosphere. They did have one activity for kids but mostly Mariachis and dancing then an adult tequila shot contest.

I would definitely recommend staying here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests:
We thank you very much for your lovely comment “Beautiful and very attentive staff.” and for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa in Cabo San Lucas.
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My parents and I just returned yesterday from our AMAZING trip to Cabo. As first timers, we had absolutely no idea where to start. Amongst several suggestions, we decided on the Playa Grande. It was nestled right in between the Grand Solmar and Pedrogal (sp?). We were a bit skeptical considering the vast difference in price, but the Playa proved to be nothing short of perfect. The grounds are gorgeous. Pools are beautiful. Food is fabulous (my mom and I foodies - whoever disliked the food I'm not exactly sure where you were eating). We were offered a complimentary cocktails upon arrival and carted to our rooms - Thank you, Daniel. The drinks were excellent. Nothing watered down. We did not opt for all inclusive, fearing the food would suck and the drinks would be watered down. Considering the opposite serves true, we will probably purchase the all inclusive package next time. We stayed in the Ridge section of the hotel with a sprawling balcony overlooking the marina. The beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom whirlpool has JETS!! Keep in mind, I did not have the master bedroom and I had JETS!! Gentlemen, you also get ESPN. We had to go to a local sports bar, however, to watch the Clemson/Carolina game. At the Ridge, you have four smaller pools, a swim up bar, restaurant, and dual views of the Pacific and marina. My one and only complaint is the lobby is somewhat of a trek from the Ridge. And I would research the activities a bit more carefully than we did. They are all away from the resort. We did the wave runners right over in the marina - awesome. You can ride to the arch at lover's beach. We also did the ATVs which turned out to be far more aggressive than we expected. You do ride on the beach for 30 min, but the other 2 hrs you are trekking through the desert. It's a great time, but certainly recommend for more experienced riders. And the insurance is about $30 a person, but I really, really recommend it. Also, if you get a chance, grab a bite out to eat at Baja Cantina, the Hacienda (calamari, lobster enchiladas, chorizos and cafe mexicano) and Sunset de Mona Lisa (the views are unbelievable here). Thank you, Playa Grande for your amazing service and hospitality. Don't worry to much about exchanging for pesos. Many places in and outside the resort preferred cash or credit card. Banks are nearby as well. Sorry for the novel. Have fun!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests “First Time Cabo-er”:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I spent 9 days at the Playa Grande and cannot wait to go back! The staff on the Ridge is fabulous! Teofilo and Migual took care of us everyday and made us feel at home. Down at the lobby bar, Raciel was AWESOME! And others that helped make our vacation included Artemio, Ines, and the entire staff.
the room was awesome because you could walk out the front door and see the Pacific Ocean and walk out the slider doors to the balcony and watch the Marina. The room was very clean and the bed was fantasic!

If you haven't been here, you have to go...... It is a MUST!
Thank you Playa Grande, we cannot wait to see you again in July! Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: stay in the ridge if you can, they are AWESOME!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guestrs from Dyer, Indiana, United States:

On behalf of Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa, we thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Your comments and point of view are an important tool for us to understand our guests' experience and we use this feedback as an integral part of our evaluation and quality improvement cycles.
As a valued guest, your opinions are of great importance.
We would be honored to have you visit once again, and allow us to provide you with an even better experience at the Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa.

Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Hotel
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list