We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Spot in Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Resort to your Saves list
Playa Grande Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tripadvisor Deal
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Bixby, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Spot in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I just returned home from a 6 night stay (10/1 - 10/7/11 at this resort and if I had more vacation time I would still be there! Everything is top of the line & just beautiful - the hotel, the pools, the jacuzzi's, the staff, the location, the accomodations - EVERYTHING about this place is perfect & I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room but I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite up in the ridge and can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,187
    501
    119
    74
    53
See reviews for
590
725
30
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

I have to say, this was the best resort during our stay due to the amazing entertainment staff! We also stayed at the Grande Mayan and didn't have even close to the fun we had here. Isvan, with his fire show, was incredible. All of them were so upbeat and fun!!! I would highly suggest this resort!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, Front Office Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Guests:
We thank you very much for your lovely comment “So much fun!”
Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations! Just let us know when!
We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.
Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.
Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

Very clean, quiet, love this place. Mexican Fiesta night and Beach Party night were so much fun. Love those guys!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Chris:

Thank you for choosing The Ridge at Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and taht you enjoyed our Mexican Fiesta and had a good time with us!
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is the word of mouth from our satisfied customers.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with our staff.

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best wishes.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My sister and I went here in July for a destination wedding.
The spa was delightful and charged reasonably for their services.
It is a beautiful, clean resort. If I go to Cabo with my family, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Although they say most rooms have an ocean view, I don't see it. We were right on the ocean, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Playa Grande Resort & Grand Spa for your recent stay.

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
It was truly our pleasure to serve you. In order to maintain the high standards of service excellence for which we strive, it is very important to listen to every client.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied costumer.
Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to make some comments regarding your recent stay.

Wishing you a world of happiness,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a great resort and as some of the reviews have stated, this is what a resort should be. PG is a home resort for me and I have owned there since it opened. Even when it was being built, you could tell it would be special.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and the craftsmanship is very impressive. The decor is uplifting. It is a well rounded resort. Having a drink in the pool bar is also something to remember.
It is very close to the boats in the Marina which equates to a short walk to enjoy all of the activities the marina has to offer.
This is an A+ resort in my mind.
The only problem I have had was when I converted a fixed week with a junior suite to a floating week studio, I was told that by becoming platinum you would be entitled to best available room when you check in. When I did it the first time, it became best available room that was a studio and that the ridge rooms were not part of the deal as there were no studios. So watch what you are getting when converting to a Playa Grande Platinum membership.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MembersSOL, The Management at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear “Gary M”:

Thank you for your kind comments about the suite and the experience you had in the pool.

I'm sorry if there was some mis-communication when you converted to the Platinum Package. We'll talk to our sales managers to make sure that our representatives are explaining as clearly as possible, what options are available to you within the package.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

just got back from my first trip to Cabo San Lucas and stayed with a couple of friends at their timeshare at Playa Grande. Beautiful, clean place with an upscale feel. All the staff were courteous and eager to please. Especially helpful and friendly were Galo at the front door, Hugo at the front desk, Ricardo in the swim up bar, Isvan on the entertainment staff, and the 2 ladies working at the spa the afternoon of Wed the 28th. They gave us extra long spa treatments just because it was a slow day. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
“Great time at Playa Grande!”
Dear Guests:

We are glad that your experience with us was a pleasant one and that you had a “Great time at Playa Grande!”

In order to maintain the high standards of service and excellence for which we strive, it is very important for us to listen to every guest and owner.

Thank you so much for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with the staff you mentioned in your comments.

If there are any other ways to serve you even better in the near future please let us know!

Hoping to see you again soon we all send you our best regards from Playa Grande!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

We just returned from our week @Playa Grande & we loved everything about it! This was the most beautiful room we ever have stayed in (the deluxe suite), and we got an amazing deal on Travelocity. We loved our dinner@Calima & El Galeon and all the staff was so wonderful & helpful. We loved our couples massage at the spa( though my husband felt he needed more pressure, to be fair he didn't say so to the therapist when she asked), I wanted a relaxing massage and it was the best I've ever had- ask for Esmeralda! Love the swim-up bar, games at happy hour and we can't wait to go back! The only complaint was there is not a swimmable beach there but we knew that going in. It's been 2 days since we've been home and we can't wait to go back! Also we were only asked once upon check in about the timeshare presentation, we politely said no thanks and that was the end of it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RolandBernardG, General Manager at Playa Grande Resort, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
“WE LOVED OUR WEEK AT PLAYA GRANDE SO MUCH WE STAYED AN EXTRA DAY & CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!”
Dear Guests:

We thank you very much for your lovely comments “WE LOVED OUR WEEK AT PLAYA GRANDE SO MUCH WE STAYED AN EXTRA DAY & CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!”

Come back anytime to visit us, we will be very pleased to serve you again and fulfill your expectations!!

We are glad that your experience with us was a very pleasant one and we hope that we can be of service to you again soon.

Again thank you for your kindness in taking the time to send us your comments that I will share with pleasure with all our staff.

Wishing you a world of happiness we all send you our best regards.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Resort

Address: Playa Grande 1, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa Grande Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Baja California's most exclusive and private Beach, along the Pacific Ocean side and a few steps from the Land's End and the famous natural arch, this charming, Mexican hacienda style all suite resort sits on eight acres of beach, only a few steps from the sparkling Pacific Ocean and a few minutes’ walking to downtown Cabo. This is a dramatic setting to relax and enjoy your dream vacation under the sun. If it’s shopping, fine dining and nightlife you’re looking for, downtown Cabo San Lucas is just a short stroll away. And if you’d really like to reward yourself, the world class Grand Spa will be waiting with a full range of luxuries that will nurture your body and soul. The Playa Grande Resort features all suites with private balconies, kitchens or kitchenettes, and distinctive touches such as marble floors, granite counter tops and hand crafted furniture and decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Grande Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Cabo San Lucas
Playa Grande Resort Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.